We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crescent Hotel

Hotwire.comUSD 69*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 71*
USD 69*
USD 71*
USD 69*
USD 71*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Crescent Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

101 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 101: English reviews
Start your review of Crescent Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed for a business trip. The gentleman on the front desk was welcoming and the room was a good size. Bathroom slightly on the small side but that's what you expect. Walked to the oracle by the river for dinner, lovely 15 minute stroll along the water. Taxi back was only £5. Bed was really comfortable and clean. Walls...

Thank lucyg193
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Bathroom smelt like damp. Stains on the walls. The smell of a greasy fry up invaded my room early in the morning. Plastic cutlery in room. Dirty kettle provided. Hotel needs a good clean & refurb. Staff were friendly as a plus but I would not recommend hotel. Parking is free, which is another plus. No bar on site. Could...

Thank Simone B
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

Do not be fooled by the website . This is really a dirty and low rated hotel. As a lone female I didn't feel safe. The door locks were weak and my door was tried from outside a few times. The walls are so thin that you could hear everything in the rooms around so no sleep due to snoring,...

1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Dirty hotel, dirty rooms, dirty bathroom, flannels not towels, old, tired looking. Looks nothing like it did in on booking.com. Update your pics, fix the mould and damp, make sure room are warm before you enter and not -1c and reduce your price £68 is bloody expensive for this hole (and to most that's cheap) Believe me you would rather...

1Thank Deev1
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

Booked this hotel in an error so decided to bear with it entered the room and it was a bad start floor board are moving, toilet flush not working beds are moving apart. Quilt and pillows stinks like hell. The people upstairs were jumping all night could not sleep there was no staff to complaint about. Then when went for...

1Thank abhishek-13
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

I stayed here when going on a night out with friends in Reading. The room cost me £50 and was easily worth that. The hotel is not fancy but the room was easily as quality as some of the travelodges I've stayed at. Sure I wouldn't take the girlfriend there, but you get what you pay for and for £50...

Thank Ben H
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

This is a very poorly run hotel! No hotel at all, more like a hostel! A total rip off, you pay a lot of money for the poor standard of rooms. There is no lounge or communal area such as a bar. I had to be at my training course nearby at 9am but breakfast wasn't ready until 8:30. the...

2Thank Kathrin F
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Having read what the majority of fellow reviewers here have been through at this hotel, I can only say I must have been one of the few relatively lucky ones. The entire building is shabby and run down and gives the thorough impression that the owners don't give a toss. And as at least one other person here has pointed...

1Thank Courtenay R
Jaz121, Front Office Manager at Crescent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for feedback. It proves our point that if the hotel is on low ranking,Even you could not find any fault during your stay, you still need to give low score to follow the pattern. I am sure if you were staying in high rating hotel you must have given them 10 out of 10. So as per your...

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Me and My girlfriend arrived here ready to go to an event in Reading- but left here wanting to go home after feel dirty and worried we had been bitten by dust mites after the state of a dirty/moldy room they call a hotel room. We paid half cash and half direct debit- he gave us the keys – we...

1Thank Charlott81
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Actually stayed July 2015 but only just managed to catch up.... Booked 5 nights for business stay and was unable to find alternative accommodation at short notice so had to see it out (with carrier bag over pillow) and complained at check out. Hotel.com refused to publish my initial review so hopefully truth will be told on TripAdvisor.... As stated...

1Thank The_Inspector_0007

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (66)
Room/Suite (32)
Bathroom (6)
Other (28)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.6 km away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 31 in Reading
931 reviews
0.9 km away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#14 of 31 in Reading
125 reviews
0.7 km away
Bath Hotel
Bath Hotel
#28 of 31 in Reading
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
964 reviews
2.0 km away
Ibis Styles Reading Oxford Rd
1.6 km away
Rainbows Lodge
Rainbows Lodge
#25 of 31 in Reading
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Crescent Hotel

Address: 35 Coley Avenue, Reading RG1 6LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Price Range: $75 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Crescent Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Crescent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent Hotel Reading
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Crescent Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here!!!!”
Deev1, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go somewhere else.”
CourtenayR_12, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else...?”
pastymuncher, 11 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Hard to advise best rooms as rooms are so close together.”
nitap744, 20 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Don't go near this hotel, it's awful.”
  • Hairs in bed
Galwaygirl91, 17 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
USD 69* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 69
Booking.comUSD 71
Expedia.comUSD 69
View all 7 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates