We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dukes Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Dukes Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,175: English reviews
Start your review of Dukes Hotel
 Click to rate
lancaster
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for a short break to meet up with friends and wished we could have stayed longer. Lovely owners and their staff provide excellent service from the spacious and comfortable rooms to the delicious breakfast. Theres a pretty walled courtyard garden which would be lovely in good weather (unfortunately we wern't so lucky ! ) Excellent position being no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bridesmum_11
Ditchling
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

From the moment we stepped into Dukes, we were cared for and welcomed, in a non intrusive way. There were a million kind and generous things, like a temp. parking permit, fresh Madlines for breakfast, a friendly 'goodnight', a small morning chat at the breakfast tabel, a few chocolates in a bag for our journey homewards. The building is an...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jolany
About Hotel's Favourite Review
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review

A great benefit of living in Holland is that you have the opportunity to enjoy a wonderful home country and delight in visiting the wonders of Bath!! Thank you. With the World Heritage City of Bath as our backdrop we look to enhance the stay of each of our guests. We encourage guests to feel as though they are visiting...

Rainham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I have just had a wonderful three night stay in Dukes Hotel (Bath) which is no longer a hotel but run as a guest house. We had Superior Double room which was lovely, good comfortable furnishings, very comfy king size bed with crisp white cotton sheets and pillows. Spotlessly clean throughout, our room was well serviced every...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Qualityman-one
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you. We do not seek to be the cheapest !! We seek to offer all our guest a wonderful experience and probably the ‘best inclusive proposition’ in Bath. We offer our guests a choice of 17 unique rooms ranging from ‘cosy’ through to ‘wow four posters’. All guests enjoy complimentary parking, complimentary ‘cooked to order’ breakfast along with an...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Dukes Hotel in Bath is what other hotels should aspire to be. We were warmly welcomed by the staff and shown to our room, a small courtesy that means alot and one that most big hotel chains have forgotten. Each time we left the hotel or returned the staff endevoured to ensure our stay in Bath was going amazingly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joshua P
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review

Gosh – thank you!! With our team we share a tremendous pride and recognise our privilege in operating with Bath as a backdrop. With the majesty of Great Pulteney Street on our door step and all the fabulous architecture and attractions that Bath has on offer we feel our role is simply to enhance the experience of each guest who...

Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were very impressed with the service, from the moment we walked in to when we checked out. All of the staff were friendly and efficient. We stayed in a room on the top floor which was very spacious, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was very good as well, and set one up for the day, and the complementary parking rounded...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheDovecot
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a generous review. As you note we offer 17 unique rooms across a number of floors though due to our Grade 1 listed status we are precluded from introducing a lift. I am pleased that your ascent of the balustrade Georgian stairs, as has been the norm, for the past 225 years...

East Budleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in March - it proved to be a perfect choice for a short break in Bath. Housed in a classic Georgian house on beautiful Great Poultry Street just minutes from the city centre. Rooms are very clean, comfortable and quiet, and furnished in traditional style. We were very satisfied with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amsburian
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review

Delighted to read that you ‘parked up outside’ and were able to enjoy freedom to roam the City on foot for three days – and at no charge !!. We benefit from a superb location, a level five-minute walk from the heart of the City. Away from the disturbance of late night revellers though an easy and majestic stroll along...

Blackwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for three nights. The hotel is very conveniently located close to Bath city centre. Rooms are large and comfortable. The breakfast is excellent and prepared to order. Staff are particularly helpful and friendly. Wifi in the rooms works well. There are a few slight drawbacks - we were on the top floor and there are no lifts. Also,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review

As with most cities, all hotels in Bath have restricted parking, where available it is usually charged at £15 – £25 per day. We have access to over 625 kerb side parking bays and offer a complimentary parking permit. As you note parking on occasions may require a little patience however on balance our guests frequently park up with ease...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Dukes Bath Hotel is very service-oriented, as many English B&B-style places are. We were there 3 nights and delighted with the included breakfast, the staff that aim to please, the room size, comfort, and cleanliness. Price was pretty reasonable for the area at 100 pounds / night. Convenient 5-10 minute walk to center of Bath. Wi-Fi was very good/fast....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dougwcooper
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you. As you note your room rate was very competitive. With consideration to the ‘parking saving’ of £15-£20 per day and the complimentary breakfast at £15 per head that one would be charged at comparable establishments; ‘your room charge’ was probably close to £60. A rate that one would be unlikely to secure even at the very competitively priced...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having arrived at 9am to leave our luggage we were greeted with a lovely smile from staff at hotel reception, then pleasantly surprised to know that our room was ready for us. We were helped to our room with our luggage which was apppreciated as we were close to the top floor. Staff were very polite and courteous from beginnning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DAWN M
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing such a complimentary and informative review. As a team, we feel immensely proud of Bath and share a simple wish to enhance the visit of every guest. We enjoy a superb location, a mere 5-minute level walk from the heart of the City. As owners, our intention is to avoid the irritation and frustration of ‘add...

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for one night. The building is charming, the welcome from the staff warm and the standards of cleanliness excellent. The room was large, bed comfortable and the breakfast options and quality really was excellent. Some lovely touches from the staff; little complimentary cake at breakfast, Buck's Fizz etc. Checking out was easy and no opportunity to confirm that the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SpursHotspur80
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review

We strive to offer excellent ‘value for money’ with an ‘inclusive’ hassle free proposition for each of our guests. With municipal parking at £15-20 per day, a complimentary breakfast that would cost you £15-£20 per head at comparable properties within Bath; we are confident that guests would pay £45-£65 per night more at other establishments. As you note we make...

247 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (211)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
3.0 km away
Apsley House Hotel
0.7 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 km away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 34 in Bath
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
1,312 reviews
0.5 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
1,317 reviews
2.2 km away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dukes stands on Great Pulteney Street - one of the finest boulevards in the Heritage City of Bath. Built over 200 years ago, Dukes comprises of two very generously proportioned town houses and has been engaged as a hotel and guest house for over 100 years. Whether it is the high ceilings, sash windows or hand crafted Sanitan bathroom suites, each of our rooms uniquely reflects on an era of craftsmanship, Georgian elegance and charm. Being less than a 10 minute flat walk to the centre, as a guest you can easily access all the attractions that Bath has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Address: 53-54 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Price Range: $151 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel Bath
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#5 Business Hotel in Bath
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dukes Hotel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
Pensacola, Florida
over a year ago
Treorchy, United Kingdom
Godalming, United Kingdom
9 months ago

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Dukes Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This is a very quiet location anyway... No lift and lots of stairs but always someone to help you if needed..”
 of 5 bubbles Qualityman-one, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The top floor rooms overlooking the side road are very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles TheDovecot, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book early and they will allocate you a room at time of booking.”
 of 5 bubbles Amsburian, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs was good if your legs can do it. If not, then choose ground floor, as there's no "lift".”
 of 5 bubbles dougwcooper, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Location, staff, food, value for money,”
 of 5 bubbles DAWNM816, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5