We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel

Expedia.comUSD 187*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 221*
USD 187*
Great Deal
USD 189*
USD 189*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

549 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 534: English reviews
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2016

At my friend's birthday party today, I was delighted that the hotel chef and team produced for me an interesting, tasty and very fresh afternoon tea. I was served a selection of four finger-sandwiches, a scone with jam and cream plus three different, delicious cakes all on on an individual slate board. Well done. I have been disappointed many times...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrissiehollands
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chrissiehollands Thank you so much for your comments regarding your Afternoon Tea. I'm delighted, as the team will be, to read your kind words. I'm so pleased that we catered to your needs whilst exceeding your expectations. I do hope that we can welcome you back in the near future. Kindest regards Nicholas Bees General Manager

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2016

The room in an annexe to the hotel was quite acceptable with a small balcony overlooking quite a large and pleasant garden. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast good. The evening meal was excellent; the chef has clearly thought about the combination of ingredients and their presentation - "nouvelle cuisine" - without going "over the top". I think the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RosalindLondon
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RosalindLondon Thank you very much for your considered review. I'm really pleased to see that, on the whole, you enjoyed your stay. Our function room is completely separate to the hotel so I was really sorry to see that the attendees were taking over. This is certainly something that we need to look at in the future. We are...

Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2016

40 friends family arrived for a pre booked wedding celebration. Excellent welcome and directed to a room with a patio and garden. Greeted with drinks and nibbles and then invited to a hot buffet. Excellent selection that met everyone's needs. The service was excellent and always there but not intrusive. Well done to the whole team. If you are looking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gareth H
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gareth H Thank you so much for your kind words - I'm so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that we catered to your needs. I'm really pleased to see that you enjoyed the service too - this is exactly what we aim for! We do hope that we can welcome you back...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2016

Stayed last night, lovely receptionist to greet us, Our room was exactly what we wanted, and despite some sort of wedding (?) reception or party going on later, we weren't disturbed at all ie we even had the balcony door open a little bit! The girl at the bar was smiley and friendly, and mixed a mean couple of Pimms,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GertieGert
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GertieGert Thank you so much for your lovely comments regarding your stay. I'm delighted that you enjoyed it here and I shall certainly share your comments with the team. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon... Kind regards Nicholas Bees General Manager

Bournemouth
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel is well presented with nice size rooms, is comfortable and clean. However unfortunately our room was near the function room which had a loud party until midnight on a Thursday. Additionally the work entrance was below our window. Therefore we had a really poor nights sleep due to the u acceptable noise- firstly from the party and then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hana88
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hana88 Thank you for your review of your stay and I'm really sorry to see that your sleep was disturbed by a function. We try our hardest to allocate anyone not involved in a wedding/function away from any noise so I'm really sorry that we didn't manage to do this on this occasion. In the future, please do let...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 June 2016

Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MercureBoxHill
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

We went there for our grad ball. And each paid a extortionate amount to do so. We pre ordered our food months ago and were all excited. We arrived to frankly invasive checks and pat downs. I was made to empty both my bags all over the dirty grass and even when no booze was found treated like a naughty...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank willc3431
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear willc3431 I am sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your ball here. I am surprised about your comments as I was at the entrance as you were all arriving from the coach and don't remember seeing anyone having to empty their handbags on the ground, and this certainly wouldn't have been acceptable to me. Also, we have absolutely...

Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2016

I was taken here for a postponed Mothers Day treat and the food was excellent. Very reasonably priced - when compared to London venues and food equally as good. In fact the 'size' of portion was perfect. Only comment i would make is the cake selection was too much 'patisserie' and a more 'english' style alternative would have balanced the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 727Cat
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 727Cat Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our Afternoon Tea. We do vary our offering from time-to-time so your feedback is most welcome in order for us to improve. We do hope that we can welcome you back soon. Kindest regards Nicholas Bees General Manager

Basel, Switzerland
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

We were very pleased on arrival: a lovely location; loved the refurbished 'superior' garden room overlooking the garden and the heated outdoor pool; restaurant and lounge areas very comfortably furnished. However, my son's 'classic' room was basic and a bit shabby. The aircon didn't work. The roadside location was noisy. The bed was on wheels and not fixed to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OliviaJane108
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear OliviaJane108 Thank you for your considered review. I'm really sorry that your stay didn't meet your expectations. I do hope that you spoke to one of the Duty Managers at the time regarding your son's bedroom and the other issues that you faced. I would hope that we would have fixed the air conditioning or moved your son to...

Dorking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2016

We had a large table at the restaurant to celebrate a family member's significant birthday. Service was excellent, food unsurpassed (flavour packed in to every morsel). Cannot recommend it more highly. (and a superb cellar too). Came away feeling thoroughly spoilt.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Net6413
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Net6413 Thank you so much for your review of Emlyn Restaurant. I'm absolutely delighted that your party enjoyed their time here and I shall make sure that the team see your comments too. Thank you very much again, and we hope to welcome you back in the future Kind regards Nicholas Bees General Manager

129 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (21)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorking
7.1 km away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
83 reviews
2.6 km away
The White Horse Hotel, Dorking
1.5 km away
The Running Horses
The Running Horses
#1 of 1 in Mickleham
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
526 reviews
7.5 km away
Woodlands Park Hotel
Woodlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cobham
644 reviews
7.5 km away
De Vere Horsley Estate
De Vere Horsley Estate
#1 of 1 in East Horsley
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 4 star Mercure Burford Bridge sits at the foot of Box Hill, with the Mole River running at the bottom of the spectaculargardens. With 57 en suite rooms, the hotel is ideal for visiting the historic town of Dorking and the scenic surroundings. Easilyaccessible via the M25, Junction 9, the hotel is 12 miles from London Gatwick Airport, 1 mile from Dorking train station. 2 AA Rosette winning restaurant, cocktail bar and lounge. 7 conference and banqueting rooms, outdoor swimming pool. Free parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel

Address: At the Foot of Box Hill, Dorking RH5 6BX, England (Formerly Mercure Burford Bridge Boxhill)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Price Range: $158 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, ACCOR, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Burford Bridge Boxhill Hotel Dorking
Mercure Hotel Dorking
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel Dorking, Surrey, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
2 months ago
london
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had 'priviledged customer' room (superior double) which was large and the king size bed was comfortable”
118hazelh, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Im in 312 so anything in the 300's is a good room.”
Smudddle, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Some of the rooms you are directed to the outside path to get to but you can go up the stairs and round instead.”
charlotterL6624LE, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rear of the hotel, away from the road.”
  • View of the main body of the hotel from the room
  • Lovely & bright & gleaming clean
  • Welcoming balloons and wine
770andyh, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We thought the rooms in the main hotel building were great”
BARRY28544, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 187* /night
View Deal
PricelineUSD 189
HOTEL.INFOUSD 189
HotelQuicklyUSD 221
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates