We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Orbitz.comUSD 155*
View Deal
#13 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,513 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,502: English reviews
Start your review of Marmadukes Town House Hotel
 Click to rate
Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

My sisters and I were not disappointed on our recent trip to York. This hotel is very welcoming and situated within a 10 minute walk of the city centre. We had a suite which offered a self contained apartment which was beautiful and well equipped. Both breakfast and evening meals were excellent. Well worth a visit

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank demisimmons
Marmadukes Town... H, Duty Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are very pleased to read that you and your sisters were not disappointed with your stay here. I am happy you found the hotel welcoming. The York Suite is like a little apartment with all the facilities you could need. I am pleased you enjoyed both your morning breakfast and evening dinner. We...

Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel was in a pleasant, quiet location in walking distance to the city centre. We stayed for one night. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. However, id booked to stay in a 4 poster room (which is extra) and the bed wasn't a 4 poster. It had an elevated headboard with a slight curtain either side but I wouldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GillBrock84
Marmadukes Town... H, Duty Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I am happy you found our location ‘pleasant’ and only a short walk to the city. Thank you for mentioning the team here, they are a credit to the hotel. We do have a couple of ‘half tester beds’ alongside the Four Poster rooms, I hope this wasn’t a problem. Parking on site is...

London
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good hotel just a 5-10 minute walk from main amenities and the beautiful city centre. Very helpful and friendly staff that gave me a traditional room with four poster bed and roll-top bath. This is a great if you're on a romantic weekend break. It isn't good if you just want a quick shower in the morning before you rush...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1AceTraveller
Marmadukes Town... H, Duty Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. All our Four Poster rooms do just have the roll top bath however if guests do require a shower please let us know at the time of booking and we will do our best to accommodate this. As you mentioned parking on site is limited so we do charge an...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

we stayed at marmadukes for the easter weekend in april for an uncles 50th birthday, and i must say its one of the comfiest most accommodating rooms we've stayed in, we reserved the loft suite, its the most expensive room i think but it was well worth it the bath room was the focal point, it had a twin shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niomi S
Marmadukes Town... H, Duty Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a perfect 5 out of 5 score! I am glad that you enjoyed our loft suite as you can imagine it is a very popular room due to the Sauna, Twin Shower and free standing roll top bath. With plenty of room for you to relax and unwind from your busy...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. (Laura on reception and the young lady who served me my breakfast, whose name I do not know.). I had a lovely room to stay in. The shower was a 'challenge' but, once I got it working, was superb. ONLY ONE CRITICISM, late(ish) night customers from the bar/restaurant being somewhat noisy outside (beneath)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank U6386GBmartinr
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and fabulous 5 stars you have awarded us. The team here are wonderful and Laura and Joanna are two shining stars heres, thank you for mentioning them. We will ask our night team to be particular vigilant in ensuring noise levels are contained and thank you for mentioning. Kindest Regards Lucy Neville

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here on the 7th may in the Loft Suite which I would highly recommended! The bathroom was defiantly my fave room - a sauna, bath tub and double shower!! The only slight negative I found was the bed being a lil hard but I think it was just personal preference as my boyfriend thought they were fine! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chez789xx
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and and amazing score of 5. Our Loft Suite is a very special suite with its own sauna and double shower, double ended bath. We are sorry to read that you found the bed hard, we do have different styles of mattress to accommodate requests however you wouldn't get this amazing bathroom. We are...

Ripley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed one night at Marmadukes Town House. Staff were lovely. Our room was small, but had everything we could want in it. Location was good and we found it easy and straightforward to walk into york from there. Bed was comfy and blinds to our skylight windows were virtually blackout so we both slept very well. Breakfast was good...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dawn S
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and leaving your lovely review for Marmadukes Town House Hotel. We are so pleased that you appreciated our location, being only a 10 minute walk to the city walls. We are thrilled to read you enjoyed your breakfast and hopefully set you up for the day. We hope to see you return back to...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a nice hotel - boutique rooms with deep baths - car parking on site ( extra charge £7 ) however, you can park on the street free from 4pm till 10am. Fairly close to the centre of York - a 15 minute stroll - friendly staff - small garden at the rear of the hotel where you can...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Clinky123
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and leaving your amazing 5 star review. We are thrilled to read you appreciated our bedrooms and deep baths, our car parking is charged at £7 and is pre-bookable. Please ensure you book prior to your stay. We hope you decide to return back to us in the future and thank you once again...

Livermore, California, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A great little private hotel 7 minutes pleasant walk to the minster. Good value, the room was clean and comfortable with older furniture in keeping with the age of the building. Very friendly staff. Good food.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Les G
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing Marmadukes Town House Hotel. Thank you for mentioning our excellent location and that we are excellent value. We are pleased that you found our team friendly and that our food was good. We hope to see you return in the future. Kindest Regards Lucy Neville

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night for a short vacation. The staff were very friendly and helpful and suggested places to go and eat. Our room was full of character and of a good size. The bathroom featured a standalone bath which was a nice feature. Although you could not open the window and the fan appeared not to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hazelkershaw
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing Marmadukes Town House Hotel. Thank you for mentioning our friendly them here and characterful bedrooms. All bedrooms should have a window that is working, we will look at this, if you could email me direct with which room you stayed in, I would greatly appreciate this. Yes our car parking is charged...

539 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (280)
Viewed
Room/Suite (83)
Viewed
Bathroom (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (72)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (225)
Viewed
Double Deluxe Red Room (29)
Viewed
Double Deluxe Toile de Jouy Room (22)
Viewed
Four-Poster Bed Room (22)
Viewed
Four-Poster Bed Room with Balcony (19)
Viewed
Loft Suite (34)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Single Room (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.7 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,135 reviews
0.8 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.0 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#21 of 46 in York
1,459 reviews
1.0 km away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
1,109 reviews
1.6 km away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in a tranquil, residential street, Marmadukes Town House Hotel offers free Wi-Fi, characterful rooms and is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal. All 21 en-suite bedrooms have been individually decorated with antique furniture and feature both tea/coffee making facilities and an en-suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries. The Park Restaurant has been awarded three AA Rosettes and serves a tasting menu. Guests can relax in the residents lounges or the private, walled garden to the rear of the property. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Address: 4-5 St. Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: $142 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmadukes Town House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Marmadukes Town House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmadukes York
Marmadukes Hotel York
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in York
#12 Romantic Hotel in York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Marmadukes Town House Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Warrington, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
9 months ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Marmadukes Town House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not sure, 1st time visit.”
hazelkershaw, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our room was just over the little courtyard - lovely”
DianeS504187, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Look on the web site”
  • Not best position for the TV
905martynf, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go to Churchills Hotel nearby”
honestypays_10, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book on the hotels own website for best prices”
X9847QQmartinc, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
USD 155* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 155
Hotels.comUSD 155
CheapTicketsUSD 155
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates