We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Plough Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle upon Tyne
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 137: English reviews
Start your review of The Plough Inn
 Click to rate
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited on a special occasional.. Arrived on time for our reservation and were taken straight to our table. The restaurant was busy but not excessively so. Altogether we sat at our table for over half at an hour and were not even offered a drink whilst we were waiting. The restaurant staff seemed disorganised and more than once we saw...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank natalie160582
theploughstamfordham, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

We had a 'full' restaurant upstairs on valentines night and a busy lounge area downstairs. When you arrived we gave you the option of the only 2 tables available. Once you sat down, ( not looking too impressed by either of the tables, no idea why?) we gave you menus. Then we gave you bread rolls. We offered to take...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were the first to get there on Sunday, it's a beautiful restaurant. We ordered 4 Sunday lunches, the first two were a little cold but they took them away quickly and heated them up. They were pleasant and helpful I would definitely go back! Everyone has a poor day, maybe chef was a bit hungover! Food lovely eventually and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank toonlass999
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful Inn, comfortable and with excellent decor and furnishings. Super toilets! Good menu with lots of choice with a local twist. Consistently good meals of an excellent standard. Good parking. A drive out into the lovely Northumbrian countryside and a good stop on the way to Corbridge, Hexham and on to the Roman Wall.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley E
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Called in Saturday for a light lunch and catch up with friends. Beautiful relaxed surrounding with very polite and helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble. The home made finger sarnies and hand cut chips were very delicious, the puddings to die for and the prosecco flowed freely.,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alc632017
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Not a place you would think about going as you have to drive due to the location, however the food and service were excellent. Portions sizes were very good and not that expensive at £13.95 for two courses. The wine was reasonably priced. I would definitely recommend this beautiful restaurant. They also have rooms available and the décor throughout is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jojojojo750
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

A nice place for Sunday lunch. Good food, generous portions and friendly, helpful staff. The Plough Inn has more of a restaurant feel than a pub feel, but is a great place to eat. Well worth a visit..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank F13tch3r
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2017

This was our first visit, recommended by a relative and we weren't disappointed. We were shown to a table after a very short wait despite the restaurant being busy. drinks were ordered as soon as we were seated and our order taken when the drinks were delivered (very efficient) I was told that the beef was pink but i could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DennisL99
theploughstamfordham, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate it very much. Hope to see you return again soon.

Reviewed 31 December 2016

Completely loved this place! Stayed here with a few friends last month and we had the most incredible time. Beautifully decorated throughout, rooms are spotless, food was delicious (recommend the mussels) and what a stunning location! For us though the real highlight was in the hosting and warm family atmosphere. This really is a family that goes the extra mile...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerry H
theploughstamfordham, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review..... we hope to see you all again soon, muddy jodhpurs boots and all!!!!got a good supply of hot water bottles for those who end up in the North Sea in winter!!! Have a very happy new year and im sure jack will come up with something to bring you all back up...

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 December 2016

booked in for a pre christmas meal. warm welcome and very relaxing seats while waiting for other family members.food was excellent along with the friend..ly and efficient service.atmosphere was just right and it was a change on a cold day to arrive and feel warm throughout our stay.would highly recomend a visit to this very smart and updated property which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ted A
theploughstamfordham, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Hope to see you again. Many thanks. All of the staff at the Plough inn.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Excellent food, service and value for money. Went here for a family lunch having just arrived from Australia for Christmas with the in-laws. Great selection of roast Sunday lunch set menu and a la carte options as. Portions were hearty and well prepared . I had mussels in a creamy sauce, roast turkey and sticky toffee pudding. Service was polite,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank macs_aus
theploughstamfordham, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much. Have a lovely Christmas with your family and hope you visit again when in U.K.

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle upon Tyne
18.7 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
639 reviews
7.9 km away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,423 reviews
6.9 km away
Ryton Country  House
Ryton Country House
#50 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 km away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#3 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,054 reviews
13.2 km away
The Dyvels Inn
The Dyvels Inn
#1 of 15 in Corbridge
129 reviews
3.5 km away
Hadrians Barn
Hadrians Barn
#3 of 6 in Heddon-on-the-Wall
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Following an extensive period of refurbishment, the Plough Inn is once again ready to welcome and wow guests who come to call. Ran by the Graham family, the Plough Inn is located between the village of Stamfordham and the hamlet of Eachwick, a mere 10 miles from the city of newcastle Upon Tyne. The Plough Inn;s location makes it an easily accessible place to enjoy a tranquil and relaxed environment perfect for either a quick drop in or a more leisurely vista. all tastes are catered for, with delicious food and refreshing drinks, with particular focus on those designated drivers. With a number of different spaces available, the plough inn is a venue that can offer a venue as distinctive and individual as your event. From our off set 'Drawing Room' which offers the opportunity for an intimate and private fine dining experience for up to 24 guests, to our fabulous first floor Restaurant with its own dedicated bar, for parties up to 60 people. Be it a wedding, a special birthday, an impromptu gathering or even a meeting or conference, we are confident we can exceed your expectations and deliver an event to remember. With 3 well appointed en-suit rooms, the plough Inn offers a luxurious place for you to unwind and base yourself for a break or for business in North East England. Located close to Newcastle International airport, our location is within easy access of the beautiful North east Coast, the rolling unspoiled country side of Northumberland and the world heritage site of Hadrians wall. we are within an easy drive of the bustling city centres of Newcastle Upon Tyne and Durham and also Europe's larges indoor shopping centre The metro Centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Address: Stamfordham Road | Eachwick, Newcastle upon Tyne NE18 0BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Plough Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Newcastle, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Gloucester, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Plough Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not sure if rooms are available”
 of 5 bubbles 68lesleye, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Every room was stunning and beautifully clean.”
 of 5 bubbles kerryh618, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Not sure if rooms are available.”
 of 5 bubbles lesleyw110, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Very quiet location only three room available”
 of 5 bubbles j_eglinton, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Nice and quiet accommodation”
 of 5 bubbles wrighte365, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5