We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Torlundy House B&B

Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Torlundy House B&B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

246 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 213: English reviews
Start your review of Torlundy House B&B
 Click to rate
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for three nights. Michael was an excellent host, despite some of the comments to the contrary. He welcomed us with coffee and biscuits. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean, with a generous hospitality tray with fresh milk on offer if requested. the bed was very comfortable. Michael is very knowledgeable about the area, and in the lounge...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Arthur B
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review

Arthur B thank you for your kind comments. I am pleased you found the room comfortable but saddened you experienced noise from the guest room above. The first night the room was not occupied and the guests did check in a little late on your second night and require an early leave. Disturbance of other guests is one of the...

Reviewed 1 week ago

So Torlundy house was overall an ok place. Nice clean facilities and good breakfast in the morning. The one major issue we had was with the owner (Michael) and his lack of understanding and attitude towards us. We had driven from Glasgow to this B&B but unfortunately had a flat tire along the way. Being in a different country and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruby M
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review

I am sorry I was not "warm and fuzzy" for you. The other reviews here will contradict your experience, but perhaps that is because you did not bother to let me know what was going on even when you could have done so. I have to say I am taken aback by your criticism. Even if you had not had...

Gosport, Hants
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 3 nights whilst attending a wedding in the area. The property is lovely, rooms are well decorated and so clean. The location, although maybe a bit out of the way for some - you do need a car to get about, is wonderful. At the foothills of the most stunning mountains, some still with snow, even in May!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lin-Mark-Tutton
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review

Well I am so pleased you had a great stay here, it was a real pleasure having you with us. I know you had a great time at the wedding, and it was in an unusual setting, an experience to be remembered. The snow is often on the Ben in May, in fact there have been some years when the...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a great stay with Michael. He was very informative about the area and booked a table for us at a nearby restaurant. Our room was very comfortable and immaculately clean. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful and served By Tina who was lovely and cheery. We were greeted with tea and coffee and a selection of biscuits on arrival...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 228Jackie
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review

Wonderful, 228Jackie, so pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us and our breakfast offering. I will pass on your comments to Tina as I know she likes to hear that her House Keeping is appreciated. We will look forward to you coming to Fort William again. Very best wishes to you, and thanks for writing about your time here.

Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were welcomed by Michael, shown our beautiful room, had a cuppa in the lounge. The breakfast are awesome: the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs were the best I ever had. Tina was an angel at breakfast: cheerful and quiet - that's what I need before tea and toast! Go and stay there, people, and enjoy the views, the rooms,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelleswf
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review

Oh that it great to hear, thank you. I enjoy doing the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. Also glad to hear you liked the room, it is a very popular room with our guests, and in high demand. As I have said to others I will pass on your comments to Tina, she only started work here earlier this year,...

Chelmsford, UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

And that includes the welcome, the lovely room and last but not least, the breakfasts! Michael the host is a very good breakfast cook and his assistant Tina is very cheerfull in a quiet way that suited my grumpiness before tea and toast! Thank you both!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mog01
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review

Mog01, were you grumpy in the morning? I did not notice. No worries we enjoyed your company for your 5 nights and are very pleased you had a good stay. You certainly covered some ground and experiences during your days out and had packed your time with lots of adventures, great food and whisky tasting experiences. Glad you have arrived...

Rancho Cordova, California
Reviewed 19 April 2017

We stayed at Torlundy House the first week of April with another couple we traveled with. We were only able to stay for 2 nights but they were superb! From the moment we arrived, our host Michael was friendly, informative and very warm and welcoming. He had loads of advice on where to go for long day trip and short...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Duker20
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review

Hello Duker20, well what can I say, you were a fantastic party of folk to have staying with us. Having laugh along with guests is great fun for all, and you all have a wicked sense of humour as well. It was a real pleasure having you all stay here, and I am so pleased you enjoyed your short time...

Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

On arrival we were greeted and made very welcome. We were told about places to eat, given guides on places to visit, information on local highlights and given Internet access. The room was spotless, the breakfast was 1st class (salmon and scrambled eggs... Yes please) and everything was meticulously placed and presented (even the tea pot and cafetiere were like...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jake O
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review

"Jake O", thank you for your great review of your stay with us. You are right this is a wonderful area with so much to see and occupy yourself with. I am just sorry that you were unable to climb the Ben, but the upside of that is that you will be back for another go. There are plenty more...

Esher, Surrey
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

I can't rate this B&B highly enough. From the moment we arrived our host (Michael) was very welcoming and showed us where everything was and recommended some great places to eat and visit nearby. Our room was very spacious and absolutely spotless; with everything we could have needed (tea , coffee, biscuits etc). We were staying with the sole purpose...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simonjdoy
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for writing about your recent stay at Torlundy House. I am very happy that your time with us was good and that you found your room clean and spacious. You really were very lucky to have made it to the top of the Ben at this time of year. I have another pair of guests attempting it today....

Reviewed 24 February 2017

I stayed for 3 nights and was met by owner Michael. Humble and happy to help Michael provides a perfect stay to the last detail. With the modern and well kept rooms I've never slept so well. Just set a few miles away from Fort William it provides access to all the amenities needed whilst still feeling that you're a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David P
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review

Hi David P, that is great that you enjoyed your stay with us. I wish the weather could have been a little better for your ice climbing, but at least you got some in. The beauty of staying out here with us is that it is lovely and quiet and it is good to know you got some good shut...

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torlundy
4.3 km away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.5 km away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
546 reviews
4.1 km away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
652 reviews
0.6 km away
The Factor's House
The Factor's House
#18 of 21 in Fort William
7 reviews
8.1 km away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just 3 miles from the centre of Fort William in the rural village of Torlundy we offer a quiet retreat for your stay. We recommend you have your own transport as local public transport is limited. We have free private off road parking for all our guests. Our rural location means that you will need to travel into Fort William for your evening dining on Scottish and International cuisine. The house is furnished in a contemporary modern style. All our 5 rooms have their own ensuite private bathroom with free toiletries, large soft towels and a hairdryer. Also in your room is a flat screen TV, DVD player, and tea/coffee making facilities. Some rooms have garden and mountain views. Free Wifi is available throughout the house. For relaxation we have a large residents lounge where you will find local information and our own written tour guides to help you get the best experience of the Highlands. For guests wanting to conquer Ben Nevis, the North Face Route is accessible on foot from Torlundy House, or the normal easier “tourist route” and visitor centre are just a couple of miles away. For those wanting to sample a local whiskey the Ben Nevis Distillery is just 1 mile away. Our breakfast experience is well renowned with mainly locally sourced fresh produce, full Scottish cooked breakfast, porridge (not in summer), smoked salmon. Lighter options of fresh fruits, yoghurts and cereals are also available. Our breakfast room has a large picture window with magnificent views of Ben Nevis. Also just 2 miles away is Aonach Mor with mountain biking and skiing among the activities available and the Caledonian Canal with Neptune’s Staircase, the gateway for boats travelling through Scotland from the west coast to Inverness on the north east coast. Your hosts have been offering Bed and Breakfast for 15 years in Torlundy. In 2011 we moved to Torlundy House and refurbished it to a VisitScotland 4 Star property. Every year we continue to upgrade and improve facilities. We have many guests coming back to stay with us on a regular basis as they like the area, the peace and quiet and the fact that we are located outside the main town, but within easy reach of it. Torlundy House is the ideal place to make your base while touring the Highlands. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Torlundy House B&B

Address: Happy Valley, Torlundy, Fort William PH33 6SN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William > Torlundy
Price Range: $95 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Torlundy House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Torlundy House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Torlundy House B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 2 is at the end of the corridor and is larger than the other ground floor rooms. However it does not have a view.”
568arthurb, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Room 5 is very food.”
Michelleswf, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms were fabulous !”
  • The beautiful Ben Nevis from the dining room
Duker20, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 5 upstairs was ideal for us”
peterf370, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms good”
judyw377, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates