We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Crescent Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Crescent Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 97: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Booked this hotel in an error so decided to bear with it entered the room and it was a bad start floor board are moving, toilet flush not working beds are moving apart. Quilt and pillows stinks like hell. The people upstairs were jumping all night could not sleep there was no staff to complaint about. Then when went for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abhishek-13
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed here when going on a night out with friends in Reading. The room cost me £50 and was easily worth that. The hotel is not fancy but the room was easily as quality as some of the travelodges I've stayed at. Sure I wouldn't take the girlfriend there, but you get what you pay for and for £50...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a very poorly run hotel! No hotel at all, more like a hostel! A total rip off, you pay a lot of money for the poor standard of rooms. There is no lounge or communal area such as a bar. I had to be at my training course nearby at 9am but breakfast wasn't ready until 8:30. the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kathrin F
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Having read what the majority of fellow reviewers here have been through at this hotel, I can only say I must have been one of the few relatively lucky ones. The entire building is shabby and run down and gives the thorough impression that the owners don't give a toss. And as at least one other person here has pointed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Courtenay R
Jaz121, Front Office Manager at Crescent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for feedback. It proves our point that if the hotel is on low ranking,Even you could not find any fault during your stay, you still need to give low score to follow the pattern. I am sure if you were staying in high rating hotel you must have given them 10 out of 10. So as per your...

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Me and My girlfriend arrived here ready to go to an event in Reading- but left here wanting to go home after feel dirty and worried we had been bitten by dust mites after the state of a dirty/moldy room they call a hotel room. We paid half cash and half direct debit- he gave us the keys – we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlott81
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Actually stayed July 2015 but only just managed to catch up.... Booked 5 nights for business stay and was unable to find alternative accommodation at short notice so had to see it out (with carrier bag over pillow) and complained at check out. Hotel.com refused to publish my initial review so hopefully truth will be told on TripAdvisor.... As stated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank The_Inspector_0007
Dagenham
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed hear for 4 days for the reading festival. And o be honest reading the past reviews I was very worried but all that got forgotten when we turned up the owners were so lovely and helpfull made me feel comfortable the room as ok and bed very comfy breakfast was very nice everything we needed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jaime L
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Cannot believe the customer service! the key broke in the lock only for us to realise there was no chamber in the door, there was dust everywhere, wires in the bathroom, frames coming away from the door, and when we tried to get a refund he didnt want to give it... We got it eventually and booked a travelodge!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terri R
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2016

This is our 3rd year at the crescent and won't be the last.ali and Nermin the owners are the nicest and kind people you will ever meet. Cannot fault it. Bbq night and boat trip they arrange are a must. All rooms are lovely. Beautiful gardens and pool.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 77kimberly
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

Worst hotel I have stayed in for a long time! Complete rip off room was very dated and the outside and inside is in desperate need of a re-vamp! Do not stay in this hotel !!! Oh and for the record, I did not eat here for reasons that are self explanatory on the visit!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dean H

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.6 km away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#16 of 32 in Reading
900 reviews
1.1 km away
Quality Hotel Reading
Quality Hotel Reading
#26 of 32 in Reading
256 reviews
1.3 km away
Rainbows Lodge
Rainbows Lodge
#29 of 32 in Reading
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#14 of 32 in Reading
119 reviews
2.0 km away
Ibis Styles Reading Oxford Rd
0.6 km away
Bath Hotel
Bath Hotel
#28 of 32 in Reading
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Crescent Hotel

Address: 35 Coley Avenue, Reading RG1 6LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Price Range: $78 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Crescent Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Crescent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent Hotel Reading
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Crescent Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles CourtenayR_12, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else...?”
 of 5 bubbles pastymuncher, 11 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Hard to advise best rooms as rooms are so close together.”
 of 5 bubbles nitap744, 20 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Don't go near this hotel, it's awful.”
  • Hairs in bed
 of 5 bubbles Galwaygirl91, 17 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Do not book this hotel”
  • Friend in the shower
 of 5 bubbles 352shaunj, 16 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay