We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Travelodge Reading Whitley

TravelodgeUSD 66*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Travelodge Reading Whitley
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

105 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Reading Whitley
See the most recent reviews
Showing 105: English reviews
Dovercourt, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Normally a good place to stay but standards are dropping. Quilt cover was torn, bathroom door did not close and the shower curtain was not a nice sight. Simple and cheap things to fix and I would have given a 5 star if they had been done

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kaypQ5828EV
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Reading Whitley, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Reading Whitley Travelodge. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we would like to apologise that your room was not cleaned to our usual high standard. We will be sure to pass your valuable comments to the hotel to ensure that the service we provide improves. May we thank you again for your...

Brecon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We spent two nights here after returning from a holiday in the USA. We chose this hotel to easily meets my brother and exchange Christmas Presents prior to Christmas. The best things about this hotel is that it shares a site with a well known carvery chain (This one called "The World Turned Upside Down"). We arrived very early after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spock_10
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Reading Whitley, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. We have passed on your feedback to...

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with wife and kids on a weekend visit to Reading. The room was clean and pleasant. We were at the far end of ground floor so no noise there. Our bathroom light was faulty so made a report to reception. They changed the bulb immediately. Great service there and many thanks. Good location. Short drive into town centre...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WestMidlandsReviewer
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Reading Whitley, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review. We’re so pleased to learn that you enjoyed the cleanliness and comfort of your room as much as you experienced great service from our team members as this is what we like to see. We will ensure the hotel team receives a copy of your feedback and we do hope to welcome you back...

Warrington
Reviewed 13 December 2016

I booked to stay 2 nights (6th & 7th December) as I was working at a new client site in Reading. I had also booked the 8th as a separate night. On arrival, I knew this wouldn't be a good start as I was handed keys for the room.... I can't remember the last time I had keys in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WarringtonBaz
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Reading Whitley, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are really sorry to hear of your experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies and we have passed your comments onto the hotel manager as this does not reflect Travelodge standards. Could we kindly ask you to contact one of our Customer Services Advisors via our website help form with your review to look into...

devon
Reviewed 12 December 2016

very clean hotel with friendly staff lots of parking and near to the town or a bus route into the city which ran very frequently. There is a crown carvery very near with excellent food and we didn't experience any noise from people there. Was an ideal location just off the M4 ideal as only a walk from the football...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank alpinealf
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Reading Whitley, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Reading Whitley Travelodge. We're so pleased to learn your stay was enhanced by the location of the hotel, furthermore we would like to sincerely thank you for sharing your positive experience with us. It is the utmost importance to us that our guests find our hotels to be in useful locations. We...

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Hotel is well-placed for what we needed for the weekend, with an OK pub/restaurant next door. But the rooms and bathrooms need redecorating. Lovely staff. Good value for money for Reading, Will be using the hotel again.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mrs Isabelle K
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Reading Whitley, responded to this review

Many thanks for bringing your review of our Reading Whitley Travelodge to our attention. We're pleased to learn your stay was great value and your room was clean. We aim to provide a comfortable stay for our guests, so we're happy to hear this has been achieved. Your feedback is invaluable and we thank you for taking the time to...

Reviewed 1 December 2016

This is a great place to stay after a hard days work, the staff are very helpful and polite. A big thank you to Daniel Mok and his great team, who always make my stay very enjoyable. I have already recommended this Travelodge to my friends and work colleagues.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank j g
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Reading Whitley, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. It’s really important to us that our staff provide a fantastic service to our customers and remain professional at all times so we are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the great service from our staff during your stay. Your comments will be passed on to our hotel colleagues to let them know of...

Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Good location & price, however desperately needs some renovation & money spent. The communal areas very very tired. The bathroom was thick with limescale. We had a family room, and although the king size bed was very comfy, the additional beds for the children were as hard as concrete - all members of the family nned to sleep well.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison T
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Reading Whitley, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear of your experience, in such instances we would suggest to let our reception team know so that they can reallocate your room or resolve the issues you have. In any case we would like to thank you for letting us know about your experience and apologise for your last stay...

West Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016

I travel a lot for business and use Travelodge frequently. I have to say the Travelodge at whitely is by far the worst I have ever stayed in. The room stank! The stench emanating from the filthy un hoovered carpet was very unpleasant forcing me to leave the window open for my entire stay ( not great for a women...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wmor2n
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Reading Whitley, responded to this review

Many thanks for submitting your review. We understand that your overall experience was not to the exceptional standard we strive for and we do apologise for this. We can assure you we will be passing on your valuable feedback directly to our colleagues in our hotel to enable us to improve the service we offer. Could we kindly ask you...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2016

We had a lovely stay but if you have an late check out,make sure you check with them and not the rude receptionist blonde and chubby girl but rooms were lovely and the room was quiet and the rest of the team was approachable and kind

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charleyy R
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Reading Whitley, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Reading Whitley Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear of your experience with the reception team and we would like to reassure you that your comments have been passed to the hotel manager to ensure all team members are retrained in Customer Care. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the service you received....

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.7 km away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 31 in Reading
931 reviews
0.7 km away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,758 reviews
1.0 km away
Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
3.1 km away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
964 reviews
2.5 km away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Travelodge Reading Whitley

Address: 387 Basingstoke Road | Whitley, Reading RG2 0JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Price Range: $85 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Reading Whitley 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Reading Whitley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Reading
Travel Lodge Reading
Reading Travel Lodge
Reading Travelodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Reading Whitley staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Workington, United Kingdom
9 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Reading Whitley staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the back are quieter.”
spock_10, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“In answer to the question: "Add a tip to help travellers choose a good room"..... my answer would be: book in somewhere else”
WarringtonBaz, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Great Food just opposite at world turned upside down pub”
264jg, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I got room 1 next to reception and front door and thought it might be noisy but it was fine. Really spacious and comfortable.”
579carolineg, 25 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Wifi is only 30 mins free”
998colink, 11 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelodge
USD 66* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates