We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Crown at Wells & Anton\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

539 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot
See the most recent reviews
Showing 532: English reviews
Cheshire, England
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I'm not sure what to say about The Crown. We arrived at about. 6:30 on a Friday night. The hotel is a nice looking historic building right on the main square of this lovely City so excellent location. We could see that the bar was packed with customers and we received a warm and friendly welcome from the bloke on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank perrylees
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Your review is terrifically long, I will keep my response short. You didn't mention the bed being uncomfortable. The shower did work. It was checked both by housekeeping and our maintenance chap. You were offered another room on the basis you were not happy with the one you were in, no other reason. You say you were "a bit grumpy"....

Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went to the Bistro for lunch with my daughters.There was only one other table occupied when we arrived. The waitress took our drinks order which came quite quickly. We ordered our food and by this time all the tables were taken. We sat there fore about twenty minutes and all the other tables food arrived apart from ours. The food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Golfbabes
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments concerning lunch in Anton's at the weekend. Your food order took longer than other tables as your order included a burger which takes longer to prepare than sandwiches and salads. Our waitress was being trained on what was a terrifically busy service. You don't mention you being rude. It's just not necessary nor justifiable. We're...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We chose to stay at the Crown based on our requirement to find accommodation that was dog friendly and am pleased to report that everyone from reception to housekeeping staff went out of their way to make both ours and our dogs stay relaxed and enjoyable.We were greeted with a doggie goody bag and our furry companion was treated to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank timmspaul
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a super review. We're so pleased to hear you all enjoyed your stay with us and that you'll be back.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We came here for tea. Excellent service with excellent burgers, which tasted like those you would be supplied with by the butcher. Prices were not over the top either, in a very pleasant and friendly setting, providing a range of draught ales from Cornwall (Tribute, Doom Bar, Wolf Rock) and Somerset (Butcombe Bitter).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TonySheridan
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Excellent review! Thanks so much.

Portsmouth
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We found The Crown to be a little gem. The staff were really polite and attentive. The rooms were well maintained and warm and the service in the bars and restaurant were superb. The food in the restaurant was well presented, served hot and very tasteful. Although there was a delay in service of one of our meals, we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank msucol158
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Such a joy to read your review, thank you so much. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and meals with us and 'got' the car parking situation. We do hope you will stay again and look forward to welcoming you before too long.

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Nipped in to this find of a pub mainly due to the Hot Fuzz links and was very happy to see Butcombe on draught as it is one of my favourites. My partner had home made soup and I went for the Ploughman's which I thought a bit steep at just under a tenner, but when it came, wow, you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank retto970
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Great review, thank you, great to hear you were so pleasantly surprised.

Somerton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2017

We went in for a meal on Sunday evening 19th February 2017. We decided to eat in the bar rather than the hotel restaurant. The bar has a pleasant ambience and friendly staff. One nice touch was the Doris Day songs playing softly in the background which made a pleasant change from the 'headbanger' type music that is usually playing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

We're so pleased you enjoyed your meal with us so much and appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts here.

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2017

we have been here before for food and have always been pleased but when we went on feb 12th it was awful, staff seemed very confused with all orders we waited 50 mins for our roast dinner which when arrived was the wrong order it was taken back to the kitchen and our dinner was brought out i had pork...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank draper022016
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

We are so sorry for your experience. This was a one-off due to technical problems with our food order process and far from our usual service. Apologies again and do hope you will give us another try before too long.

Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

I attended The Crown on a busy Saturday afternoon with some friends. We had read the favourable reviews and decided to see for ourselves. Coming from the North-East, I was keen to try a Ploughmans lunch and was certainly not disappointed. Good size portions where the picked onion and scotch-egg were the stars of the show. The side-salad was rather...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben L
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing us and we're pleased you all enjoyed your lunch with us.

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Visited the beautiful city of Wells on Valentines Day. Wanted to find somewhere to eat lunch that was warm and served home cooked food. We were not disappointed. Sat in the bar area next to a log fire. Ham, egg and chips and a chicken Caesar burger all piled high with a beautifully prepared side salad. People on the next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TraDer4953
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Great to hear you left suitably full and satisfied. Thank you for your recommendation.

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.1 km away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
0.1 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wells
150 reviews
0.1 km away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
944 reviews
1.5 km away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 40 in Wells
295 reviews
0.5 km away
The Sherston Inn
The Sherston Inn
#23 of 40 in Wells
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Crown is a 15th century coaching inn overlooking the Market Place in the heart of Wells. The Crown offers affordable accommodation, great food and friendly service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot

Address: Market Place, Wells BA5 2RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Price Range: $149 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown At Wells And Anton`s Bistrot
The Crown At Wells & Anton`s Bistrot Hotel Wells
The Crown Hotel Wells
The Crown At Wells & Anton's Bistrot Somerset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have a view”
 of 5 bubbles doreent192, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed on the first floor, a little noise from the bar below on Saturday night, but not a problem for us.”
 of 5 bubbles flymetotheun, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Best views on top floor I would imagine”
 of 5 bubbles timmspaul, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The whole hotel seemed very quiet to us, even though we were right in the centre of Wells.”
 of 5 bubbles barrym474, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Overlooking the square is good apart from the market setting up very early saturday morning...but ear plugs are provided which helped alot.”
 of 5 bubbles TracyP223, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5