We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oxford Spires Hotel

Expedia.comUSD 157*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 188*
USD 157*
USD 159*
USD 188*
USD 157*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,696 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Oxford Spires Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,638: English reviews
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2016

Good location for easy access to the centre of Oxford, which is about a 15 minute walk. Nice rooms though we had to ask for some of the advertised amenities. Staff were pleasant and willing. The big downside is the loudest heating/air conditioning unit we have ever come across, which continued to whirr and rattle even when switched off. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rod P
238wendy, General Manager at Oxford Spires Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review Oxford Spires. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the team here to be pleasent and willing. Please do contact me directly regarding the room noise as I am keen to find out what has happened - we do have airconditioning units and boilers just like any other...

Verwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2016

Excellent hotel ideally placed for short walk into Oxford city centre. Super room, excellent staff, excellent menu, good entertainment and overall good value for money for a new year package. Will certainly consider staying again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy G
238wendy, General Manager at Oxford Spires Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review yuor stay with us over the New Year. I amdelighted you enjoyed the package we put together - the favourite part seems to be the historic walking tour that we held on New Years Day in the early afternoon. We plan to be hosting another New Year event in 2016 and I...

Reviewed 6 January 2016

Very attractive hotel very close to the river. Very nice evening meal but slow service. Good breakfast with excellent choice but again slow service. Bit disappointed as this was a trial for a future Ladies night in March this year!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mary D
238wendy, General Manager at Oxford Spires Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us - we have noted you are returning to us in March and I am sure you will have a super time. Please be assured I am addressing your comment about slow service for breakfast - we have done alot of heard work developing our breakfast standard and training...

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2016

our room was pleasant with a view over the countryside and horses. it was clean and spacious with all facilities required. ( no semi skimmed milk) staff very pleasant and helpful. a bit pricey in the bar. no first aid box available when I needed it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kitty l
238wendy, General Manager at Oxford Spires Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed our setting and our close proximity to Oxford. Thank you also for your comments about the team and please be assured when you next visit us we do have semi skimmed milk. Kind regards Wendy Procter

Northampton
Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

Booked as a New Year treat, this turned out to be a bit disappointing. We had booked a double deluxe room in the Eastwyke wing. The room itself (501) was huge and fabulous but the en-suite was tiny, about the size of a broom cupboard and only a very small shower. I expected at least a bath - note to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LKBNpton
Elle G, Operations Manager at Oxford Spires Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LKBNpton, Thank you for your review. I was sorry to hear you were dissapointed with some elements of your stay. Eastwyke House is a listed property which does add character to the rooms and mean each room is individual. Due to the conversion it does mean that some of the rooms benefit from larger bedrooms and have smaller bathrooms...

Etchinghill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

Booked to come on a 3 night New Year's Eve break, nice room friendly staff, good breakfast choice although could have been a little warmer but overall ok. Dinner on the first night and New Years gala dinner were both good. Overall clean and we presented hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nickfairclough1
Elle G, Operations Manager at Oxford Spires Hotel, responded to this review

Dear nickfairclough1, Thank you for your review and I am so pleased you did enjoy your stay with us to celebrate the New Year. Thank you for your feedback regarding the breakfast - we will be sure to moniter this. I do hope we can welcome you back to celebrate next year with us. Kind Regards

wales
Reviewed 3 January 2016

We stayed at this hotel over Christmas for 4 nights, a nicely situated hotel about 10 mins from the city centre. Our room was in a need of an upgrade, though the bathroom had recently been refurbished and was very nice the room itself looked.very.worn even though we'd paid for an upgrade also there was a lack of storage drawers....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jess59Wales
Elle G, Operations Manager at Oxford Spires Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jess59Wales, Thank you for your review. I was pleased to read you enjoyed the location of the hotel and found the staff to be friendly. I was disappointed to read you suffered from noise in the room however pleased we were able to find you an alternative room for the remainder of your stay - it was reported on...

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2016

We spent a wonderful evening here. A gala celebration to bring the New Year in, in style. The hotel is modern and welcoming, on arrival the reception staff were helpful, efficient and so pleasant. The evening was wonderful, a delicious meal cooked to perfection and served very efficiently,, nothing was too much trouble, our waitress was lovely. Delicious wines and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
Elle G, Operations Manager at Oxford Spires Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 9SharonC Thank you for your review. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your New Year celebrations at the hotel as well as the delights Oxford has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to celebrate this year if not before. Kind Regards

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 1 January 2016

The accommodations were comfortable and clean, but very average. The view from our room was quite pedestrian -- simply a courtyard with views of other balconies. However, the Front Desk staff were friendly and helpful with directions.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTravellers89
Elle G, Operations Manager at Oxford Spires Hotel, responded to this review

Dear FrequentTravellers89 Thank you for your review and I am pleased you found the staff to be helpful and the room to be clean and comfortable. Some of our rooms do benefit from views over the fields, if you do stay with us again please do request a room with a view and the team will do everything possible to...

Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

We had a twin and a double room. The twin room was spacious and luxurious, as was the double. The double bed was huge! Very clean and comfortable. I appeared that the rooms were recently refurbished to a high standard. Nice bonus of an upstairs residents lounge with board games which we enjoyed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
Elle G, Operations Manager at Oxford Spires Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karen L, Thank you for your review, I was so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to us and the facilities the hotel had to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards

479 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (227)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (77)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (217)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (19)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (24)
Viewed
Deluxe Twin Room (24)
Viewed
Pool (9)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Second Superior Room (23)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (22)
Viewed
Superior Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
3.4 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.7 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
1.4 km away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
1,149 reviews
1.3 km away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
3.8 km away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Oxford Spires Hotel

Address: Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4PS, England (Formerly Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Price Range: $176 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oxford Spires Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Oxford Spires Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Spires 4 Pillars Hotel
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#8 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oxford Spires Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Oxford Spires Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The ground floor room we had facing the fields and grounds was ideal for peace and quite .”
D8376ZKjenniferm, 25 May 2017 | Read review
“Pay extra for upgraded rooms (£25) they are superb.”
dodger2007, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Don't eat in the restaurant”
af5940, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“Unless you want something special, just book a standard room”
jhbutter59, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“If staying in Eastwyke House you have to walk outside to enter the main hotel for meals”
jackiehaggerty, 11 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 157* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 159
Orbitz.comUSD 157
CancelonUSD 188
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates