We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Bestwood Lodge Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Bestwood Lodge Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

444 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 442: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN Bestwood Lodge Hotel
 Click to rate
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Four of us called in for Monday lunch. We were aware this venue does not provide a restaurant service at lunchtime, but they have an advertised attractive menu of bar food so we thought would make an interesting change from our usual fodder. If you don't already know the place it is in an interesting setting, and a very attractive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

So we booked here for Mother's Day as there was a large group. We paid a £5 deposit per head for a carvery priced at £16 per head. So we arrived, no one really bothered we were there so we had to ask, worrying signs from the start! So we all sat down expecting one of the waiting staff to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FEOE
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a night whilst working in the area with a colleague. The rooms were perfectly fine,but the evening meal was a disaster on several levels. The menu was different to what the chef thought was available, so each of our selections had to made several times and a wait of over an hour for our starters, was just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bailgate
Glasgow
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A very nice old building set in beautiful surroundings, but unfortunately the internals are in need of sprucing up. The decor and furnishings are tired. We counted seven live ladybirds on the inside of the windows and a selection of dead insects along the tops of the lower sash. We had to clean the bath before using it and remove...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank InigoQuesta
GeneralManager17, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bestwood Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us. Whilst we are disappointed with your comments, we are also pleased that you have made us aware of these, as it will help us improve the experience for future guests. We are currently undergoing an upgrade to our bedrooms, with investment into our bedrooms but also...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed last night for a rare night out without the children treat. Upon arrival the hotel looks impressive but that's where it ends. We were greeting with indifference as we didn't fit the Normal client mould with myself and partner being alternative. The room was cold. Most of the sockets didn't work. The bathroom was freezing with no heating anywhere....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrnmrs2013
GeneralManager17, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bestwood Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Bestwood Lodge for your rare night out without the children. I'm happy to hear that you were impressed with our building upon arrival, however disappointed that you weren't impressed further. After reading your review, I would like to do a thorough investigation into your comments, as I would need to locate the room in which was...

York, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

First point to note is that this place is incredibly difficult to find, especially in the dark. Using the postcode in my satnav dropped me nearly a mile short of the hotel. In its heyday this must once have been a fantastic hotel in a wonderful location. It was dark when I arrived and foggy when I left so I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul H
GeneralManager17, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bestwood Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and your stay. I am happy to hear that you liked our building, with oak-panelling, high ceilings and Victorian gothic style. Our gardens are stunning, such a shame you couldn't take advantage due to the foggy weather. I am, however, disappointed that your further findings were not what you'd expect....

Shropshire
Reviewed 16 February 2017

The hotel building is old but very beautiful and is set in lovely grounds. We took our dog, who enjoyed the morning and evening walks available right on the doorstep, which made our stay much more relaxed. I know other people have made a few negative comments, but it is a very old building and has does have an old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank traceya876
GeneralManager17, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bestwood Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your dog did too. Our location, as you say, is great for morning walk in the country park and hotel grounds, adding to our relaxing location. I appreciate and thank you for your understanding that we are an old building, and not...

Battle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2017

Arrived and was pleasantly surprised to be given the Queen Victoria room which is the biggest and best bedroom in the hotel and is the Bridal Suite - four poster bed a real fireplace and very large room with double aspect windows. Bar was very relaxing area with a wonderful real fire in a fantastically large fireplace. Went down for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gareth T
GeneralManager17, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bestwood Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your stay. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you enjoyed the bridal suite. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed food in our Foyer Bar with fireplace. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Having read some poor reviews we had fairly low expectations of the bestwood. We stayed for a family party and we were pleasantly surprised. The drive to the hotel is through a fairly grim area however on arrival at the hotel the building and immediate surroundings are beautiful. The hotel is very grand with high ceilings and wood panelling everywhere....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alyssa F
Reviewed 21 December 2016

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stephen b

254 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (196)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (75)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nottingham
1.7 km away
Premier Inn Nottingham North (Daybrook) Hotel
3.0 km away
Premier Inn Nottingham North West (Hucknall) Hotel
4.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Cockliffe Country House Hotel
4.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
4.8 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bestwood Lodge Hotel

Address: Bestwood Country Park, Nottingham NG5 8NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Price Range: $87 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Bestwood Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bestwood Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bestwood Hotel Nottingham
Best Western Nottingham
Nottingham Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Bestwood Lodge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Queen Victoria is very good.”
 of 5 bubbles mikepV1167FS, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Lots of in site parking and in a nice rural location with nearby walks.”
 of 5 bubbles Bailgate, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Doing anything important (a wedding) ensure theres a decent chef,any decent chef would have been embarrassed by our meal.”
 of 5 bubbles Y2446YZstevens, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for ground floor if you have any physical impairments as there is no lift for luggage.”
 of 5 bubbles petera455, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Do not listen to negative reviews find out for yourself”
 of 5 bubbles , 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5