We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Buttery Hotel

Expedia.comUSD 143*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 148*
USD 143*
USD 148*
USD 143*
USD 148*
USD 143*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Buttery Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

357 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Buttery Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 338: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2015

Wife and I went to Oxford on the weekend. I was pleased with the great location. The views of university collages are spectacular. The room was lovely, spotless and spacious. A fantastic spread to choose from in the morning. Very friendly staff which were very helpful. The finishing touch was the lovely chocolate egg left for us on Easter Sunday....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tedwards295
north yorks
Reviewed 6 April 2015

I've stayed on a few slightly cheaper hotels in oxford over the past couple of years but it was definitely worth spending a little bit more to stay here. I had read mixed reviews about it but was more than pleasantly surprised when I arrived. My room was spacious and very comfortable. I had a lovely en suite, the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clcoppin
Reviewed 5 April 2015

Found our hotel among the busy shops. One flight up was reception. Great way to utilize all the stories above the street. Our room was spacious, everything we expected. Best location to visit Oxford from. Only issue we had was noise from the street all night. Would not recommend to a light sleeper.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marion C
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2015

I have no problem with the twisty staircases and relatively tight spaces: it's an old property and that's fine. The wifi worked well, which I appreciate. However, the upkeep of the fixtures and fittings was poor. The net curtains should not be torn (on both windows!), the grout in the shower should not be stained. The toilet cistern lid should...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kdt43
Athens, Greece
Reviewed 9 March 2015

I will NOT comment on the squeaky floors, the small bathroom with the tiny sink in the bedroom, the fact there is no lift for someone with an injured foot. I am aware of how difficult it is to renovate listed buildings to cater to the needs of the modern traveller, especially in a town like Oxford. Two things that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lazulite
Birmingham
Reviewed 1 March 2015 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews on here I was a bit unsure what to expect but have just returned from a weekend at The Buttery & have nothing but good things to report. Yes there are stairs to walk up & yes they can only serve one type of egg for breakfast but this all adds to the charm...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank josiemay31
Westchester, NY
Reviewed 22 February 2015 via mobile

Lack of Parking was very time consuming to get to a park and ride. Location great. Queen bed was the pull out couch with super thin mattress and springs to sleep on. Sigle beds were good. Secondfloor Room on Broad street was very noisy until early morning hours on a Thursday. Breakfast was not great.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ll5401
Exeter, Devon, UK
Reviewed 21 February 2015

We have stayed at the Buttery before and will do so again. The location and value cannot be beaten in Oxford. The staff are friendly and our large double room was lovely and cosy. Only two disappointments - we found the wifi very weak and the (infamous?) scrambled eggs were a shocker to face in the morning. But neither of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank redsandyboy
sallymoss2014, Owner at The Buttery Hotel, responded to this review

We cannot believe the amount of times the eggs are mentioned in our reviews. It has become a slight obsession with us now. I have asked for the three different breakfast chefs to cook me scrambled eggs this week and they have all been genuinely fine and nice to eat on buttered toast. However we are clearly not keeping them...

goole
Reviewed 19 February 2015

I booked two nights at The Buttery before reading reviews on TripAdvisor so felt a little apprehensive on going down for breakfast. I need not have worried. I had the English breakfast which was excellent and I had no problems at all with the scrambled eggs which were fine,bacon crisp and flavoursome, sausage,beans,mushroom and tomato. My only qualm with it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Huffers57
welland
Reviewed 19 January 2015

We have just returned from spending a very pleasant Saturday night right at the top of this hotel in a room we requested away from the front and nice and quiet. Had a great night's sleep and the location is superb! The guest house lets itself down with the breakfast especially considering that this is a cafe during the day....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vivienwelland

242 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (22)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (173)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (32)
Viewed
Family Room (32)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Single Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)
Viewed
Triple or Twin Room (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 km away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.2 km away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
640 reviews
0.7 km away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#16 of 44 in Oxford
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,139 reviews
1.1 km away
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
#22 of 44 in Oxford
482 reviews
0.2 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set on Broad Street, surrounded by historic University Colleges, The Buttery welcomes you to enjoy the wonders of Oxford from its central location. The Buttery provides bed and breakfast accommodation in a choice of rooms, all en-suite and decorated in a neutral style with light colours, some also with original fireplaces. We are in easy walking distance of a number of museums, theatres, the main shopping areas as well as variety of restaurants and pubs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Buttery Hotel

Address: 11-12 Broad Street, Oxford OX1 3AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Price Range: $153 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Buttery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Buttery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Buttery Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Buttery Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“NO DISABLED ACCESS AT ALL!!! More staircases than rooms! NO lift!”
AlanSB1955, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“It's not just a hotel -- it's a café too.”
PJandSJ, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are quieter but rooms at the front have fantastic views of the university colleges”
Bluebell62, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't be at the front if you want to sleep -- or bring earplugs !”
RGetto, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not sure about the other rooms but our double deluxe had great views.”
gingernutblonde, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 143* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 143
Orbitz.comUSD 143
TripAdvisorUSD 143
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates