We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Travelodge Reading Central

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Travelodge Reading Central
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 56: English reviews
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Noisy, cold. No way to contact reception. This was a very disappointing trip. I would certainly not recommend. As a single female I felt unsafe. There was a great deal of disturbance at 3 in the morning and I couldn't contact anyone to sort it out.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Reading Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are truly sorry to learn of the experience you have had whilst staying with us. We would kindly ask you contact one of our Customer Services Advisors via our website help form to look into this more thoroughly. Thank you again for reviewing our hotel.

Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here over the Xmas period and had used the location before with great success with the train as it is near to the station. This time it was the car but the car park nearby is excellent and good value.......£ 10 for 24 hours with special discount from Travelodge ! The room was fine even though it was...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken w
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Reading Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We aim to provide an enjoyable stay to all of our guests so it’s great that you found us to be good value for money and that you were happy with the location of the hotel. We will be sure to pass your feedback onto the hotel team and we hope to see you again...

Swansea County, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The parking in an external carpark cost me £21 overnight. We paid extra for an early check in were told the room was ready after checking with the cleaning staff. After beeing in the room for five minutes my fiancee decided to use the bathroom (it was after a four hour drive) only to be confronted by a member of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason A
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rating is perfect as the hotel is exactly what you pay for; average so no real complaints or exceptional praises really. The heater was on in the room when we arrived but was a little too hot and when we turned it down, it seemed to turn off completely. There was however, tea/coffee available in the room and use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charli D
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social media Team at Travelodge Reading Central, responded to this review

Many thanks for submitting your review. We understand that your overall experience was not to the exceptional standard we strive for and we do apologise for this. We can assure you we will be passing on your valuable feedback directly to our colleagues in our hotel to enable us to improve the service we offer. Thank you again for your...

Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 December 2016

You get what you pay for. Nothing fancy by any degree, but it was convenient, clean & comfortable. There was a problem with the plumbing when I arrived so I couldn't have a shower before my evening event but it was resolved by the next morning.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank brendzkt
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Reading Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We’re pleased that you found your room to be clean and comfortable during your stay. We are sorry to learn that there were problems with plumbing but we are pleased that this was resolved quickly. We will be sure to pass your comments on and we hope to have the chance to welcome you again...

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

Visited this Travelodge on a trip to Reading with family. Very average all across everything. Beds were hard and pillows were so over stuffed, you'd overstretch your neck in your sleep if you weren't careful. Noise was a slight problem and I needed earplugs to get some sleep. Even though this Travelodge is walking distance to the town centre it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WestMidlandsReviewer
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

Obviously you do not expect much from a Travelodge but unfortunately this hotel is below the bar (and starting to dig). The bed was so uncomfortable with the pillows and sheets made of plastic. One of the worst nights sleep ever. And the corridor carpet was dirty. I will say the front of house staff were nice and friendly. Look,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam O
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Reading Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are truly sorry to learn of the experience you have had whilst staying with us. We would kindly ask you contact one of our Customer Services Advisors via our website help form to look into this more thoroughly. Thank you again for reviewing our hotel.

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Had to go and buy some pillows just to get a decent sleep,bed was rock hard, lift areas stank of sick, hotels right next to busy roads that makes news 24/7 not to mention the hen parties that rocked in every night at 4am all unable to enter there rooms without screaming the place down. It's a very central location...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven R
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Reading Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are really sorry to hear of your experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies and we have passed your comments onto the hotel manager as this does not reflect Travelodge standards. Could we kindly ask you to contact one of our Customer Services Advisors via our website help form with your review to look into...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed in a family room, plenty of space, everything in good working order and cleaned each day. No restaurant, but a very good selection nearby, breakfast can be booked but is a choice of box meals. Reception staff helpful and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Des F
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Reading Central, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our Reading Central Travelodge. We are so pleased to learn that during your stay your room was clean. We're happy to note that our hotel team were friendly and helpful throughout your stay and we will be sure to pass your positive comments back to...

surabaya
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Stayed one night in the centre of reading ,restaurants and pubs nearby. With cheap overnight parking,£3.50, in broadmead car park. Hotel has all you need and we were impressed with reception staff Camille Fernandez who went out of his way to fulfil all our demands,extra bedding, extra coffees, a bath, hair dryer. Room was on the quiet side of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debi s

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.4 km away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 32 in Reading
902 reviews
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
0.4 km away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Travelodge Reading Whitley
Travelodge Reading Whitley
#20 of 32 in Reading
96 reviews
0.6 km away
Quality Hotel Reading
Quality Hotel Reading
#26 of 32 in Reading
264 reviews
0.0 km away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#5 of 32 in Reading
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet

Additional Information about Travelodge Reading Central

Address: Oxthorn House, 60 Oxford Road, Reading RG1 7LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Price Range: $73 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Reading Central 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Reading Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Reading Central Hotel Reading
Travel Lodge Reading
Reading Travel Lodge
Reading Travelodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Reading Central staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Morecambe, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Reading Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Fourth floor rooms are quiet. Ask for quiet side.”
 of 5 bubbles 101debis, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 302 and 303 were good”
 of 5 bubbles 246brendanw, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Dont choose one, dont go”
 of 5 bubbles MichaelB398, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Cheer yourself up at this drab hotel by doing some ironing”
 of 5 bubbles garylW5078HM, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you want a quiet room as for one before hand by calling the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles mdymusic1, 15 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay