We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle

PricelineUSD 142*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 147*
USD 142*
USD 147*
USD 147*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
Panoramas (21)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

934 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 928: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A very individual hotel in an old shipping warehouse of some sort. stayed in the annexe was away from the road so very quiet. the bar area was first class with a wood burning stove. dined elsewhere. but breakfast was one of the very best hotel breaksfasts I have had with a lovely selection of starters followed by top quality...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Biagio14
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We found this hotel by accident and enjoyed the find. The hotel itself is a warehouse conversion that has left many features to make it both modern/trendy as well as loads of historical charm. The room was extremely well appointed, including a mini bar fridge. The bathroom upstairs had one of the best showers that I have ever experienced as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
durham
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel is really lovely, check in quick, rooms are lovely. They are unusual very stylish. Rooms have everything you need. Minibar fully stocked, also crisps to buy( too handy right by bed) so had to have a packet after our night out! There is also a safe for valuables and its free. Bar small but nice. lobby area nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank toniDurham
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed over a weekend as a family. The rooms were really nice, stylish and comfortable. The clientele were trendy and cool. The bar was excellent with good choices albeit the house champagne was a bit flat for the first round. The disappointment Was breakfast. Ok but not fabulous. Cold poached eggs and a bit behind the ball. I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Partner792
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I first stopped at this hotel in November when I was early for a business meeting and I had missed breakfast due to an early flight. Oh what a treat! Perfectly scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and delicious coffee to follow, in front of a blazing fire with attentive staff - I felt really special. I queried the bill because...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PennyMc2212
HDVAdamGreen, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear PennyMc2212 Many thanks for your kind review. It is great to read that you stumbled upon the hotel by chance ... and have since become quite an Ambassador for Hotel du Vin. I'm very pleased that you found our food and beverage offerings, accommodation and service to a cut above the competition. As a group, we have a fantastic...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my partner stayed here as we were going to an event at the town hall. We had originally booked a Delux Double room, however, upon our arrival received a complimentary room upgrade to the large executive suite the Dom Perignon. This room was amazing and certainly made our stay even better! Thank you very much to the friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
HDVAdamGreen, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Amy C Many thanks for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay with us. It is pleasing to read that your stay with us was such a success and that the team made your stay even more memorable. Dom Perignon is a very special suite and it's great that you were able to experience it!...

Northumberland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked for a meal, we didn't stay at the hotel. We ate in the Bistro, with some out-of-town friends. The staff were friendly and we all enjoyed our food. My main was excellent but I was jealous of my friend's Navarin of lamb! One of our party was gluten-free and they were excellent at pointing out the relevant dishes....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mag6699
HDVAdamGreen, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear mag6699 Many thanks for your kind review, i shall certainly pass on your feedback to our bistro and kitchen team. It is also worth noting that our Summer a la carte menu is set to be launched in a matter of weeks. Having had a sneak preview today, i must say that it looks fantastic so i hope you...

Braintree, Essex
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Have stayed here before and enjoyed a much higher level of cuisine than this time. We only had dinner once as the menu did not change and to be honest we were disappointed. Starters were lovely but the trout dish was bland and vegetables with it barely cooked. The pear and almond tart for dessert was dry and tasted burnt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GoddardBraintree
HDVAdamGreen, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear GoddardBraintree Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. I will certainly go back to the team with your feedback as this is very uncharacteristic. Our talented chefs and professional waiting staff take great pride in what they do, whilst it appears that we have fallen short on this occasion, i am pleased that a gesture was...

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely wonderful stay. Can't fault the staff. Suite was lovely and luxurious. Could do with more vege options on the menu but overall good quality food and drink. Breakfast was equally good. Well done to the staff including the room service and cleaners .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DNO100
HDVAdamGreen, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear DN0100 Many thanks for sharing your kind review. It is great to read that all elements of your stay were enjoyable and memorable. I will take great pleasure in passing on your feedback to the whole team. It is also worth mentioning that our summer a la carte menu will be launching in a few weeks time so we...

Shipley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at the hotel du vin and Bistro after a full booking at the sister hotel Malmaison nearby. The room was clean and the bed very comfy. The hotel it's is a fair distance away from the city centre and train station. I would recommend a taxi Breakfast was lovely I would stay again and recommend it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thakks
HDVAdamGreen, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Thakks Many thanks for sharing your review. It is great to read that you have now enjoyed both Hotel du Vin and our sister hotel The Malmaison. Whilst we appreciate the hotel is located a 5 minute taxi journey from the city centre, it allows perfect access to the cultural and dining options on the Quayside and the independent...

457 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (282)
Viewed
Room/Suite (89)
Viewed
Bathroom (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (116)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (162)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (61)
Viewed
Standard Room (19)
Viewed
Suite (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.6 km away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,167 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#10 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,093 reviews
3.1 km away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#3 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,321 reviews
1.5 km away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
462 reviews
1.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle

Address: Allan House City Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 2BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $135 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro Newcastle
Du Vin Hotel
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
england
3 months ago
england
3 months ago
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
9 months ago
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Hazel Grove, United Kingdom

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“annexe nice and quiet and only a few steps from the main building. room was Krug.”
Biagio14, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go for the executive rooms as they have a great bathroom”
833andrewm, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“all rooms ok”
toniDurham, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The superior rooms were nice.”
georgegibbs, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If they send an email offering an upgrade when you get there, if available, take it. Mine was worth every penny!”
jordis100, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
USD 142* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 147
Hotels.comUSD 147
TripAdvisorUSD 147
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates