We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Indigo York, an IHG hotel

Save
Share
88-96 Walmgate, York YO1 9TL England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
USD 163
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/21
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Expedia.comUSD 163
Priceline
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (1279)
360
Panoramas (43)
Room & Suite (148)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Indigo York, an IHG hotel
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#15 of 50 hotels in York
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Hotel Indigo York is perfectly positioned in York on Walmgate, a buzzy foodie destination within the ancient city walls. This beautiful boutique hotel in York has 103 individually designed guest rooms and in its first year won the York Press People’s Award for its design. Supremely comfortable beds are matched by stylish use of local fabrics and all the furniture was designed and crafted in Yorkshire. If you are intrigued by the lampshades in some of the rooms, they are details from a 19th century census of the neighbourhood. Our friendly staff at our boutique hotel in York are the experts on what to do and where to go in York so please tap into their local knowledge. Our York hotel is well positioned and it is just a short stroll to the key attractions. Do our room numbers look familiar in design? We had them specially commissioned and they were hand carved in the style of the world-famous York Minster.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Polish
2374Reviews91Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,552
  • 602
  • 153
  • 36
  • 31
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
andy_acacia wrote a review 14 Oct
10 contributions1 helpful vote
The hotel is functional but not good. Broadband is good. The tv was poor. The gym tiny. Generally neat and tidy. Check in staff good. Breakfast was bad. One of those treats I look forward to but Indigo's was a total waste. Eggs Benedict an embarrassing indictment on the lack of skills in the kitchen. Eggs snotty. Flavourless hollandaise. Muffin insufficiently toasted. Boring coffee. Juices in those tiny glasses. Plenty of interesting eateries around the corner. Shall not be staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from hotel indigoyork, Owner at Hotel Indigo York, an IHG hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear AndrewR2032EK, At Hotel Indigo York , we appreciate all of our guests, especially those that take time out of their busy day to write a review about their stay. Reviews from our guests, be they good or bad, help us gauge what we are doing well and what we need to improve on. However, it is unfortunate that your breakfast experience negatively affected your overall satisfaction. Please be assured your comments have been shared with the team. May I once again offer our regret that you left the hotel disappointed – I do hope that we will have the opportunity to restore your confidence in our hotel in the future. Kind regards, Hotel Indigo York
Read more
Courtney S wrote a review 12 Oct
11 contributions
We have just returned from a 2 night stay in York. The hotel is stylish and located within walking distance of the city centre. Our room was spotlessly clean with everything you would need including an iron, kettle, hairdryer and toiletries. The complementary Diet Coke, Kit Kat’s and water were very much appreciated. One potential downfall would be that there was a lot of noise right outside our window when the bins were getting emptied, but this didn’t affect our stay. It was also unusual that parking wasn’t included in the price of the room and wasn’t the most positive end to the trip having to pay £25 on departure. All in all a lovely hotel with friendly staff in an ideal location. Would highly recommend Khao San Thai restaurant just down the road.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from hotel indigoyork, Owner at Hotel Indigo York, an IHG hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Courtneysalisbury98, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Hotel Indigo York. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and everything exceeded your expectation. Please accept my apologies regarding the noise from bins. We do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Hotel Indigo York
Read more
pete354796 wrote a review 11 Oct
Stevenage, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
Been shooting for the day in Yorkshire with my friend and wives,on checking in to the hotel we asked if there were gun safes on the premises to store our guns in safes as to which we were told they don’t have any.So we decided to break guns down and store in personal safes in the rooms.After being out for a few hours having an evening meal we were called by Hotel reception asking us to come back to the Hotel as armed police were there on arrival we were taken to our rooms for the check of our guns as to which we were all ok and cleared to be in possession of legal guns,police told us that the hotel had called them and that the hotel manager requested to the police that we leave the hotel to which the officer in charge convinced the manager to let us stay on the grounds that we were all legal , we ended up staying in the hotel for the evening but when leaving the premises the next morning was asked to leave by the rear entrance so that the other guests didn’t see our guns in gun slips.Feel completely unsatisfied with the managers attitude towards me and my guests .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from hotel indigoyork, Owner at Hotel Indigo York, an IHG hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Deare pete354796 We are disappointing that you feel this way, however, you did not approach the hotel prior to booking to even ask if you could store the guns or if we had the facilities to do so, which according to the police is exactly what you should have done, which meant that you put the hotel team in a very awkward position, hence them having to contact the Manager who was not in the hotel, hence he advised the team to contact the police and ask for advice. The fact that the police did visit the hotel shows that they also had concerns and wanted to ensure everyone was safe Not once were instructions given out for you to leave the hotel, the instructions were that the guns should not be in the hotel without prior agreement with the Management, to which the police's assurances on the night were that the guns were now safe and that your licenses had been checked, something that you should have arranged prior to arriving at the hotel We are not a privately run hotel in the middle of nowhere, we are a very busy hotel in the city centre that has to as a priority ensure the safety of all our staff and guests, which is why we had to follow the steps we took The hotel and Management followed the correct protocol, this was backed up by the police Regards
Read more
Deggydoo wrote a review 11 Oct
United Kingdom4 contributions
A weekend stay of one night which was very pleasant. All the reception staff were very friendly and polite, despite being extremely busy at the time of our stay.The room was small but clean, if a bit pricey, but it is York! A slight problem was the TV remote control didn’t work, but we could work the TV manually so no problem really. We parked in the hotel car park across the road with no problem, but if there are no spaces there, there is an adjacent car park which could also be used. Excellent location, everything within a five minute walk. Breakfast was delicious and all the staff serving were also friendly,professional and attentive. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from hotel indigoyork, Owner at Hotel Indigo York, an IHG hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Pawsandpies, Thank you for sharing your recent experience after your stay with us at Hotel Indigo York. We are pleased to know that reception staff provided excellent service and that you enjoyed our breakfast service. We do hope you welcome you in the near future. Kind Regards Hotel Indigo York
Read more
Blossie14 wrote a review 10 Oct
Norfolk, United Kingdom72 contributions52 helpful votes
It’s in a good position, fairly central for the city centre. The room was fairly small but clean and the bed was comfortable. However the pillows were absolutely dreadful. Very lumpy and uncomfortable. There was no shower cap in the bathroom but they did have decent sized bath towels. Breakfast was okay. I had full English which was tasty. If the pillows,had not been so uncomfortable, I’d have given a higher score.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from hotel indigoyork, Owner at Hotel Indigo York, an IHG hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Blossie14, Thank you for sharing your feedback after your recent stay with us. I am glad our central location was the highlight of your stay. Please accept our apology regarding the pillows. We have raised your feedback with our housekeeping manager to ensure that the pillows are checked. We do have shower caps available on request. We do hope we can welcome you back to Hotel Indigo in the future. Kind Regards Hotel Indigo York
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 114 - USD 250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireYork
NUMBER OF ROOMS
103
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Indigo York, an IHG hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Indigo York, an IHG hotel?
Nearby attractions include Mindlock Escape Rooms (0.5 km), The Shop That Must Not Be Named (0.5 km), and York Castle Museum (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Indigo York, an IHG hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Indigo York, an IHG hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Indigo York, an IHG hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Indigo York, an IHG hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Indigo York, an IHG hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cresci Pizzeria, Pairings Wine Bar, and Corner Grill House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Indigo York, an IHG hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Indigo York, an IHG hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Indigo York, an IHG hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Indigo York, an IHG hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting York Cold War Bunker (2.8 km), Holy Trinity Church (0.6 km), and Merchant Adventurers' Hall (0.3 km).