We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Bestwood Lodge Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Bestwood Lodge Hotel
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

449 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 447: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN Bestwood Lodge Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Wouldn't recommend, we were unhappy with the hotel for a number of reasons: 1. When we first arrived we were waiting for staff to book us in for 5-10minutes, and when someone did finally turn up there was no apology for the delay, in fact she seemed rather hostile towards us as if we were a nuisance for giving them...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olivia J
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Well, not the best by any any means but a very quirky Victorian building. A bit intimidating on approach and entry but everything seems to deliver. I ate in the bar and had a very reasonable steak and ale pie. Decor in the room left a lot to be desired but cannot complain as bed was ok and bathroom clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clive L
Aylesbury
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for 1 night as my friend was holding a party at the hotel. I'd read the previous reviews so did not have high expectations. This is a beautiful old building in a lovely location with such great potential. Such a shame that it has been allowed to become tired and in serious need of a refurb. That said...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GeordieLass6
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Took a group of 24 adults for Sunday Lunch.This is a hotel with lots of history.The site of the hunting lodge where Richard 111rd was staying when he heard that Henry V11 Had landed at Milford Haven.For history buffs the story of the house is well documented. The staff were excellent.Mainly young ladies and all helpful and efficient.The service was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeanann1485
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights, one of which was Mothers' Day. Good points:- Lovely country location surrounded by lots of woodland walks. Interesesting historical hotel - NOT one of the bland modern variety! Very dog friendly - there is even a comfortable sitting area where you can take your dog. Our room was one of the larger renovated ones and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 312Bondie
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Four of us called in for Monday lunch. We were aware this venue does not provide a restaurant service at lunchtime, but they have an advertised attractive menu of bar food so we thought would make an interesting change from our usual fodder. If you don't already know the place it is in an interesting setting, and a very attractive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

So we booked here for Mother's Day as there was a large group. We paid a £5 deposit per head for a carvery priced at £16 per head. So we arrived, no one really bothered we were there so we had to ask, worrying signs from the start! So we all sat down expecting one of the waiting staff to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank FEOE
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for a night whilst working in the area with a colleague. The rooms were perfectly fine,but the evening meal was a disaster on several levels. The menu was different to what the chef thought was available, so each of our selections had to made several times and a wait of over an hour for our starters, was just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bailgate
Glasgow
Reviewed 27 February 2017

A very nice old building set in beautiful surroundings, but unfortunately the internals are in need of sprucing up. The decor and furnishings are tired. We counted seven live ladybirds on the inside of the windows and a selection of dead insects along the tops of the lower sash. We had to clean the bath before using it and remove...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank InigoQuesta
GeneralManager17, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bestwood Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us. Whilst we are disappointed with your comments, we are also pleased that you have made us aware of these, as it will help us improve the experience for future guests. We are currently undergoing an upgrade to our bedrooms, with investment into our bedrooms but also...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed last night for a rare night out without the children treat. Upon arrival the hotel looks impressive but that's where it ends. We were greeting with indifference as we didn't fit the Normal client mould with myself and partner being alternative. The room was cold. Most of the sockets didn't work. The bathroom was freezing with no heating anywhere....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mrnmrs2013
GeneralManager17, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bestwood Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Bestwood Lodge for your rare night out without the children. I'm happy to hear that you were impressed with our building upon arrival, however disappointed that you weren't impressed further. After reading your review, I would like to do a thorough investigation into your comments, as I would need to locate the room in which was...

254 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (196)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (75)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nottingham
1.8 km away
Premier Inn Nottingham North (Daybrook) Hotel
3.0 km away
Premier Inn Nottingham North West (Hucknall) Hotel
4.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
4.0 km away
Cockliffe Country House Hotel
10.9 km away
Hylands Hotel
Hylands Hotel
#32 of 54 in Nottingham
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bestwood Lodge Hotel

Address: Bestwood Country Park, Nottingham NG5 8NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Price Range: $89 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Bestwood Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bestwood Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bestwood Hotel Nottingham
Best Western Nottingham
Nottingham Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Bestwood Lodge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Queen Victoria is very good.”
mikepV1167FS, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Lots of in site parking and in a nice rural location with nearby walks.”
Bailgate, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Doing anything important (a wedding) ensure theres a decent chef,any decent chef would have been embarrassed by our meal.”
Y2446YZstevens, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for ground floor if you have any physical impairments as there is no lift for luggage.”
petera455, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Do not listen to negative reviews find out for yourself”
, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5