We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel 53

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
Panoramas (2)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,746 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,712: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel 53
 Click to rate
Webster Groves, Missouri
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We loved this hotel, but we were amazed as to how small the rooms are. Our room was only large enough for a single chair--and to save space there was neither a wardrobe nor a closet. That said, the rooms and the public facilities are chic and nicely decorated. Maybe the best feature is the dining room. Our food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IquitosAnglo
Hotel53YorkCentre, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Dear IquitosAnglo, Thank you for your review. Our bedrooms are of industry size with the necessary essentials for overnight stays including a desk with chair, television and fitted rail for garments. I am pleased to read your comments on our dining room and look forward to passing these on to our chef and the restaurant team. We hope to welcome...

Londob
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great location and walking distance to everywhere. Friendly staff and good sized rooms for two adults and a two year old. The reception area is very chilled out and you could have a rest there. Parking is closely which you have to pay for. Nice stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fay O
Hotel53YorkCentre, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Dear Fay O Thank you for your great review of Hotel 53. I am pleased to read your comments about our fantastic location and friendly staff and look forward to sharing your feedback with the rest of the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon. kind regards Laura

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here on the 14th of April, check in is super quick and easy and checking out was even quicker. The room was extremely clean and had a nice modern feel. It had all the things you would need such as a hairdryer and tea and coffee facilities. The shower was amazing and the free toiletries smelt amazing! Overall a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank meganwalton x
Hotel53YorkCentre, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Dear Meganwalton, Thank you for your great review of Hotel 53. I am pleased to read your comments about our fantastic location and wonderful staff and look forward to sharing your feedback with the rest of the team. We also offer a discount for returning guests when booking direct. We look forward to seeing you again soon Kind regards, Laura

Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Have just arrived home from a very enjoyable stay at Hotel 53. Excellent location, minutes to the attractions of the City by foot. Our room was excellent and the whole hotel was spotlessly clean. The staff are welcoming and courteous,and could not be more helpful. Breakfast was plentiful with a good choice of hot and cold dishes. Could not work...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff D
Hotel53YorkCentre, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Dear Geoff D, Thank you for your 5* review of Hotel 53! I am delighted to read your comments about your stay with us and look forward to sharing them with the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future - we offer a 10% discount to returning guests so be...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked via an online booking site many months earlier as we decided to spend our wedding anniversary in york. Had an email about a week before we were due to arrive offering upgrades which we took one of those up. Hotel is in a really good location only a few mins walk to the old market place in york. Car...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
Hotel53YorkCentre, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Dear Martin, Congratulations on your anniversary and thank you for your 5* review of Hotel 53! I am delighted to read your comments about your stay with us and look forward to sharing them with the rest of the team. Our staff work very hard to provide our guests with an excellent experience and it’s lovely to see this reflected...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel 53 is in a Central area of York with access to some great places. I stayed for a business event, but would have no objections to taking my wife for a stay. The whole place is unbelievably clean and well laid out. The rooms are superb and modern. The breakfast buffet was brilliant.....and I mean brilliant! I can't find...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TracyJDaveJ
Hotel53YorkCentre, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Dear TrayjDavej, Thank you for your review, and for recommending us! We would be delighted to have you stay with us again when you next visit York - returning guests are entitled to a 10% discount when booking directly, so be sure to get in touch with our Reception team when you've chosen your dates for your next visit. kind...

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hi stayed here on 7/4/17 for 1 night. hotel is smart and modern and clean. quick and friendly check in .room allocated on 2 floor but we were given a disabled room. bedroom was fine with a comfy bed but bathroom as said was a disabled room which is perfect if required but a strange option for myself and my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neil a
Hotel53YorkCentre, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Dear Neil, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear you won't be staying with us again. We do have 5 accessible rooms, which we do allocate last however as you can appreciate at weekends the hotel is full. Our reception team will always try and move your room to an alternative when requested, depending on availability at the...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent one night at the Hotel 53 in York. We had a double room with sofa bed for our 9 year old. The room was very modern, clean and excellent value. There was not too much room between our bed and the sofa bed when it was up but we were out sightseeing all day so it didn't matter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
Hotel53YorkCentre, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Dear Karen, Thank you for your review, our rooms are of industry size. There are a few different car parks to choose from which vary in price according to availability and distance. Our reception team will always recommend the best car park spaces available on the day. Next time you are staying in York please call us directly for the...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was a last minute family break to york for easter. Hotel was great room was clean and comfortable. Room was a little bit small but was great for 2 nights. Had a couch bed for our little one which was next to our bed which made the room a bit cramped but there was only 3 of us so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank N8tasha
Hotel53YorkCentre, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Dear N8tasta, Thank you for your lovely review and i am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back, kind regards Laura Eyles

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked couple of days away with my husband for his birthday lovely hotel quote noisy at night through the noght traffic etc but lovely and comfy very friendly didnt eat in hotel we ate over the road at weatherspoons and few other places all lovely . Would stay here again but maybe ask for a back room away from traffic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruffleduck
Hotel53YorkCentre, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Dear Ruffleduck, Thank you for your review and we would be happy to arrange a room for you away from the road, you can request this at the time of booking. I would also like to offer you a discounted rate for your next stay, when booking direct with us. We look forard to welcoming you back soon. kind regards...

287 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (183)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
0:47
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (88)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (66)
Viewed
Accessible Double Room (PRE-RENOVATION) (12)
Viewed
Classic Double Room (PRE-RENOVATION) (11)
Viewed
Classic King Room (PRE-RENOVATION) (10)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (PRE-RENOVATION) (14)
Viewed
Triple Room (PRE-RENOVATION) (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
1,087 reviews
0.7 km away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.9 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 45 in York
1,440 reviews
0.3 km away
Novotel York Centre
0.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel 53 is in a central location within the city walls and is a short walk from York's major attractions. The hotel's clean, modern exterior is complemented by elegant interior design, creating an atmosphere of stylish simplicity. Whether you're taking a short break, staying with us for a little longer or on business you'll feel immediately at ease at Hotel 53 York. At Hotel 53, we aim for individuality and flair, with the most modern facilities to ensure that our guests receive a warm and professional service throughout their stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel 53

Address: 53 Piccadilly, York YO1 9PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: $126 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 53 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn York
53 Hotel York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel 53 staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel 53 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms seem fine”
TracyJDaveJ, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from main road”
67peterj, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“perhaps better to have a room facing the back of the hotel, not the street, but all are generally quiet.”
IcedPie, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 404 is a nice room”
midas7908, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not sure of quiet rooms.”
kevincX1976ZI, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5