We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

De Vere Oxford Thames

Traveller (495)
Room & Suite (212)
Dining (65)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
This stylish AA Four star Oxford hotel, is perfect for those wanting Oxford accommodation in a rural setting. Set on the river, in 30 acres of landscaped grounds, this Oxford hotel is just three miles from the city centre. The River Room Restaurant has an AA Rosette award for its food quality and choice.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Sauna
Tennis Court
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Romantic
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
1,448Reviews
722Photos
27Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 670
  • 489
  • 189
  • 60
  • 41
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The rooms and bathrooms are clean but rather small. Breakfast was very good. We ate dinner at the restaurant, the service was very good and although I think they try hard in the kitchen the food was disappointing. The grounds are nice but the hotel lacks charm. All staff were
Read more
Staff on check in were welcoming and engaging. Spacious room with a great view. Dinner was excellent and service great- attentive staff. Buffet breakfast had a good selection- opted for an omelette as not a fan of buffet eggs. Overall a great stay.
Read more
Response from Elle G, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames
Responded 5 days ago
Dear daisyohara21 Thank you for your review and I am so pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team and I hope we may welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards
Read more
We booked one night at the De Vere Thames. On the TA photo it looks nice the reviews were mixed so we thought we should try for ourselves. This was a mistake Check in was good swift & room was ready. Room disappointing it was small no view only of muddy grass Bed had stains all
Read more
Response from Elle G, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames
Responded 5 days ago
Dear marksgd, Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for speaking with our Duty Manager Andrei this morning. I am sorry to read you had many dissatisfactions during your stay with us and will raise these in due course with the relevant departments. Our leisure center is manned during all opening times and is regularly checked and cleaned, however it can mean at peak periods the changing rooms in particular can get quite congested. We are aware this area of the hotel is outdated and are keen to note we are in the process of rolling refurbishment and hope this will be improved in the near future. In regards to the spa pool this suffered from an unforeseen maintenance issue which meant the heating exchange was broken - the necessary parts and engineer expertise was requested from the start however as I am sure you can appreciate the parts can take a little while to be delivered. In regards to the wine prices here at the hotel we have a varied wine list including wines available by the glass and by the bottle; all prices are available on our wine lists. Our house wine starts from £5.80 by the glass with wines increasing in line with quality; the Malbec we have is a high quality wine and is therefore one of the most expensive wines we have on offer by the glass. Our fresh orange juice is supplied via an external company and we will be checking this to ensure the quality is a it should be following your comments in regards to it being watered down. I understand you wish to never return to us in the future, however if you do have cause to visit us again I certainly hope you have a more enjoyable stay with us. Kind regards
Read more
stayed for work purposes for one night. The first thing to note is that this place is an absolute maze, it is really easy to get lost. My room was in Brook House on the first floor, it was very large with a lovely outlook over the gardens and with doors opening on to a balcony.
Read more
Response from Elle G, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames
Responded 5 days ago
Dear janep1 Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your comments in regards to your recent stay with us. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed many aspects and will raise any other comments with the team. Kind regards
Read more
The recent change of management of the Spa has seen it go steadily downhill. Not one element of it has improved, and in fact its got a lot worse. It might be acceptable that the whole place is tired and dated, but that should mean that the management up their game. The changing
Read more
Response from Elle G, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Kingfisherblueflash Thank you for your review and I am sorry our leisure center has caused much disappointment to you. I will address your comments in regards to the leisure center staff directly and ensure this is rectified as I agree this is unacceptable if they are on mobile phones. In regards to the spa fault, this did suffer form having an unforeseen maintenance issue and we ordered the works and parts for this to be fied on the date it broke. As I am sure you can appreciate there is a time lead on such equipment and this has caused the delay. The work is currently being carried out as the relevant contractors and parts are on site to ensure the work is complete.d Kind regards
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event RoomsFamily and Play Areas
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorDe Vere Oxford Thames
The Connisseur Room with Terrace at the Oxford Thames Four Pillars
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorDe Vere Oxford Thames
The College Chic Room at the Oxford Thames Four Pillars
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorDe Vere Oxford Thames
The Garden Chic Room at the Oxford Thames Four Pillars
vista do quarto, no jardim dos fundos, próximo ao rio.
PreviousNext
12345643
At the hotel we have a jetty on to the River Thames, Salters Steamers run a cruise to Abingdon which can stop at the jetty (it is best to let them know you are boarding from the hotel).
0 votes
Show all answers
Dear HDM2013 The hotel is situated in Sandford on Thames which connect at Sandford lock to the River Thames path up to Oxford city or Abingdon. The pool is 12m by 6m Kind regards
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi Carly B Our gym is made up of two rooms - one with cardio equipment including a treadmill and one with weights based training. Please call 01865 334444 for more details Kind regards
1 vote
I think not
1 vote
Show all answers
Hi enesting Our superior and deluxe rooms have fridges, it is best to contact our reservations team to check your booking and to make the request 01865 334444
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
123456
"not all rooms have balconies , they would e lovely in the summer it would be worth having one"
"Hotel is located in its own grounds nd so everywhere should be ok"
"Ask for a room that doesn't look out onto the car park! Many of them do."
"Ask for a room near to the facilities if walking is a problem. Not all rooms are air-conditioned."
"Rooms in the new block are excellent."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
USD 124 - USD 292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
oxford thames four pillars hotel sandford-on-thamesoxford thames 4 pillarsthames four pillars oxfordthames four pillars hotel oxford
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Oxford Thames Four Pillars
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandOxford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
104
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing