We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Surtees Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Surtees Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

544 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 536: English reviews
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Don't come here if you are looking for luxury. This hotel is cheap but really cheerful. I found the staff really helpful, the room clean and the bed comfy. The hotel is very central and newcastle is a party city with great night life so there is noise. Great value for money would recomend for people on a budget or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christine c
lincolnshire
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Just returned from 2 night stay December nice comfy bed. Warm room clean bathroom flat screen TV fresh cooked full English polite receptionists lift to floors central to city very good. Just down from theatre royal Newcastle and short walk to quayside attractions. Rooms do overlook multi story car park at rear . Hotel bar has comfy armchairs for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaelLincolnshire
Ossett, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Paid top rate for one night stay for Elton John concert. Room not very clean dirty glasses left along with other rubbish in room when we arrived. Very noisy all night from night club across the road. Bathroom disgusting.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2016

went for a lads night out paid for 2 twin rooms. When getting there was no receptionist, had to wait 10 mins for someone to appear to check in. was told one of the rooms wasnt ready as they was a person down which was understandable. we put all our bags in the room which was available. room was an...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bdb546
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

My husband and I stayed here overnight. The location is great - perfect for a stay in central Newcastle. We were only a short walk from a great selection of shops, restaurants and the nightlife. Good for exploring the city centre and walking along the quayside. Its close to train stations, but also has a car park right next to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hezel13
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Although the staff friendly and the room was good - the room although on the second floor was very noisy and it was difficult to get any sleep with the noise from Dean Street. There is also a multi storey car park which took us an hour to get into as there is only on street parking for max of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kimdolfin
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

I stayed here on the 9th November for the night, great location couple mins walk to city centre hotel is a Georgian building room was clean comfy bed staff friendly. Would stay here again for the price

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevk26
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind review of our hotel, I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Laura Thynne Hotel Manager

Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

I never stayed at Surtees, as my credit card was incorrectly charged before I arrived for a deposit that was never agreed. I asked to cancel the room and have the unauthorised deposit refunded. The room had been sold with the conditions that no payment would be taken before the day, and you can cancel free of charge until the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lozbozzz
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, You made a group booking through booking.com which advertises clearly the group policy including the 10% non-refundable deposit for bookings of 3 rooms or more. It is the guests responsibility to read all of the advertised policies clearly before booking. This is part of booking.com's terms and conditions which you state you agree to when making the booking....

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 4 November 2016

Basic hotel in the centre of Newcastle. My room on the third floor had a bath and even though it was a single room I had a double bed. There was tea and coffee facilities with biscuits. I stayed during the week so I did not hear much noise on the street.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martinaoc9
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review, we appreciate all feedback and i'm glad to see you enjoyed your stay Kind Regards Laura Thynne Hotel Manager

Reviewed 2 November 2016

If you picture an average hotel in your head this is the place. Close to city centre, be great for a lads weekend or maybe a cheap over night stay. Don't come expecting the world. It will give you a comfortable but clean night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glen L
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are a very reasonable 3 star hotel and i'm glad to see that you encountered no problems and had a clean and comfortable stay. Kind Regards Laura Thynne Hotel Manager

227 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (204)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 km away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#22 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
436 reviews
0.2 km away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#21 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
937 reviews
0.2 km away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#54 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
322 reviews
0.4 km away
Euro Hostel Newcastle
Euro Hostel Newcastle
#56 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
398 reviews
0.1 km away
Grey Street Hotel
Grey Street Hotel
#41 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about Surtees Hotel

Address: 12-18 Dean Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $72 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surtees Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Surtees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surtees Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Surtees Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
2 months ago
3 months ago
Derby, United Kingdom

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Surtees Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms access from first floor stairs but has a lift”
 of 5 bubbles michaelLincolnshire, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the rear as the front is very noisy”
 of 5 bubbles LinsleyT, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“A room on a high floor may give you more quiet”
 of 5 bubbles lmorby, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“As close to the ground floor as possible in case the elevator still doesn't work!”
 of 5 bubbles weegerd, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Go for a room at the back as less noisy”
 of 5 bubbles couldbeyou, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay