We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Church Street Townhouse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Church Street Townhouse
Church Street Townhouse
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

467 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 466: English reviews
Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed for one night and were impressed at the little touches in the room: fresh coffee and milk, and even a small decanter of port to round off the evening. Breakfast was very good, and the service was faultless throughout our stay. We have already booked a return visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheDovecot
townhouse17, General Manager at Church Street Townhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, hope you like the changes we will have made by the time you return Many Thanks Neil Hanson General Manager

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having walked past on a previous visit to Stratford and fancying the look of this hotel, my husband and I stayed for two nights for part of our holiday. Parking for this hotel is a bit awkward but you can park outside to unload your bags and we were then assisted by a staff member with a map to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nomad147
townhouse17, General Manager at Church Street Townhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, We have had some new that our anticipated refurbishment will be taking place at the end of this month so hopefully on your return visit you will like what we have done. Many Thanks Neil Hanson General Manager

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Enjoyed an excellent meal here just before Xmas 2016. Top rated cooking and presentation. Almost fine dining standard - but at really good value for money! Plus excellent unhurried service. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neilhlevings
townhouse17, General Manager at Church Street Townhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, can you come back soon please!! Many Thanks Neil Hanson General Manager

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for one night on New Years Eve as we were seeing a play at the RSC. Lovely character to the place. Our room was large and comfortable and the bed was massive and so comfy. Our room overlooked the main road, no big deal as the traffic was light and it was nice to sit in the window and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EODUK
townhouse17, General Manager at Church Street Townhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, we are about to have a refurbishment of all the rooms so dont leave it too long to see what we have done. Many Thanks Neil Hanson General Manager

Brackley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed a weekday night between Christmas and the New Year with my wife. Found the place to be ok, good in some areas (nice bar, good atmosphere, loved the piano in the bar played by youngsters from the school opposite). Our room (room 4) was merely ok, good size, few broken bits and pieces, hot iron mark on the carpet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrizyPedant
townhouse17, General Manager at Church Street Townhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, I am sorry we never met your expectation, I do hope you passed on your comments regarding the food as I would like to think that the team would of instantly reacted to your comments. We are about to start a refurbishment later this month so hopefully you will give...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a fantastic boutique hotel slap bang in the centre of Stratford. Rooms are very generously sized and we had a fantastic oversized bathroom with a standalone claw foot bathroom. The room was elegantly decorated and came with all the essentials. We visited in mid December and the room was very warm. The breakfast was also excellent and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nikkibingham
townhouse17, General Manager at Church Street Townhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay, we will shortly be undertaking a small refurbishment so don't leave it too long before you come back and visit us. Kind Regards Neil Hanson General Manager

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 3 nights, including Christmas Day. Our room at the back of the hotel was large and comfortable and very quiet, complimentary port and fresh milk in the fridge were very nice touches. Even though there was a great deal of noise downstairs in the bar, we were completely undisturbed. Our pre-theatre meal on the first night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue O
townhouse17, General Manager at Church Street Townhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for the review of your recent stay, we will shortly be undertaking a small refurbishment so don't leave it too long before you come back and visit us. Kind Regards Neil Hanson General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Eat here twice recently both times with friends. Had set Christmas menu and both times food lovely. Service on my first visit was very good, even though the restaurant was busy as it was a Friday evening. However, the service on my second visit a Thursday, was poor and the place was practically empty as we went for an early...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deboooora
townhouse17, General Manager at Church Street Townhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, your comments have been noted and we will look to improve and impress you on your next visit, we will shortly be undertaking a small refurbishment so don't leave it too long before you come back and visit us. Kind Regards Neil Hanson General Manager

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Church street townhouse was very pleasant and great value for money will be looking to book again the next time we visit Stratford upon Avon. The breakfast was also very good as well as the staff and general atmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garry B
townhouse17, General Manager at Church Street Townhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, your feedback is very much appreciated, we will shortly be undertaking a small refurbishment so don't leave it too long before you come back and visit us. Kind Regards Neil Hanson General Manager

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here with friends recently, we were lucky with our hotel room as we had a very large room at the top of the hotel but our friends were a floor down and their rooms were small. Rooms were clean but overpoweringly hot we spend the weekend with the windows open despite it being December. Had breakfast at the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan N
townhouse17, General Manager at Church Street Townhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, your feedback is very much appreciated, we will shortly be undertaking a small refurbishment so don't leave it too long before you come back and visit us. Kind Regards Neil Hanson General Manager

291 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (102)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (64)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (161)
Viewed
Luxury Double Room with Bath (33)
Viewed
Middle Double Room (27)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.4 km away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,306 reviews
0.3 km away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,009 reviews
0.2 km away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#11 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
847 reviews
0.6 km away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,915 reviews
2.7 km away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This independently owned boutique hotel is housed in a 400 year old listed building in the heart of Stratford upon Avon. Located opposite Shakespeare's school, among the ancient half-timbered buildings the town is famous for and only 2 minute's walk to the Royal Shakespeare Theatre. This is THE place for a pre-theatre supper - local pianists play at 5.30pm daily and the atmosphere is great. The 12 funky en-suite bedrooms vary in size, cost and view. Try for a room at the front of the building for the perfect view. Great food is served all day, through till 10pm in this buzzy neighbourhood bistro with Afternoon Tea a particular favourite. Champagne Happy Hour is every Friday at 5pm and the bar is packed with a great, upmarket local crowd. The staff make the place and nothing is too much trouble. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Church Street Townhouse

Address: 16 Church Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: $112 - $830 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Church Street Townhouse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Church Street Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Street Townhouse Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Church Street Townhouse staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Southampton, United Kingdom
over a year ago
North Wales

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Church Street Townhouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for room 10 on the top floor if you want lots of space”
 of 5 bubbles SuzieNev, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We asked for a quiet room and ere at the back of the hotel which was parfect as we can not sleep if there is traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles ChristineBobP, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 11 was lovely”
 of 5 bubbles M6579ENlindap, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“room 9 had a lovely big bed and all you would need in a stay in a hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Kteener, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Listen before you decide to stop”
 of 5 bubbles profectus, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay