We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Windsor

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Windsor
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

723 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 702: English reviews
Start your review of The Windsor
 Click to rate
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

On a cold, wet day it was a joy to come back to the enveloping warmth of the Windsor Guest House. This lovely Georgian townhouse is well-positioned for taking in the sights of Bath. Our room was spacious, immaculate and stylish with generous supplies of toiletries and tea/coffee-making facilities. The buffet continental breakfast was more than adequate with a large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RoDavRoving
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This is really just a extremely expensive B&B. We booked a room for three and got a double room with a very uncomfortable sofa bed which when set up made the room quite cramped. It says in the details that there is parking but don't mention until the day before the booking that you need to buy a permit (for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline4658
Didcot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location was great, but the hotel is dated and a bit shabby - also there are not the usual extras you would expect from a 5* hotel - no robes, no water in our rooms, not even any flannels in the bathroom. Disappointed to find cooked breakfast was not included in the £255 a night rate either. Not quite...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sheffle
TheWindsor, General Manager at The Windsor, responded to this review

Your colleague has left a similar review, please note we are not a 5 star Hotel but a top end Guesthouse. Our prices are competitive and often significantly cheaper than other establishments of a similar standard. Rooms in a 5 star Hotel in the centre of Bath would sell at £500-£600 per night on Saturday, making our £180-£255 really good...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My Fiancée booked this for my birthday as a city trip away. Advertised as 5*. The room was a superior room, Victoria, and the room was quite small and the bathroom dated and in need of redecoration. On arrival the receptionist was great and kept our bags as we were early and took them to the room while we were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kevin S
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed on a Saturday night and for the price (£245) and 5* rating we expected luxury. We absolutely did not get it, firstly it is quite shabby which is fine for a 3* but certainly not for the price. There was no water available in the rooms (apart from tap water) no glasses to drink it from and only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rachel R
TheWindsor, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review

We take on board your comments which i'd like to address. The mattresses are of a medium firmness in order to cater for the majority. If you, like me prefer a firm mattress it would be beneficial to check this before booking. Water glasses are provided in all rooms, they are on the hostess trays with the tea/coffee cups. Bottled...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I visited Bath and The Windsor last weekend with three friends to celebrate a special birthday - what a great weekend we had. Bath is beautiful and has a fantastic range of shops, both high street and one-off. We ate at Sotto Sotto which is lovely and atmospheric, and serves delicious food. As well as the great food, the highlight...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoDeanZak
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Didn't think we'd find such a homely and welcoming place at the centre of Bath for such a reasonable cost but we (almost) did. The building itself is typical of Bath, Georgian, and elegant. The staff welcoming and parking permits made arrival easy. The room was a twin on the first floor. It was large and had all we needed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nadine R
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you want a period guest house with friendly staff this is for you, but if you're after a hotel with all the facilities then your going to be disappointed, the problem is the price they charge you expect so much more. The rooms are so close together you can hear other guests, no lift no gym pool it goes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wow what can I say! we loved our stay at The Windsor. The location was perfect 5 mins out of the town center & a lovely walk in over Pulteney Bridge. The staff were lovely & couldn't do enough for us & they were really welcoming to my little boy. We stayed in the deluxe garden room which had its...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beas006
Vass, North Carolina, United States
Reviewed 18 January 2017

The location was perfect; right down the road from the Baths, Abbey, and major shopping. The building itself has gorgeous period details and furnishings. The room was large enough for the four of us and had lots of light though it was below street level. And, it had shutters to black out the light when needed for my toddlers nap....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tlnorrod

145 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (131)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 34 in Bath
1,292 reviews
0.6 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 km away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
No.15 Great Pulteney
No.15 Great Pulteney
#8 of 34 in Bath
73 reviews
0.1 km away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#41 of 192 in Bath
264 reviews
0.1 km away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#15 of 192 in Bath
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Location, Location, Location. The Windsor, a truly superb Grade 1 listed Georgian Townhouse on Great Pulteney Street, arguably one of the best streets in Bath and one of the finest boulevards in Europe.Just two minutes level walk to the city centre and tourist attractions such as the famous Roman Baths, Abbey and Thermae Spa. Two minutes to the huge variety of shops and diverse range of restaurants Bath has to offer, we are the perfect choice for both leisure and business guests.The Windsor houses 15 individually styled ensuite bedrooms. Period features, free wifi, air conditioning, flatscreen TV, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, mini safe and ironing board come as standard. The addition of thick soft fluffy towels, cosy dorma duvets, pillows and luxury Gilchrist and Soames toiletries complete tha package and add to the guest experience. Acclaimed for our warm and friendly staff, we are always ready with a smile and happy to help with anything from restaurant suggestions to planning your onward journey. We pride ourselves in our customer service and along with our award winning breakfasts, our aim is to send you home with a desire to return. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Windsor

Address: 69 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Price Range: $143 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windsor Hotel Bath
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Windsor staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Windsor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No elevator. Even below street level rooms are sunny, but they have shutters.”
 of 5 bubbles tlnorrod, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“AIO Sardinian restaurant in George St excellent”
 of 5 bubbles pmjwilliams, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Basement rooms very dark and too hot ! Cannot open windows”
 of 5 bubbles penelopeOxford, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We were on 2nd floor front. Sash windows open so you can dump the escess heat”
 of 5 bubbles MajorMitchell, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask if you like a bath - not all rooms have one. Our room was under the kitchen so we heard early breakfast preparation.”
 of 5 bubbles AHabergham, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5