We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection

4 - 5 Saint Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (299)
Room & Suite (196)
Dining (24)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#4 of 52 hotels in York
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Located in a tranquil, residential street, Clementine's Town House Hotel offers free Wi-Fi, characterful rooms and is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal. All 27 en-suite bedrooms have been individually decorated with antique furniture and feature both tea/coffee making facilities and an en-suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries. Guests can relax in the residents lounges or the private, walled garden to the rear of the property. Clementine's Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Street parking
Public wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English

Location

4 - 5 Saint Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ England
Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
310Reviews6Q+A42Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 267
  • 21
  • 9
  • 7
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Julie B wrote a review Today
Liverpool, United Kingdom9 contributions16 helpful votes
Fantastic Location. Hotel itself is so quirky, the rooms where spacious, clean and cosy. Staff where welcoming and friendly on arrival. Lots of choice for breakfast, lovely and fresh. We will definitely return on our next visit to York. Thankyou
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mrs B wrote a review 20 Feb
26 contributions1 helpful vote
Absolutely stunning hotel! Very quirky and decorated to a high standard. Each room was different. We stayed in a 4 poster bed room. Couldn't fault it. Staff were so helpful and friendly and we got to meet Teddy the cat!!!!! Great selection drinks at their bar and breakfast was nice. Great coffee! If we return to York we will definitely choose this place to stay
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Cream tea ends at 5pm so get in quick
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Johnson, General Manager at Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for such a fabulous 5* review. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back again soon. Best Wishes, Laura
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
tinycok wrote a review 17 Feb
Richmond, United Kingdom200 contributions242 helpful votes
This is our third stay here. It’s our go to B&B when in York. Reception always make you feel welcome and nothing is ever too much trouble! The place is well decorated and beautifully thought out. Always clean. The beds are comfortable too. We saw the cat this time, he’s a permanent resident! He looks grumpy though
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Johnson, General Manager at Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for such a wonderful review. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your return visit. Teddy is generally pottering about looking for some cuddles, I am happy to hear he found you this time. We hope to see you again soon. Best Wishes, Laura
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jordan wrote a review 15 Feb
Sunderland, United Kingdom7 contributions2 helpful votes
We had an excellent stay! Absolutely loved the aesthetic of the room we stayed in and the townhouse as a whole, it feels very cozy, we wish our home could be the same! Teddy is a great resident, very polite and always happy to be stroked. The staff are very polite and friendly, we arrived quite late in Tuesday and the Cameron showed us to our room and gave us all information, Cameron was an amazing host and a great asset to the team. Next time we are visiting York we will be choosing here as our number one choice for stay. We can see all the rooms are designed individually and would like to stay in each room over time!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: This stay is a 10 minute walk from central York and perfect for anyone frequently visiting the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Johnson, General Manager at Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for such a lovely 5* review. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that Cameron and Teddy gave you a great welcome. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Best Wishes, Laura
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
freddy003 wrote a review 13 Feb
middlesbrough cleveland36 contributions22 helpful votes
Stayed here on 3rd Feb it's a gorgeous hotel our room was lovely and the breakfast next morning was gorgeous and staff are lovely however our stay was let down by the noise we had in the room which was constant apart from during the night when we are assuming no one was using the showers toilets in adjoining rooms, we stayed in the other building ground floor room which had your own little garden area, at times the noise was so bad it felt like a train going passed we can only assume it was maybe the boiler or the pipework behind the wall as you could hear water coming down the other side, we did let the girl on reception know about this next day and to maybe not put anyone in until it's been sorted out which I hope they have as I wouldn't want this lovely hotel to be let down by any negative reviews. I did also ring up when we got back home as hubby had left his charger in the wall and said if I paid would they post it back to us, receptionist said she would look into it but no one got back to me which I did feel for a 4 star hotel someone should have responded, know it was our fault mind leaving it just felt customer services wise and in view of having no sleep due to the noise they could have responded. Otherwise this is a gorgeous hotel in every way
