We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St Hugh's College

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
St Hugh\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 33: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed there two nights recently and were very impressed. We were in the Main Building - the bedroom was a little old-fashioned and could maybe do with some updating, but that is really the only fault I can find; we were very comfortable, had no problems at all with noise, and the breakfast was superb. In addition we had the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue J
Lifton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Was surprised to read of complaints about it being noisy as we were there during freshers' week & were surprised at how quiet our room was. Beds were comfortable, room serviced every day (not always the case in these establishments) hospitality tray replenished. Breakfast was better than many we've had in hotels. Great choice of cooked food which is buffet... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gerry P
AccomManager, General Manager at St Hugh's College, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed a comfortable and pleasant stay with St Hugh's College and hope we can welcome you back again in the future. More 

Frenchs Forest, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Great x2 days stay. We were upgraded to Dickson Poon build due to some renovations going on at St Hugh's. We are x2 couples visiting. One double bedroom turned out to be fitted with disabled facilities, microwave, cooktop, fridge, etc. very new & modern. My husband & I were given x2 single ensuite rooms on different buildings. Very clean &... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane D
AccomManager, General Manager at St Hugh's College, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the rooms in the Dickson Poon Building to your liking. More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

This is old school Oxford. Where the porter would rather you weren't staying and is rude to your face. I studied at Oxford for undergraduate and then MBA and am noting that only to say how much the non-welcome at St Hughs disgusts me - don't stay here until they change their night porter staff as they are rude and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ted E
AccomManager, General Manager at St Hugh's College, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the quality of your stay. We will be investing in further customer service and wider training programmes for our staff. If you were able to provide further details to help us address the issues you encountered by emailing accommodation.manager@st-hughs.ox.ac.uk we would be very grateful.... More 

Travellers are raving about these Oxford hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

The rooms are old and poorly maintained. Bathrooms are shared. On top of that, the place is really loud and the sound of old wooden doors banging wont let you rest. No one show you to your room, they just give you a map and up you go. I would never visit again for sure.

Helpful?
Thank Phil_Kimby
AccomManager, General Manager at St Hugh's College, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the quality of your stay. We are in the process of instigating an extensive refurbishment programme of our accommodation. Our website does state that: “These have shared bathroom facilities” and that “Our rooms are basic”. When staying with us during term time, regrettably there... More 

Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2016

After having used St Hughs for a rugby World Cup volunteers dinner, our Oxford Refs. society decided to hold our end of season dinner here. We were not disappointed. Met by attentive staff, with Champagne in the garden, it proved to be a chilly evening. They moved us inside with no problem. We then proceeded to dine. A tasty three... More 

Helpful?
Thank cynthiarob
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2016

We booked rooms at St Hugh's so we could attend a conference on the site the following day. The rooms were charged at £100 per night so we were expecting something more than we received.. The rooms were tiny with only the absolute basics (bed, wardrobe, kettle, desk, light and bathroom), essentially a bedsit. The parking was also pretty bad... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andy F
AccomManager, General Manager at St Hugh's College, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the quality of your stay. The rooms provided for your visit are charged at £75 to include basic student accommodation in an Oxford College. Our website does state that: “Our rooms are basic, comfortable and represent good value for money. All rooms are provided... More 

Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Paid £70 for bed and breakfast. No prior information was given about the location of the porter's lodge and where to park, so I had to wander around the outside of the college, which occupies quite a few acres. On arrival, the porter's manner was surly, off-hand and even hostile, which was quite off-putting. In addition, on the map he... More 

Helpful?
Thank trallever
AccomManager, General Manager at St Hugh's College, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the quality of your stay. We have noted your comments about providing information of the location of the Porter’s Lodge and whilst the website does ask guests checking in to “Please arrive at the College Lodge on St Margaret’s Road”, will look to address... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2015 via mobile

I went to Oxford because my son had interviews. At first I didn't have a clue where to stay and the hotels local to the college were very expensive. Three nights B and B at the college was £150, the same stay in a local hotel was £400. The room I had was a basic student room. The showers were... More 

Helpful?
Thank suebabe19
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2015

7 of us stayed here for one night . The rooms are basic but warm and comfortable. Please remember these are student rooms so no frills. The staff at the Porters Lodge were friendly and helpful.Very good full English breakfast . At £50 for a single room this was good value. The college is on a good bus route from... More 

Helpful?
Thank 15travels15

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel
0.4 km away
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
#17 of 44 in Oxford
637 reviews
1.1 km away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#36 of 44 in Oxford
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
St Margarets Hotel
St Margarets Hotel
#35 of 85 in Oxford
85 reviews
0.4 km away
Parklands B&B
Parklands B&B
#12 of 85 in Oxford
258 reviews
0.8 km away
Noa Residence
Noa Residence
#14 of 17 in Oxford
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whilst not one of the old colleges, St Hugh’s can offer accommodation set within fourteen acres of quiet, leafy North Oxford. Located just outside of the city centre, we are only a 15 minute walk from the main attractions of Oxford.We can offer ensuite bedrooms within the relatively modern Maplethorpe and Rachel Trickett buildings. We can also offer rooms with shared bathroom facilities within our more traditional Main Building. All rooms are provided with bed linen, towels and toiletries, and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about St Hugh's College

Address: St. Margarets Road, Oxford OX2 6LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Price Range: $83 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your St Hugh's College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from St Hugh's College staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The main building is probably your best option; no en-suite bathrooms but this is made up for by convenience in other ways.”
 of 5 bubbles suej452, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms in Dickinson Poon building is great”
 of 5 bubbles G1852JCjaned, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 61 was overlooking the garden”
 of 5 bubbles 15travels15, 11 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Rooms in Maplethorpe building are fairly new and modern. Building has lifts, so this is helpful for people who have heavy luggage”
 of 5 bubbles SingaporeSQTraveller, 31 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Ask for first floor, less noisy than ground but not so many stairs (no lift and narrow stairs)”
 of 5 bubbles PipB476, 20 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay