We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Luttrell Arms

Booking.comUSD 162*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Luttrell Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

648 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Luttrell Arms
See the most recent reviews
Showing 642: English reviews
cowbridge
Reviewed 26 August 2016

We enjoyed our visit to the Luttrell Arms. The breakfast was probably one of the best we have had for some years on our travels. Fresh fruit and a wide selection of cooked dishes to choose from. The portions were generous and the staff very attentive and helpful. We had superior rooms which were comfortable although noise of a kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank guyfm
Poole
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Went here on recommendation from the National Trust staff. We walked in and all seemed fine, we found a suitable table and began to look at the menu. It stated there were a number of specials so we asked for a specials menu to which I was informed quite rudely that it was being printed. I accepted this but as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pjpolden
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review

I am really sorry to read your review and comments about both the welcome and offering at The Luttrell Arms. We pride ourselves on our customer service and our food, whether it be the bar food or in Psalter's restaurant. I can't apologise enough for the way you were greeted; I hope that you can see from our other reviews...

melksham, england
Reviewed 24 August 2016

I've been to the Luttrell many times. It's character on a stick. Old, quirky, mysterious, charming. If you don't like this place there's no point going to Dunster at all. In fact, it would be better if you didn't, it's crowded enough already.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stevehardy
Arundel, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We had not planned to stay here ,however,our circumstances led us to this wonderful hotel. We had three dogs with us and we were given a superior room (32) next to the garden; ideal for comfort breaks for the dogs. From the reception,bar,housekeeping and management staff every one of them were so helpful and were very considerate. We had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, it was a pleasure to look after you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We planned to stay one night here but decided to stay another as we really liked it. The room was nice as was the food and the hotel had a lovely ambience about it. It's a modernised hotel but had the charm of medieval period features, the wooden wall in the upper garden/seating area is a must see. There's also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stu_789
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor, we really appreciate your kind words. We hope that you will visit us again or consider one of our historic and individual sister hotels in Devon (the Royal Castle Dartmouth or The Royal Seven Stars, Totnes) where you will also be assured a warm welcome! Take care!

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

An excellent hotel in this beautiful village. All the staff were brilliant. They are having some building work done at the side of the hotel but it's not a problem . The only slight issue is that they could do with a dress code for for the bar.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dean S
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review, it is much appreciated. With regard to a dress code we haven't had the need to have one; however in the summer I can accept that we probably need to ensure that everyone is appropriately clothed and not topless or without shoes. I hope this will not deter you from returning to The Luttrell...

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

After visiting the castle, (very hilly) we had worked up an appetite for quite a large lunch! So decided to go into the Luttrell Arms and we're glad we did! Upon walking in, it's a bit confusing where to sit but the helpful receptionist pointed us in the direction of the restaurant (table service) or the bar. We decided to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor316
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Next time you visit if you'd rather have skinny fries with your steak (or fish) please don't hesitate to ask, it won't be a problem. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back again soon!

Reviewed 17 August 2016

We stayed at the Luttrell Arms at the end of juli. Sadly two rainy days in Dunster but the charm and ambience of the hotel provided us with a great local experience. The location At the heart of Dunster, just across from the medieval town market and a stones throw away from the lovely castle and gardens of the Luttrell...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bwwvanderpol
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that you will come and stay again soon or perhaps try our other sister hotel in beautiful Dartmouth (The Royal Castle Hotel, right on the quay in the centre of the town) We look forward to seeing you again soon.

London
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

Ok. I'm very torn here. It's a very beautiful hotel with bar which is very busy and popular. We popped in for lunch and wow the prices for a basic sandwich were rather high so obviously your expecting something absolutely fabulous. One ploughmans later... 9.00 a pop I'm still having a mild giggle at what can only be described as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bexy81
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback, we will most certainly look at the Ploughman's and ensure that we are offering good value and plenty of bread. I am sorry if you were disappointed. I hope that you will not be deterred and give us another chance next time you are passing. kind regards Becca

Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2016

Top class hotel in a great location. Service was terrific. Room clean and stylish. Lovely ambience throughout. Only "small" gripe was restaurant - Sunday roast below expectations on veg/potatoes and solid ice cream dessert albeit wife had excellent hake and delicious dessert. Apart from that excellent and will return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil D
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. We have taken on board your comments and have already addressed the Sunday roasts and the potatoes that sometimes aren't as fluffy as we'd like them to be and hope that we have nailed it this time! Please do come again and I hope you will see an improvement.

188 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (135)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
36.2 km away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
525 reviews
0.0 km away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
180 reviews
27.8 km away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
327 reviews
3.1 km away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
248 reviews
22.3 km away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Luttrell Arms is a 3 star, 28 room hotel. Set in the medieval village of Dunster with its many interesting buildings, under the shadow of the Castle and within the Exmoor National Park. The privately owned 14th century Luttrell Arms is surrounded by beautiful countryside making it the ideal destination for that weekend break or midweek getaway. Stroll around the village, walk the moor, or just sit by a log fire in a building where hospitality has been a way of life for hundreds of years. Heritage "If you could bottle the air in the bar at the Luttrell Arms and sell it you'd clean up" so wrote a local journalist. The smell of logs burning on the fire, a hint of hops from the pints of ale, add to this the smell of something aromatic being cooked in the kitchen, and the most essential element - the smell of history, it oozes out of the walls which have stood for 800 years. There are many outstanding architectural features, the medieval hall with its hammer beam roof (room 17) and twelve light window. History seeps out of the blackened frames, which had their glass rattled loose as Cromwell’s gunners laid siege to Dunster Castle from a defended strong point at the end of the garden. Cromwell’s Commander, Col. Robert Blake walked the corridors of the hotel, it was then called the Ship Inn and was used as his headquarters throughout the siege of the castle. Also of note is some very fine plasterwork on the ceiling of the lounge downstairs, and the plaster over mantle in room 12, showing Actaeon being devoured by hounds. The Arms of Luttrell that we use today carry us back to a Gentleman of 1261, the crest takes us only back to 1621, but the supporters are directly derived from one of the Barons who coerced King John into sealing Magna Carta. A more modern visitor is Hercule Poirot. In "The Cornish Mystery" he confronts the murderer in one of the hotel’s bedrooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Luttrell Arms

Address: 32-36 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Price Range: $167 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Luttrell Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Luttrell Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Luttrell Arms Hotel Dunster
Luttrell Arms Hotel Dunster
Luttrell Arms Dunster
The Luttrell Arms Dunster, Somerset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Luttrell Arms staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
10 months ago
Forest Row, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Forest Row, United Kingdom

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Luttrell Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Did not stay as we are local to the area.”
athollbakers, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Am sure that there are no "bad" rooms at this hotel!”
jamesdouglas2014, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 10 own patio area ont secret garden”
jacquifish6969, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All perfect”
deeannrob, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Personally I would always go for the 4 poster feature rooms as they are stunnigly beautiful”
TabbyWabby1, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 162* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUSD 162
Expedia.comUSD 162
Hotels.comUSD 162
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates