We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

737 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 716: English reviews
Start your review of The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
 Click to rate
Southampton
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Quality starts as soon as you arrive. Just double-park outside the entrance, staff come out straight away. Take care of luggage and valet-park the car. No worries about parking. All staff, throughout the hotel, are attentive and keen to make your stay enjoyable. We ate out in the evening, but had a lovely breakfast. Explored Bath and came back for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
Janice B, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and we are delighted with your comments. We hope you will return soon and look forward to your next visit.

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We (wife and I) stayed for just one night last week, having wanted to visit for years - just wish we'd come sooner! Absolutely beautiful, in every respect. Great room (one of the cheap ones, at the back, top floor - but - even so - still great!). Big comfy bed, nice bathroom, good quality toiletries. Service throughout the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David S
Janice B, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

We are delighted with your review and that you thoroughly enjoyed your time here. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Holt, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Made to feel very welcome the moment we walked in the door and handed the car keys over to be parked. The layout of the hotel was explained and we were shown to our room with a view over the Royal Crescent and the park, Room was well appointed and the bed comfortable. The garden behind the hotel is almost...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richard g
Janice B, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are delighted with your comments which we will pass on to all the team. We hope you will return and look forward to your next visit.

London
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The staff are pretty much what you are paying for here. They are so helpful and attentive, making the stay so special. We got a complementary room upgrade, which was just beautiful, and really big. The garden out the back with its hidden away restaurant and spa is out of this world. The pool is crystal clear, jacuzzi is gorgeous,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank js0754
Janice B, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your time here. We hope you will return and look forward to your next visit.

London
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent hotel but better for couples than families as pool closed to children under 12 ! They should allocate time slots and make this clearer as online agents didn't mention this! I can understand them not using the spa facilities but most hotels allow children to swim at allocated times and this spoiled our holiday a bit as the kids...

Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 574freyar
Janice B, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. All guests are advised at the time of booking that our spa is not suitable for children under 12 years old. The temperature of the pool is far too warm, being a relaxation pool at 32 degrees . We very much regret your disappointment and do hope that you enjoyed your stay overall. We hope...

Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I booked the Royal crescent as a Christmas gift for each other and stayed there in between Christmas and the New Year. We have visited Bath many times and always walk up to the Royal Crescent and admire the amazing architecture. We booked a deluxe suite, but were delighted to be upgraded to one of the master...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen o
Janice B, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We will share you comments with all the team and are truly delighted that you had such a great time with us. We hope you will return soon and look forward to welcoming you back.

Farnborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my first trip to Bath and I always wanted to stay at the Royal Crescent, not the cheapest hotel but we were not disappointed. The staff were great, the room lovely with one of the biggest bathrooms I've come across and breakfast was excellent. I've only one minor complaint, the king size bed was lovely and wide but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob_and_Sharon
Janice B, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Our beds vary according to the category and size of the room and we can certainly advise you of the different options. We hope you will return in the near future.

England
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Royal Crescent Hotel is stunning in location, architecture, luxury, service and staff. We so enjoyed our visit after Christmas - where nothing was too much trouble. Great service, polite without being obsequious, luxurious but not decadent. Family joined us for lunch one day - what a treat - in the restaurant overlooking the garden. The food was just right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rose1111
Janice B, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your time here. We hope you will return and look forward to welcoming you back.

West Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here in between Christmas and New Year and booked the deal the hotel were offering for that period, to include afternoon tea and a massage at the spa within the room rate. The room was beautiful, the staff are also all very attentive. Only small criticism was that, unfortunately, (maybe due to the timing of between Christmas and New...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo P
Janice B, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review regarding your stay some time ago. We have a menu which is very much governed by the quality and seasonality of any food we offer and subsequently is subject to change. We apologise if you were disappointed in any way but are pleased you seem to have enjoyed your time with us overall. We hope...

Plymouth
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed here many times before and the RCH remains one of our favourite places to book. Great room, lovely food, top class service; all in one of Bath's best location! We arrive, they take our car away, we relax for a couple of days and enjoy Bath.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BruceBrunning
Janice B, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much and we are delighted that you choose to return over and over again. We very much value your comments and look forward to your next visit.

761 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (369)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (223)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (323)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Classic Room (24)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Purple Room with Loveseat (24)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (23)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room with Fireplace (23)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room with Loveseat (28)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite (41)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite with Balcony (32)
Viewed
Jane Austen Suite with Garden Access (36)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.6 km away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
1.9 km away
Apsley House Hotel
0.6 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Bath Priory Hotel
0.4 km away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#8 of 34 in Bath
1,296 reviews
1.2 km away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#7 of 34 in Bath
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Crescent Hotel is the most impressively located luxury hotel in the World Heritage City of Bath, occupying the two central buildings of the world's finest crescent. The Grade I listed buildings were designed by the famous Georgian Architect, John Wood the Younger and were first occupied in 1775.Beyond its magnificent facade lies a hotel renowned for its charm, elegance and superb service, and, the unexpected beauty of the beautiful one-acre, landscaped garden leading to the skillfully converted coach houses, which now accommodate the award-winning Dower House restaurant and The Spa.This iconic hotel is far more than a remarkable collection of buildings and beautiful gardens. It offers the opportunity to experience a style of gracious living from the age when Bath was the very centre of the civilized world.Breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner are served daily and non-resident guests are welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa

Address: 16 Royal Crescent, Bath BA1 2LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Price Range: $391 - $980 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Crescent Bath
Hotel Royal Crescent
Royal Crescent Hotel Bath
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bath
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#3 Business Hotel in Bath
#6 Family Hotel in Bath
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't be put off if you have a room at the back. The garden view is good.”
 of 5 bubbles fullbrook2014, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“First and second floor rooms at the front look massive!”
 of 5 bubbles P2777JDdavids, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“A view overlooking the Royal Crescent”
 of 5 bubbles richardg825, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Master suites in the main building have views of the crescent and the gardens.”
 of 5 bubbles 550heleno, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Have the continental breakfast”
 of 5 bubbles 8hours, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5