We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Reading Lake Hotel

Orbitz.comUSD 74*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 146*
USD 74*
USD 146*
USD 74*
USD 76*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
The Reading Lake Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

502 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Reading Lake Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 497: English reviews
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2013

It's hard to give a place like this a fair review, especially if you've read the previous ones on here. Some positive remarks- the staff were overall nice, the receptionists were pleasant and the lady who brought room service was nice too. The breakfast staff weren't quite as chipper but I coped. The lake outside the hotel is nice to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
Paul H, Manager at The Reading Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is pleasing to read that on the whole you found our staff to be nice. However we do take on board your comments that the hotel appeared dated and will be looking at improvements in the very near future. I will also look into your comments regarding wifi as...

Leeds
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I have never given a hotel just a terrible rating before. A double room at this hotel cost £105. As we walked into reception a huge spider hung from the ceiling and a musty smell greeted us. The hallways are dark and the brass plates on the room door handle are filthy - as was the room inside. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gomersal-08
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stay Somewhere else! It is simply HORRIBLE!!!! Spiders everywhere, not clean, poor plumbing system....(shower, sink, etc) Room disgusting! Eurk!!!! Food is horrible too. Seriously that hotel needs to be refurbish NOW!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EPQC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

On the outset this hotel has the makings to be a truly beautiful hotel, the building and location is just fantastic and the website certainly makes you feel that this will be a quality hotel. I would like to say at this stage that I have to stay away occasionally with work so I have seen it all when it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank The1missb
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Firstly - even before we arrived at the hotel - how odd that we had to follow signage for the hotels previous guise (The Copthorne) - why on earth would they not change the signs after all this time?? - on arrival greeted by very helpful and pleasant receptionist - but we were then handed the key to our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo H
Paul H, Manager at The Reading Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you were diappointed in your stay. We have had previous issues with cleanliness and attention to detail in our rooms however we now putting in processes to address these as quickly as possible. We have noted your comments regarding the restaurant and and agree that our customers should have been made aware...

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Well wish I'd paid more attention to these reviews before I booked might not have been so disappointed. In no way is this a 4*Hotel. The location is excellent and the views from the rooms fantastic all rooms have a lake view and balcony however there is no table and chairs on the balcony. Due to the remoteness on our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rachelmfp
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My sister and I stayed there for the reading festival, not only after a 3 hour drive did we have to wait for a 30 min check in, when we got in the room there was a suspicious sock behind the curtain but we also had the delight of a horrendous skiddy toilet. Although we had a beautiful view, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rebkah w
Paul H, Manager at The Reading Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback I am sorry that you had to wait 30 minutes to check in . During the Reading festival the majority of our guests arrived between 11am & 1pm to check in although our normal check-in time is later in the day. The vast majority of guests we were able to check-in immediately, however as our...

Godstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The best thing I can say about this hotel is the location and website!! How this can be a 4* hotel I do not know. We stayed at a Premier Inn the week before and the service, rooms and facilities were superior in everyway. The Hotel was full due to a triathlon taking place but I can honestly say there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yasmin H
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We booked a night through Groupon and then read the reviews on here. We were then expecting the worst!!! The hotel setting is beautiful on the lake. We agree with some of the reviews, such as dirty windows and cobwebs. Our room was clean and had everything we needed, such as iron, hairdryer, fridge, tv, safe, comfy bed. We ate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Booked this hotel as part of a Groupon offer but after reading all the reviews was really worried abut what it would be like. However, we found the staff polite, friendly and very helpful. Yes there were some spiders in our room in the curtains where the balcony doors had been opened, but all we did was ask housekeeping to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cplepage

233 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (217)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
2.1 km away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,759 reviews
3.3 km away
Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel
1.5 km away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,228 reviews
3.8 km away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 31 in Reading
931 reviews
2.5 km away
Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about The Reading Lake Hotel

Address: Pingewood, Reading RG30 3UN, England (Formerly Copthorne Hotel Reading)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Price Range: $95 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reading Lake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Reading Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reading Copthorne Hotel
Copthorne Reading
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Reading
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Reading Lake Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“dont stop at hotel find another one”
599barryd, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“A shed in the garden?”
Simmosworld83, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The room was at a very poor standard . Wi FI nit available in the room . The door base was moulded and cold air was blowing in the room.”
  • Screws around the walls
  • Humidity on the walls room very cold
  • Bad condition
  • Humidity on the walls no central heating
  • Holes on the door
  • Very poor interior , this us not a hotel
  • Lights were unserviceable
frixoseleftheriou, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Lake view rooms have the best views and less noise from M4”
nick1of2, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“rooms 217 218 good views.”
624stewartg, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
USD 74* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 74
PricelineUSD 76
AMOMAUSD 146
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates