We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The White Lion Hotel

TripAdvisorUSD 158*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 158*
USD 158*
USD 158*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,427 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,422: English reviews
Start your review of The White Lion Hotel
 Click to rate
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We visited the White Lion Hotel for a quick mini break weekend looking to chillax. I booked it on the strength of the reviews. It was OK... It was a pricey weekend over £550 for 2 nights and (which only included one meal - a shared starter and 2 main courses and 2 drinks - a beer and a G&T...)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jules196350
Mark_W_OpsMgr, Operations Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, and thank you for your review. I am sorry that your weekend did not live up to your expectations. We are proud of our location on the seafront and this does make the views from a number of our rooms unenviable. Having recently arrived at the hotel from one of our sister properties I am working with our maintenance...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The food and service in both of the restaurants within the White Lion were excellent. The Indian restaurant is something a little different, has a really nice atmosphere and generally of very high quality - top London quality. However, we found that our bedroom was small, was fitted cheaply and the bathroom was particularly dismal and antiquated in a bad...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nathan J
Mark_W_OpsMgr, Operations Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nathan Many thanks for choosing to stay at the White Lion and for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed both the food and the service in Sea Spice and Brasserie Bleue. I am sorry, however, that you found your room to be a different experience. Having recently arrived at the hotel as...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A pleasant hotel in a nice setting. Breakfast arrived quickly and was tasty. We didn't have to make our own toast Joy! The bed was comfortable and the room clean. The staff were friendly and obliging. Alternative eateries were in walking distance and there is a sweet museum directly opposite the hotel. The Maggie Hambling sculpture was a fairly short...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Millie C
Mark_W_OpsMgr, Operations Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Millie Many thanks for choosing to stay with the White Lion and for your review. We are pleased that you appreciated the great ,location that we have and the service that my team offer. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Mark

Chatham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at The White Lion for five nights, we enjoyed some excellent food in the restaurant, our room had a sea view, breakfast was great and really nice it was all served by the excellent waitress/waiters. A really great stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 903helen2017
Mark_W_OpsMgr, Operations Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi and many thanks for your very kind words which sum up exactly what we love to be recognised for - Great location, great food and great service. We hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards Mark

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our second visit and we thoroughly enjoyed a two-night stay on the Spring Break Offer, which was very good value for money. Staff were very friendly and helpful especially the breakfast waitresses and the barman. Food throughout was excellent. My only quibble ( a minor one) is the lack of plugs in the our inland room and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
Mark_W_OpsMgr, Operations Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jane, I am so pleased that you enjoyed another stay with us and appreciated the value for money that our spring offer provides. I am extremely proud of the team that I work with and I am pleased that the effort that both my chef and service team put in to everything they do shone through. I take on...

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We didn't actually stay but looked over the hotel out on behalf of friends. First impressions were good, welcoming and attentive staff, cosy reception/lounge and a delightful location opposite the shingle beach. Based on what we saw we would certainly recommend. Whilst there we also sampled the restaurant - Sea Spice, which we had visited previously.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GibBob
Mark_W_OpsMgr, Operations Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, and many thanks for your comments. We are both proud of our location and the food and the service we offer so hopefully your friends will not be disappointed. We look forward to welcoming them soon. Kind regards Mark

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The second time we have visited in the last month, and cannot understand why it's not full...is it the marketing? The staff are lovely, the food excellent, and for Aldeburgh it's great value! We started with local Moules and tomato tart, both had the Sirloin of beef which was truly excellent with nice veg, great roasties and plenty of gravy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bibsEastAnglia
Mark_W_OpsMgr, Operations Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi and many thanks for taking the time to offer your great feedback. I have ensured all of the team are made aware of your comments, and I do believe you also spoke to James my head chef on the day which was much appreciated. I am incredibly proud of the team that I work with here and am always...

London
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed at this hotel before and so had no hesitation in returning. We found the room well decorated, bright and clean but there were two issues. Firstly as I walked into the room there was a strong smell of curry and, secondly, the basin plug did not work at all and we had to keep the tap running...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VulcanLondon
Mark_W_OpsMgr, Operations Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi and many thanks for your comments. I have spoken to our Sea Spice and maintenance team regarding the issues that you had and hopefully we can minimise any issues to residents of all rooms in future. For your next visit please mention this to my friendly reservations team and we will ensure that you have a different room where...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The White Lion is an old hotel with some quirky features, but the rooms are small but clean and very comfortable. Staff are friendly and they provide a good service. Breakfast was excellent and it was nice to be waited on rather than a buffet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IvorThom
Mark_W_OpsMgr, Operations Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, and thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am pleased you found the service and breakfast to be great. Over the coming year we are going to be completing some work in areas of the hotel to improve the rooms whilst keeping that quirky timeless feel. Kind regards Mark

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely sunny spring day walk from Thorpness to Aldeburgh. Chocoholic afternoon tea in the lounge of hotel. Lovely clean, modern hotel on the seafront. Afternoon tea didn't disappoint. Yummy duck egg, suffolk ham, salmon and cucumber sandwiches. Chocolate scones with clotted cream, light chocolate tart, mousse, eclairs and sticky brownies, including homemade fudge, fresh strawberries and raspberries. It was amazing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
Mark_W_OpsMgr, Operations Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review

I love taking friends and family out for afternoon tea, it really is such a great tradition and here at the White Lion we love putting our own twist on the experience. I am pleased you enjoyed this and hope to welcome you again in the future for some of our forthcoming offerings including our "Warming up for Wimbledon", Parisian...

283 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (154)
Viewed
Inland Room (31)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Sea View Room (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.8 km away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
977 reviews
0.1 km away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
637 reviews
20.7 km away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 km away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
695 reviews
2.9 km away
Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
32.3 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
Food & drink at the hotel
Brasserie Bleue
Brasserie Bleue
Cuisines: British, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about The White Lion Hotel

Address: Market Cross Place, Aldeburgh IP15 5BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Price Range: $208 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The White Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Aldeburgh
Aldeburgh Best Western
The White Lion Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The White Lion Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The White Lion Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 5 is a seaview room”
jules196350, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“ask for a bigger room without stair access”
nathanj523, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Turning towel rail off and opening a window cooled room(22)”
716milliec, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Stay in the rooms with a sea view”
IvorThom, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Room 26 had great views of the beach all the way to Thorpeness”
paullD7928HS, 8 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
USD 158* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 158
Agoda.comUSD 158
PricelineUSD 158
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates