We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Kenilworth Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Kenilworth Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 184: English reviews
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed with a friend overnight and was greeted by (who I believe was) the owner, who was friendly and professional and explained about keys, breakfast times etc. Went up to our rooms and it took me a wee while to get into mine as I had a bit of difficulty with the lock but got there eventually. Took a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalie B
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked for one night as i and a friend were visiting friends for a night out in Newcastle. Free Car Parking out the back of the Hotel, the reception is actually at the bar. The 2 rooms we were given were family rooms on the top floor, the room had a double bed and a single bed nothing flash just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank weegram
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Used the hotel for a one night stay on our way to Scotland. Clean and comfortable, staff friendly and helpful. Our family room was a little small but was fine for one night. Breakfast was really good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bhaigh
Trier, Germany
Reviewed 24 October 2016

I can see why our room was not featured among the website photos. Small, tired and shabby with the double bed pushed under the window. One could just about squeeze round to the far side. Sockets arranged using various extension leads, but unable to have on bedside light and use tv, kettle etc at the same time. Poor lighting. Bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aphrodite330
Reviewed 4 October 2016

We booked to stay here for two days just before we flew out on our holiday and were disgusted at what we were given. 3 days before our stay we received a phone call from the manager stating that they had a problem with the roof and the top floor was out of commission, and that they could offer us...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Teresa G
sfh66, Owner at Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review

This reviewer is wholly inaccurate in the description of the apartment he stayed in. They are all rented out on a long term basis to professionals (no students) and the house was fully renovated recently so not sure where complaints about mould come from. The guests were happy with the apartment until they appeared at the hotel demanding that we...

Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

An old bloody plaster found in one of the beds!!!!!! Stayed here recently for a hen do...was certainly not expecting luxury accommodation but this was terrible! We had booked through a hen party package and had paid in full before we arrived. Male who checked us in "Bernie" was rude and unhelpful. Demanded a £20 safety deposit per person before...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BandSadventures
sfh66, Owner at Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review

It is impossible that a plaster could have been in one of our beds as the beds are changed after each guest with sheets that come directly from a commercial laundry: certainly no mention of this was made during the guests' stay as we would have expected. These guests knew that a security deposit was due on arrival as it...

Bishops Castle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Stayed for a friends Stag Do with a group of 15. Rooms and facilities were perfectly adequate. Clean and Tidy. Breakfast was good and we were well looked after during the visit, despite being a rowdy group of lads and dads!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thaiffer
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Rooms in desperate need of refurbishment. It rained during our visit resulting in water through the ceiling and into one bed and bag of clothing. Complaint made, no refund forthcoming. Breakfast reasonable. Overall barely suitable for a stag party.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart T
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Booked a stay here for one night with my other half for August Bank holiday for our usual jesmond jaunt. We have stayed in a few hotels on Osborne road and tend to find most of them are good value. I booked via booking.com and got a really good deal, you get exactly what you pay for. We paid approx...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vixyc88
Reviewed 6 September 2016

A few days away with my husband last December and the place was lovely! Yea the pub bit smells like a pub and its a bit dark ish but its lovely! The staff were very friendly! Beautiful food. breakfast was lovely! Just what we were looking for.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenna D

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 km away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#53 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
114 reviews
0.3 km away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#12 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
379 reviews
0.1 km away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#23 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle
#41 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
489 reviews
0.2 km away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#70 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
113 reviews
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel
BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel
#50 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Kenilworth Hotel

Address: 44 Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $85 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenilworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kenilworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenilworth Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kenilworth Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Kenilworth Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try the food!”
 of 5 bubbles 685jennad, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 9 or 10 seemed to be the nicest, large windows, nice and bright. Loft ceilings.”
 of 5 bubbles Shazice, 5 Jul 2016 | Read review
“If you want an early night there can be a lot of noise especially if you are in the ground floor room at the rear of the bar/disco”
 of 5 bubbles JS-JN, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Make sure to be specific if you are looking for a twin or double bed room.”
 of 5 bubbles sarahdJ9284KZ, 16 May 2016 | Read review
“Probably room 1”
 of 5 bubbles Sarnies, 12 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay