We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Crown at Wells & Anton\\
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

525 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 518: English reviews
Start your review of The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot
 Click to rate
Portsmouth
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We found The Crown to be a little gem. The staff were really polite and attentive. The rooms were well maintained and warm and the service in the bars and restaurant were superb. The food in the restaurant was well presented, served hot and very tasteful. Although there was a delay in service of one of our meals, we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank msucol158
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Nipped in to this find of a pub mainly due to the Hot Fuzz links and was very happy to see Butcombe on draught as it is one of my favourites. My partner had home made soup and I went for the Ploughman's which I thought a bit steep at just under a tenner, but when it came, wow, you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank retto970
Somerton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We went in for a meal on Sunday evening 19th February 2017. We decided to eat in the bar rather than the hotel restaurant. The bar has a pleasant ambience and friendly staff. One nice touch was the Doris Day songs playing softly in the background which made a pleasant change from the 'headbanger' type music that is usually playing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

we have been here before for food and have always been pleased but when we went on feb 12th it was awful, staff seemed very confused with all orders we waited 50 mins for our roast dinner which when arrived was the wrong order it was taken back to the kitchen and our dinner was brought out i had pork...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank draper022016
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

We are so sorry for your experience. This was a one-off due to technical problems with our food order process and far from our usual service. Apologies again and do hope you will give us another try before too long.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I attended The Crown on a busy Saturday afternoon with some friends. We had read the favourable reviews and decided to see for ourselves. Coming from the North-East, I was keen to try a Ploughmans lunch and was certainly not disappointed. Good size portions where the picked onion and scotch-egg were the stars of the show. The side-salad was rather...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben L
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing us and we're pleased you all enjoyed your lunch with us.

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited the beautiful city of Wells on Valentines Day. Wanted to find somewhere to eat lunch that was warm and served home cooked food. We were not disappointed. Sat in the bar area next to a log fire. Ham, egg and chips and a chicken Caesar burger all piled high with a beautifully prepared side salad. People on the next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TraDer4953
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Great to hear you left suitably full and satisfied. Thank you for your recommendation.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Pleased that we booked this establishment. A few disappontments some unavoidable. Eg Carpark closed for filming Poldark. Restaurant empty but bar was buzzing. Opted to eat in Bar. Food good choice and good homely standard. Breakfast disappointing. Scrambled egg dry and overdone. Tomatoes hard and undercooked. Bedroom ok. No ealkin shower made it difficult and overhead shower just adequate. Pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keithe1950
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry for your disappointments. Do come again and please ask for a room with walk in shower. We hope you mentioned issues with the breakfast while here. This is not our norm.

Tavistock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

When we were researching this hotel, it was soon obvious that it was used as one of the locations for the film Hot Fuzz. When we arrived, a scene from Poldark was being filmed outside in the market square making it a little chaotic but great excitement for being able to watch it all from our bedroom window. This hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank willisgj55
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Such a great review, thank you so much. We're delighted you enjoyed the entertainment outside too!

Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the best ploughmans lunch ever! Was served on a board scotch eggs,pate,ham,cheeses,pickled onions,butter and rolls,chutney,apple,grapes and with a large tasty fresh salad.There was so much there we struggled to eat it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahk592016
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Gosh, praise indeed, thank you.

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose the pub as it was recommended to us by a friend who lives in Wells, we wanted somewhere that we could take the dogs in with us. We were greeted and served by a cheery barman who processed our order very quickly. The food arrived promptly (always a blessing when you have kids!) and was very tasty too,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hazelg33
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Super review, thank you so much.

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.1 km away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
0.1 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wells
137 reviews
0.1 km away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
929 reviews
1.5 km away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 40 in Wells
289 reviews
1.1 km away
Stoberry House
Stoberry House
#3 of 40 in Wells
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Crown is a 15th century coaching inn overlooking the Market Place in the heart of Wells. The Crown offers affordable accommodation, great food and friendly service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot

Address: Market Place, Wells BA5 2RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Price Range: $149 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown At Wells And Anton`s Bistrot
The Crown At Wells & Anton`s Bistrot Hotel Wells
The Crown Hotel Wells
The Crown At Wells & Anton's Bistrot Somerset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The whole hotel seemed very quiet to us, even though we were right in the centre of Wells.”
 of 5 bubbles barrym474, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Overlooking the square is good apart from the market setting up very early saturday morning...but ear plugs are provided which helped alot.”
 of 5 bubbles TracyP223, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Never stayed in rooms so unable to comment.”
 of 5 bubbles karen1904, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back will offer the best sleep”
 of 5 bubbles Investigatorgreat3, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“This is a hotel with a large modern restaurant in the city centre.”
 of 5 bubbles MLFDPF, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5