We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilton Garden Inn Stoke-on-trent

Save
Share
Potteries Way Hanley, Stoke-on-Trent ST1 4QA England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
Booking.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (13)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (6)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 10/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hilton Garden Inn Stoke-on-trent
Updated 10/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 14 hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Brand new Hilton hotel opened in 2020 and located in the city centre near the Cultural Quarter, shops, theatres and museum. All rooms have air conditioning, fridge, safe, digital TV. Hotel has free Wi-Fi, restaurant, bar lounge, room-service, guest-only gym, shop selling snacks and drinks, guest laundry. Adjacent car-parking. Local attractions include Alton Towers, Waterworld and Monkey Forest.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
12Reviews4Q+A1Room tip
Traveller rating
  • 9
  • 2
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Benedict Hunjan wrote a review Nov. 2020
Derby, United Kingdom332 contributions135 helpful votes
I stayed on business at this hotel last week spending a total of five nights and really enjoyed it. Whilst I normally stay at the Premier Inn just a little further down the road, the recent opening of a Hilton in a place like Stoke was too tempting not to try. Plus, booking with HHonors points meant it only cost £86 for the five nights - the only addition being the extra £5 a night for parking. It’s hard to not compare with the hotel where I normally stay (and which is currently the highest ranked hotel in Stoke on TripAdvisor) so that’s what I’ll do. I booked a room on their app and as such was able to choose the exact room I wanted. I went for 628 as it was top floor and on the side with the slightly nicer views. The rooms at the hotel are slightly larger than those at the Premier Inn, though by no means huge. High ceilings (at least on the top floor), do aid the sense of space, though, and they’re plenty big enough for one. As the hotel is only a few weeks old, the rooms are in near perfect condition and using brand new furniture and bedding is a real treat. The bed at the Hilton is certainly superior to that at the Premier Inn. The bathroom, whilst prettier, is comparable. It’s worth mentioning there’s a sizeable step up into the shower which those with mobility issues may struggle with and that the sink is also very low so tall people will find themselves arching right over to wash their face, shave etc. Pluses are the addition of a gym which, whilst small, is still a huge advantage over nothing, and the front desk directly being contactable by phone at the bedside. The Premier Inn has a mobile number you can call and which they answer when it suits them but the Hilton has a direct line to front desk who are only too happy to help with whatever - whether it’s to bring up cutlery for your takeaway or to provide a printing service. The overall feel of the Hilton is also much more upmarket and professional. Even though it’s only one of their middle-priced brands (Garden Inn), the fact this one is so new gives it such a wow factor over competition in town; the lobby has to surely be the most impressive space in Stoke. The digital key (available on the app) to unlock front doors (out of hours), elevators, gym and guest room also feels very swish and makes it feel a very secure place to be, also. There’s also decent free WiFi throughout the hotel. Whilst the Premier Inn does offer free WiFi, you’re forced to upgrade to their “Ultimate” if you’re wanting to stream or do anything other than slowly work through emails, and this is £15 for the week. I understand from other reviews that the food is very good at the Hilton, too, though without having tried it I can’t comment. Negative points at the Hilton are the air con, which is slow at adjusting to desired temperature, and the fact the hotel charges for parking (although this is cheap at £5 a night, you can’t beat free). It’s also approximately 40% more expensive per night (depending on how and when you book), although I think honestly it does justify this. Overall, this is a fantastic new addition to the accommodation on offer in Stoke. I understand there are plans for a DoubleTree by Hilton also to open in the coming year so it’ll be interesting to see how this weighs up, but for now I’d predict this will quickly rise to the top end of the rankings and eventually steal the Premier Inn’s crown. I’m going to stay again down the line and have already booked to return in the coming weeks. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Alty, Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Stoke-on-trent
Responded 10 Nov. 2020
Hi doctorbenedict Well, what more can I say other than thank you for taking the time to write in this in-depth manner about our bright and shiny brand-new hotel. When you next stay I hope you will find time to dine in our restaurant; the food really is as good as the review say and our head chef and his brigade take a lot of pride in presenting beautifully cooked plates of food. As you mentioned "mobility" when talking about the bathroom shower I thought you'd like to know, and for readers of this review, that we have seven accessible rooms (35 square metres so lots of space) with wet rooms. We look forward to seeing you again and thank you for the recommendation. Kind regards Steve Sales Manager Hilton Garden Inn Stoke on Trent
Read more
Mary wrote a review Nov. 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I paid full price but got half the service! From booking in to checkout the customer service has been poor and my experience has been really bad. The night reception staff are extremely rude and unhelpful. When checking in, the male night receptionist asked for £5 per night for parking (I paid £15 for my time there) however, when I spoke to the morning receptionist she informed me that parking was free all you had to do was type your car reg into the tablet! The night receptionist also said if we were to pay for the booking by cash we would have to pay £150 extra...he didn’t say whether this was a deposit and we’d get it back or what the £150 was for. My second complaint about a staff member is a female waitress during breakfast. Whenever we asked her for anything she’d bluntly say “no”. For example, I’d asked her for a fresh fried egg as the ones at the breakfast bar were cold and had been sitting there a while and she said “no sorry we can’t” I then asked her if she could get it warmed up and when she asked the chef to warm up the egg he said “nah I’d rather make a fresh one I don’t really want to be reheating food”. Because of COVID, we couldn’t self serve so the waitresses had to put the food in for us, this waitress was extremely stingy when it came to portions! And she’d try to give us cold, old food! We paid £10 per person per night for breakfast and the fact that we were getting served cold food is unacceptable! My third complaint is that on the morning of checkout, I was in the hotel room trying to get some shut eye and someone kept knocking on the door. When I’d go to open the door there was no one there except the cleaners down the corridor. This happened 4 times and got extremely irritating. Then when I had got out the shower, some member of staff, I’m guessing the cleaners but can’t be 100% certain, opened the door to my room! Thankfully the door stopper was on otherwise they would’ve been able to come in!! There’s literally no privacy! This was around 2 hours before checkout so I don’t understand what they were knocking on for or what they were trying to do! Another thing, because of COVID apparently there’s no house keeping unless you stay for 7 or more days...I don’t understand that at all! On my last day, I was unable to get breakfast as they had hardly anything in stock! Keep in mind I paid for a full English breakfast but got nothing! The room was nice and clean however the bedsheet had a brown stain on it! There weren’t any drinks in the mini fridge and a very small selection of hot drink sachets. A different male member of the night staff however was extremely helpful and polite. He’d brought up my takeaway order for me as well as green tea and anything else I needed he was happy to help. I’ve been to other Hilton hotels and they’ve always been amazing but I don’t know what went wrong at this one! Very disappointed to say the least, won’t be returning here anytime soon.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Alty, Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Stoke-on-trent
Responded 9 Nov. 2020
Dear FM123m I'm sorry to read that you are unhappy following your recent stay with us, especially as it is never our intention to be anything but helpful for our guests.  Unfortunately, as none of your concerns or issues were mentioned to us during your stay or at check-out, I can only try to clarify here the points you have raised. The night's team are correct in stating that parking is £5 per night and as you were paying in cash we we did charge for the parking on check-in; also when guests wish to pay for a room with cash we do also take the full payment at the time of check-in. This is standard procedure in all hotels and I trust you weren't inconvenienced. As regards breakfast, items are cooked fresh and placed onto hot plates and under heat lamps before being plated. Having a fried egg cooked fresh is always better than having it warmed up and I apologise that the egg you were initially served had cooled. On no morning did we, or do we, run out of food for breakfast. I can unfortunately offer no explanation as to why you were disturbed on the morning of check-out. Check-out is 11 AM, and until a guest checks out at reception housekeeping do not enter guest bedrooms. We do not have mini-bars in fridges and nowhere do we state this; they are an additional room facility for guests to keep their own purchased items in.  If at any time you had wanted more teas or coffee sachets for your room we would have provided these to you had you asked reception or the duty manager for more. I note that you did have green tea brought to your room when this was requested. In terms of housekeeping we follow Hilton Cleanstay cleaning protocols in the hotel but it is incorrect to state that we only service a guest's room if they stay for seven or more days. Once again, I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Kind regards, Steve Steve Alty Sales Manager Hilton Garden Inn Stoke on Trent
Read more
Carly B wrote a review Oct. 2020
Aylesbury, United Kingdom2 contributions
We stayed here as a family of 4, booked as a package with Alton Towers. From checking in to leaving the staff were all so helpful and friendly, excellent facilities and clean bright and comfortable rooms!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Alty, Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Stoke-on-trent
Responded 10 Nov. 2020
Hi 710carlyb Thank you for this five-star review and we're really pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. It's also nice to see the friendliness of the team recognised by you. Hope you enjoyed Alton Towers! Kind regards Steve Sales Manager Hilton Garden Inn Stoke on Trent
Read more
PotterMoose wrote a review Oct. 2020
Chessington, United Kingdom1,685 contributions268 helpful votes
+1
Check in was friendly and efficient despite social distancing. Room 615 was near the lifts with good views over the city: shame the windows weren't bigger, though. The room was small but nicely decorated in light colours to make it seem bigger. Huge bed, open wardrobe, a unit with a safe and fridge plus a kettle, tea and coffee. Lots of power sockets and USBs including by the bed. Wi-Fi was good enough. The bathroom was white-tiled with a large shower and Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries. The shower had decent pressure and didn’t leak. Breakfast was excellent with help-yourself beverages and toast and a cooked English breakfast was served quickly. The Car Park was a bit confusing as it is not the one at the back of the hotel, but was over the road.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Alty, Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Stoke-on-trent
Responded 10 Nov. 2020
Hi Pottermoose Thank you for taking the time to write this review. All 140 of our bedrooms have the same excellent facilities and I'm sure the fridges and air-conditioning will be well-used when we have hot weather. (Roll on the summer). We have now changed the hotel postcode to take guests to the hotel car park. As you say, it is across the road from the hotel and adjacent to the super-crossing which brings guests to the hotel's main entrance and reception. Kind regards and we're really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Steve Sales Manager Hilton Garden Inn Stoke on Trent
Read more
Daniel3100 wrote a review Oct. 2020
Horsham, United Kingdom173 contributions46 helpful votes
Me and a friend of mine couldn't believe the price when we looked at somewhere else to stay £53 for a twin room wasn't expecting 2 double beds too had a very good receptionist who was very polite and professional. I have always wanted to stay in a Hilton Hotel myself and it didn't disappoint my expectations had an excellent stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Any Room I would say
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Alty, Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Stoke-on-trent
Responded 10 Nov. 2020
Hi Daniel3100 Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review and we're all really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. You're right in saying that the beds in our twin rooms are wider than you would find in many hotels. Thank you for mentioning how polite and professional our reception team member was; it's nice to see this recognised by you. Now you've stayed in a Hilton you can tick it off your list and you'll have to stay at another one now. (Maybe ours again). Kind regards Steve Sales Manager Hilton Garden Inn Stoke
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandStaffordshireStoke-on-Trent
NUMBER OF ROOMS
140
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hilton Garden Inn Stoke-on-trent
Which popular attractions are close to Hilton Garden Inn Stoke-on-trent?
Nearby attractions include Escape Stoke (0.2 km), XP-VR Virtual Reality Experience, Stoke on Trent (0.4 km), and Paralysis Escape Rooms (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hilton Garden Inn Stoke-on-trent?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hilton Garden Inn Stoke-on-trent?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Hilton Garden Inn Stoke-on-trent?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hilton Garden Inn Stoke-on-trent?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hilton Garden Inn Stoke-on-trent?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Slamwich Club, Coast to Coast, and The Quarter Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hilton Garden Inn Stoke-on-trent?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hilton Garden Inn Stoke-on-trent?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Does Hilton Garden Inn Stoke-on-trent offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hilton Garden Inn Stoke-on-trent?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hilton Garden Inn Stoke-on-trent?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chatterley Whitfield Heritage Centre (5.7 km), Stoke-on-Trent Railway Station (2.2 km), and Ford Green Hall (3.1 km).