We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Hotel

Show Prices
#15 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,092 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,070: English reviews
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Firstly the hotel is lovely great location but we were really disappointed with the staff on reception. I was in a party of 4 we had booked through booking.com there lies the problem when we arrived we were told quite curtly that we couldn't use customer car park as we haven't reserved a space when we said we didn't realise...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kaz19892014
PatronHandR, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

As one of the owners of The Royal Hotel, I was very disappointed to read your review and have, therefore, personally investigated the issues you have raised. The member of staff on duty on reception on your arrival was quite correct in advising you that because of our limited car parking spaces they do have to be reserved in advance...

Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2015

On our arrival at the Royal Hotel we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who politely informed us that we couldn't check in until 14.30 but that we could store our bags until then. We used this time to explore the very beautiful city of bath. The hotel is very well placed to explore the city and right opposite...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Stuart M
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review following your stay with us. I regret that you found the room very hot, even with the radiators off and the windows open, which came as a surprise, albeit it has been very mild. I was also surprised that you did not find the bed as comfortable as you would have liked. We...

Reviewed 31 December 2015 via mobile

We arrived at 11.30 am and were warmly welcomed for our four night Christmas break, we being my husband and I and my sister who is disabled. We explained that we would like an early lunch as we were booked to see the pantomime in the afternoon, despite the restaurant Bing fully booked we were quickly seated and served. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janeymags
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for awarding us 5 stars and for taking the trouble to detail how much you enjoyed your stay with us at The Royal over Christmas. We are delighted that you, your husband and your sister had such a nice time and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon. Last but not least thank you also...

Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

Great location, opposite bus station and a shirt walk to the city centre. Building has a small but convenient lift. Twin room large and clean, view over city street. Meals in the bar was very nice, can recommend the burgers. Staff very friendly. Lots of options on the breakfast menu.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Em_Ninja
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review following your stay with us. I am grateful to you for your kind compliments regarding the quality of our food and our friendly staff and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Mike MacDermid General Manager

Haywards Heath, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

This Christmas break cannot be faulted in any way or form. From the booking to departing.! The staff were amazingly friendly and happy. The room clean and comfortable. The food was amazing and the Chefs shouldn't be forgotten behind the scenes. We both had a fab break and would not hesitate to stay again (which I'm sure we will). Exceptional...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ian T
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for awarding us 5 stars following your stay with us over the Christmas holidays. I am very grateful for your very complimentary review and, in particular, your compliments about our staff both front of house and kitchen and I have been delighted to post a copy of your review on our staff notice board so all of our...

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2015

We were very well looked after, the staff were very friendly and helpful, everything about the room was great, big comfortable bed, great bathroom facilities plenty of tea coffee biscuits, food wonderful and quick service. the hotel is close to the shops and opposite the station customer service excellent most enjoyable Christmas they couldn't had done anymore to make our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hilary B
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for awarding us 5 stars and for highlighting some of the benefits of staying at The Royal I am delighted that we helped make your Christmas so enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you again soon Mike MacDermid General Manager

Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 December 2015

The 4 poster bed was incredible -even had a little step so you could get in! All the staff were so great, from the minute we checked in they all made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was lovely and we can't wait to go back!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Miki M
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for awarding us 5 stars following your stay with us in October. I am delighted that you enjoyed one of our four poster bedrooms and a particular thank you for your compliments about our lovely staff. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion. Mike MacDermid General Manager

Bucks, England
Reviewed 19 December 2015 via mobile

This was my 3rd stay at this hotel. I've always enjoyed the close proximity to Bath central and the great breakfast choice and stay here to go to the Xmas market. However the customer service is really quite flat and flakey. The gentleman on reception had no personality whatsoever. He didn't even give me eye contact when we were checking...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lawbird72
PatronHandR, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

I am replying to this review as one of the owners of The Royal Hotel. I was very disappointed to read your review, especially as you have stayed with us on two previous occasions, which you have always enjoyed. I note that your disappointment on this occasion was due entirely to the behaviour of one of our receptionists when you...

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2015

Staff really friendly and helpful. Room comfy with nice big bed. Shower good. Hotel central to City Centre and within walking distance of all shops. Had a wonderful time and really enjoyed my stay. Breakfast will set you up for the day. You will not be disappointed with The Royal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharon m
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for awarding us 5 stars following your stay with us. Thank you also for recommending us to others. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion. Mike MacDermid General Manager

berkshire
Reviewed 17 December 2015 via mobile

Arrived early on Friday afternoon and a very helpful member of staff took our luggage to store until our room was ready. Had a nice lunch in bar and a quick look around town. On returning was shown to a very comfortable room overlooking the station which was more than adequate for my daughter and myself. We enjoyed the breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nannysue
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for awarding us 5 stars following your visit to our lovely hotel. Thank you also for highlighting some of the aspects of your stay which you enjoyed and in particular our award winning breakfast. It is a pity that you were unable to get a table for dinner as we were so busy but...

379 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (185)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Other (76)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (176)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (14)
Viewed
Family Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Standard Room with Canopy Bed (24)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (21)
Viewed
Superior Double Room with Street View (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)
Viewed
Twin Room (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 34 in Bath
1,315 reviews
1.2 km away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.8 km away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,185 reviews
1.1 km away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Brasserie Brunel
Brasserie Brunel
Cuisines: British, French, European, Grill
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Price Range: $200 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bath
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Victoria
5 months ago
Brighton, England
4 months ago
London, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Cleveland, Ohio

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For better sleep quality, the higher floors are quieter, away from A/C noise and city traffic”
 of 5 bubbles RayN976, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“clean and comfy bed”
 of 5 bubbles easterrosbuscato, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room was in the back and very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles metsfan82017, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room at the back would be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Jan17a, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Hotel quite noisy - but it is in the Centre of town next to a railway station!!! So rooms at the rear are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles wilemad, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5