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Johnson, General Manager at Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear you were impacted by noise but thank you for reporting this to us. Our maintenance team have been working to resolve this. Unfortunately we did not locate a charger in your room after your departure, I believe we had tried to call you to notify you of this. I apologise if perhaps this message went awry. I do hope you will be open to visiting us again so we can show you that this visit was not representative of the usual high levels of comfort and service we provide. Best Wishes, Laura
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Gabriel Andrews wrote a review 12 Feb
9 contributions1 helpful vote
Lovely, quirky hotel, in a convenient location, about 10 mins away from the city centre; clean and cosy rooms; friendly and very accommodating staff; breakfast had good vegetarian sausages (not fake meat); and a special mention to the adorable Teddy the cat, who became the highlight of our stay!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
B G M wrote a review 7 Feb
Brisbane, Australia5 contributions5 helpful votes
Ok. Stop looking. Go to this place. We did the look around for two hours trying to find a good spot close to the city centre - do not bother. They are absolute rubbish in comparison. This beautiful hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the city, and is worth every single cent. Staff are welcoming and attentive. Nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are simply perfect. Could not fault them. Do not go to the bigger chains as we thought we could - you get a box with a bed. This place gives you palatial type experience without the cost. In a word - wonderful. Just do it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Johnson, General Manager at Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Responded 3 weeks ago
What a wonderful 5* review to start the day reading. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you have had a fabulous time in the UK. Best Wishes, Laura
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Malcolm L wrote a review 2 Feb
1 contribution
Booked by my daughter for us as an anniversary present. Very helpfull friendly staff:) Room was outstanding, clean, well maintained. Vegan and vegetarian breakfast (delicious and filling). Short walk into York centre (took me and wife 10mins walking) My car wouldn't start but staff helped to get car started, I was well pleased:)))
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Johnson, General Manager at Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for such a fabulous 5* review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you didn't have any further car trouble on the way home. Best Wishes, Laura
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nigel M wrote a review Jan 2024
London, United Kingdom93 contributions62 helpful votes
Absolutely loved this hotel - shame we were only there for one night. The room was excellent and large. Decorations quirky but very fitting and excellently done. Bit of a walk to the centre but it was on a quiet side street so away from the noise from the city centre.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Johnson, General Manager at Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Responded 5 weeks ago
Thank you for such a lovely 5* review. We are so happy to hear your enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again in the future. Best Wishes, Laura
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
LucyNix wrote a review Jan 2024
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom55 contributions17 helpful votes
We visited here for our anniversary and were very kindly offered an upgrade to the room we had booked. We've stayed several times before and were not disappointed with the warm reception at the Clementines. Their staff probably has to be one of the reasons we've stayed several times but we particularly loved the new addition - Teddy the cat. The room was fabulously quirky, clean and unique. I loved the decor, the comfy bed & the lovely toiletries. Complimentary chocolate biscuits, as per our previous visit, were a lovely extra touch. We had breakfast on our first morning and while great, it was not quite as good as last time. This may be down to personal preference, but I loved the eggs benedic with pulled ham last time, so was a little disappointed with the bacon. Other than this, breakfast was extensive with tea/coffee, juice, pastry, yoghurt & granola followed by a cooked option. All in all, we had a superb visit and will definitely book again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is available at the hotel for a change of £15 per day.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Johnson, General Manager at Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Responded 4 Jan 2024
Dear Lucy, I am so happy to hear you had yet another enjoyable stay with us and hope to welcome you back again soon. Best Wishes, Laura
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the York area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$120 - AU$243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
marmadukes york, marmadukes hotel york
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireYork
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CLEMENTINE'S TOWN HOUSE HOTEL, BW PREMIER COLLECTION (AU$120): 2024 Prices & Reviews (York, England) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Which popular attractions are close to Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection?
Nearby attractions include York Minster (0.8 km), National Railway Museum (0.8 km), and Shambles (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and facilities for disabled guests.
Which room amenities are available at Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection?
Conveniently located restaurants include Casa Brazilian Rodizio, Wheldrakes, and The Taylor Made Kitchen.
Are there any historical sites close to Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection?
Many travellers enjoy visiting York Cold War Bunker (2.0 km), Holy Trinity Church (1.0 km), and Merchant Adventurers' Hall (1.3 km).
Is Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.