We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

920 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 911: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
 Click to rate
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

we has a family stayed at the george hotel, cant fault the staff all were helpful and friendly. The room was nice and had the space but the bathroom was on the smnall side for a single room and found that it was a tight side of things if you had a bath with it being so close to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlottesmit
Monza, Italy
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Old hotel, central in downtown, good intercontinental breakfast, service in line with aspectatives, a little expensive, one thing to arrange: bathroom and windows cohibentation not in line with the price. To be improved.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea T
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We firsted the George last Friday ( March 17th) we were a little early but shown to out table straight away. The restaurant was fairly quiet, we had got an offer witch included a gin and tonic, the selection of gins was impressive. Our food order was taken a little later. The food was very good and nicely presented, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauline L
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you are visiting Lichfield I don't think you could do much better for location and comfort than The George. It has a car park at the back, a nice traditional feel with modern facilities. Reception staff were friendly and helpful and the room (we booked a superior) freshly decorated and a very good size. With Superior rooms come bathrobes,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fryer
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and kind comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope you return in the near future.

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

During a day out in Lichfield we came across this old style hotel and decided to pop in for a drink. We ended up spending three hours over a very nice carvery lunch and relaxing in the bar/ lounge area. The staff are very friendly and attentive. The atmosphere was relaxing and very calm. I would definitely recommend that if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam H
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and kind comments. We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your visit with us and hope you return in the future.

Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This stay was to celebrate the Wife's Birthday, everything went well until her main course arrived. The vegetables were cold with the meal being only luke warm. We did complain, the vegetables were replaced with piping hot ones, but my Wife ate the duck as it meant we would be eating at different times if she had a replacement meal....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and kind comments. We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you return in the future.

lancashire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our 2nd visit to this hotel, staff all very polite and efficient, room was dark and old fashioned but clean, breakfast was included and there was a good selection but really not very well cooked. It was a Friday night and because the hotel is in the town centre it was a bit noisy trying to get to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrsmitchLancashire
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review on your time with us. Your comments in regards to the noise from the street and local bar have been passed to the local Council for their information. Your feedback from breakfast will also be passed onto our head chef. I do hope you choose to stay with us again soon.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was at the front of the hotel, looking onto a busy thoroughfare. Late night, early morning revellers made a lot of noise walking past. Not the fault of the hotel, but a little annoying when trying to sleep.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Westy2383
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review on your time with us. Your comments in regards to the noise from the street and local bar have been passed to the local Council for their information. I do hope you choose to stay with us again soon.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ok so we had a voucher making it a cheap evening. However we were running late, no problem. We seared in the bar and had a beer. The restaurant manager who's name unfortunately escapes me explained there was no rush. He gave us our "Gin menu", which was lovely, we all had one and had a taste. Really large gins...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank southad
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and kind comments. We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you return in the future.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for a small break.it was a late birthday treat for him .we stayed at this hotel due to its location as he wanted to go to the national arboretum. We found this hotel very clean We stayed in room 21 which was clean the bed very comfortable. There is mini bar in the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and kind comments. We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you return in the future.

149 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
2:24
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lichfield hotels
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Lichfield City Centre Hotel
0.6 km away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lichfield
333 reviews
3.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lichfield
295 reviews
1.7 km away
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
5.7 km away
Premier Inn Lichfield North East (A38) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in the heart of the historic city of Lichfield, Best Western The George Hotel is conveniently located for the Midlands motorway network, Birmingham, the NEC Group/LG Arena and the National Arboretum. This charming 18th century former coaching inn is just a five minute stroll away from the city's famous cathedral and the Garrick Theatre. At The George you'll find everything you need for a relaxing stay including free wi-fi, free parking, a cosy lounge bar, a lunchtime carvery and Darwin's, a stylish restaurant serving the best of British food each evening from 6pm. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel

Address: 12-14 Bird Street, Lichfield WS13 6PR, England (Formerly Best Western The George Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Price Range: $90 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel Staffordshire
Lichfield Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We did not stay at the hotel just visited the restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles paulinel51, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for more pillows.”
 of 5 bubbles P3271UDstevem, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back of the hotel would be quieter at the weekend.”
 of 5 bubbles Friarygirl1974, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“book into this hotel and you can park your car up as it will not be needed”
 of 5 bubbles markZ493QV, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“overlooking the car park”
 of 5 bubbles ian262015, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5