We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Crook Lodge Of York

Show Prices
#76 of 206 B&Bs / Inns in York
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Crook Lodge Of York
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Crook Lodge Of York
See the most recent reviews
Showing 127: English reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2016

I hadn't been to York since I was in Primary school and that was some 40 or so years ago, so I didn't know what to expect. Brian was the best welcome and host I could have wished for!! His service and smile are as welcoming as his rooms, which are very comfortable, equipped and peaceful. We was in a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephen L
France
Reviewed 4 July 2016

We chose this b+b after reading reviews here on trivadvisor but this is the worst room I have stayed in in years. No shower, not even a shower head on the bath. The room was very hot as under the roof. Window was tiny and in disgusting condition peeled paint and all. There was a fan which was dirty and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank happycrafter
roxyYork, Owner at Crook Lodge Of York, responded to this review

This review is unjustified which is why I am responding on this occasion On arrival after parking her car and carrying her heavy suit case to the room she seemed quite happy five minutes later the bell rang she complained there was not shower. It clearly states on the website that the twin room has a bath,however we did make...

Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2016

My mum and I stayed at Crook Lodge when we visited York. I must say was a brilliant experience which did make our visit to York really special. Being around 5 minutes walk to town it was situated perfectly. The room was immaculate and smelled fresh including the bed linen and bathroom. The only gripe with the room was that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paula W
NE England
Reviewed 16 May 2016

Have just returned from a two night stay at Crook Lodge which was everything we wanted from a B&B - comfy twin room with lovely beds, fabulous breakfasts (with excellent coffee!) warm, homely and very welcoming and in exactly the right location for the city centre and the Theatre Royal and within easy walking distance from the Railway Station. Delighted...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PatandJo
Peterlee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2016 via mobile

We booked into Crook lodge in York as a last minute booking via telephone. We had looked about on trip advisor for a place to stay in York and decided on Crook lodge for its location and price. Being just outside the city walls it was slightly cheaper than those within the walls but also had the bonus of free...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jdcarrpeterlee
Teesside
Reviewed 27 March 2016

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Crook Lodge. Absolutely great B & B, made to feel I keep home. Very clean and tidy room, comfy bed,slept like a dream. Superb breakfast, which really set you up for the day. Well looked after throughout our stay, very friendly owners. We will certainly be staying here again.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Robert T
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2016

Just returned from recent break in York. If you are looking for a home from home experience then cannot recommend Crook Lodge enough rooms lovely with good ensuite facilities, car parking which is a real bonus in York. Breakfast plentiful and very good choice of menu served by Brian the owner who is a great host. Will definitely visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Glynis T
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

I stayed here last weekend for my birthday. On a very quiet side street,only a few mins from the city centre. Brian is very helpful and friendly. The room was very clean and well decorated. It was en suite with a nice shower. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. I found this b n b on the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank karenhancock1979
Leicestershire UK
Reviewed 26 October 2015

My wife and I took our two girls to York in late October 15, we did not know what to expect really because we had not stayed at a B&B before. Well this stay really stood out. On arrival we were met and greeted by Brian the owner, who is a very friendly likeable chap. We had arrived very early...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank startpoint
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2015

Fantastic 3 day break at Crook Lodge. Brian the owner was very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Lovely room and comfy bed. Plenty of soft towels and toiletries Breakfasts were plentiful and lovely. Would definitely go back and would definitely recommend to anyone who wants to stay near Town Centre.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank lorraine055

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 km away
Hedley House Hotel
Hedley House Hotel
#18 of 46 in York
1,457 reviews
0.1 km away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#13 of 206 in York
636 reviews
0.1 km away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#20 of 206 in York
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Airden House
Airden House
#67 of 206 in York
237 reviews
0.4 km away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#32 of 206 in York
357 reviews
0.2 km away
The Georgian House
The Georgian House
#93 of 206 in York
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Crook Lodge Of York

Address: 26 St Marys Bootham, York YO30 7DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: $101 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crook Lodge Of York 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Crook Lodge Of York staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles roberttP8678PC, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We have always chosen Room 2 - but that is simply because it provides an easy way of watching TV whilst lounging on the bed (!)”
 of 5 bubbles davidQ9046VX, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Trust Brain and explain exactly what you want from your stay”
 of 5 bubbles 329stephenl, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“not the twin room on top floor............”
  • inside of kettle, puts you off drinking tea
  • our other window which could not be opened
  • bath, no shower head. Only a jug to rinse yourself.....
  • tiny window in our room
 of 5 bubbles happycrafter, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Those who struggle with stairs ask for a lower room.”
 of 5 bubbles paulawF3581TR, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5