We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Guy Fawkes Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Guy Fawkes Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,338 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,325: English reviews
Start your review of Guy Fawkes Inn
 Click to rate
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Ok, Good bits: The room was huge and quiet at night. Bar down stairs Breakfast included which was nice Bad bits: Staff member walked into our room while i was changing my shoes without knocking (bit rude and I could have been doing anything!) room needed updating - damp on ceiling, bed had missing nob on it, curtain was ripped,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hannah W
Marmadukes Town... H, Guest Relations Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback Hannah, the rooms in need of it will be undergoing refurbishments imminently, we're currently prioritising our to-do list so that it fits smoothly with the overall running of the inn beside it. Niggly bits is a good way to describe the issues you've brought up, because they're fairly easy to solve, but if unsolved - are...

Harrison, New York
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Guy Fawkes Inn for one night only, when we left we wished we had had just a little more time there. The room that we stayed in was one of the larger rooms, with a deep soaking tub. Both the bedroom and bathroom were spacious and clean. In terms of decor both the inn and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank samanthaschlein
Marmadukes Town... H, Staff at Guy Fawkes Inn at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review

What can we say, our steak pies are a favourite of so many who frequent our restaurant. It's great to hear that your experience at Guy Fawkes was as good as your review suggests. We're in the process of fixing our Wifi, which has had an erratic signal in some of our hotel rooms for a little while now. The...

Formby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Warm real ale which were served through autovacs and £3.95 a pint. Rip off even in York - shame because the place is full of character and the food looked great. Would have eaten here had the beer been better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elgregg0
Marmadukes Town... H, Staff at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review

Elgreggo, it's such a pity you've written us off without a second chance. Most likely, your warm beer was due to a warm glass, which would have been down to a mistake on a busy day at the weekend. Had you brought the pint back we'd have replaced it immediately. As for pricing, it reflects similar establishments in the area....

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Delicious food and great value, especially with the lunch menu - 2 courses for £12.50 and 3 for £15. The food was absolutely beautiful, I had prawns and avocado for starter and hake for main. Lovely, albeit disturbing, touches such as the signature of guy fawkes before and after his torture by the bar really brought alive the history of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank evekaye
Marmadukes Town... H, Staff at Guy Fawkes Inn at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review

We're thrilled (albeit unsurprised - our chefs and kitchen staff are exemplary) that your experience at our AA certified restaurant was as good as you describe in your review, Eve. We pride ourselves on using the finest, locally sourced ingredients in all our meals, and our new menu, designed by our head chef, which is homemade right down to the...

Bristol
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just got back from a weekend in York, staying at this lovely, quirky old pub. We stayed in room 11 which was downstairs. People were using the outside space and I did wonder how this would be for noise but it was all quiet by 10 30. We had WiFi (by the window). The room was lovely, different from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CUCME74
Marmadukes Town... H, Staff at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, CUCME74, we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Guy Fawkes' cottage; which is located out back in our courtyard. We take every measure to ensure guests are not disturbed by revellers, before as well as after 10.30pm when we close the beer garden; so it's great to hear that noise wasn't an issue for you...

UK
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Guy Fawkes is an old Inn close by the Minster, and you get what you'd expect from an old pub; creaky staircases, out of square doorframes, etc. But the rooms are well modernised (tho lacking a fridge) and ours had a large and very comfortable bed. we were on the top floor (3) which is a bit of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank genghis15
England
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice and quirky place to stay. Right in the centre and next to the cathedral. Great location. This place is different to other hotels/B&Bs and whilst worth a visit, it would be worth staying when there are deals on as i don't think it would be worth paying the full price they ask for, especially at peak times. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gingersweets
Marmadukes Town... H, Staff at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, Gingersweets. Quirky and different is a great way to describe Guy Fawkes Inn. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in our Belfrey suite. We're sorry that your breakfast experience was just okay. We just recently updated our breakfast menu, adding new options to suit every palate and most dietary requirements (Gluten Free, Vegetarian, etc...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So location is excellent though no parking but it's central York so to be expected - no points lost there but ask about the parking pass to save yourself a few pounds against the normal prices in marygate car park...perhaps the hotel should provide that on a complimentary basis? The building has great history, huge character and the staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
Marmadukes Town... H, Staff at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback and suggestions, Stephen. We will certainly consider your suggestion about the parking vouchers. We're due to refurbish the rooms in the near future to bring out the sparkle that you seem to have felt was lacking during your stay on this occasion. We agree the building is full of character. We're also delighted that upon arrival...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great place to have a few beers and soak up the historic atmosphere! Just across the road from the Minster so you can't miss it. The local ales that are on are great, definitely worth a taste. Would go back in a heartbeat!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank finchkat
Marmadukes Town... H, Staff at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review

Hi Finchkat, We're so glad you enjoyed your time at Guy Fawkes. Our ales are brewed in Yorkshire, our food is of the highest quality and locally sourced, supporting the local economy. Why not book a table in our restaurant for an evening meal or one of our celebrated Sunday roasts next time you decide to visit? Be sure to...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After a beautiful day walking around York, we decided on a roast dinner at Guy Fawkes, after a few minutes wait we were sat down and forgotten about, from the initial sit down nothing about the specials or meals were explained by the waitress who sat us, after 10 minutes another couple were sat down by a more professional waitress...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bernie_travelli
Marmadukes Town... H, Staff at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review

Sounds like you had an unpleasant experience, Bernie. We're sorry that you and your girlfriend did not receive the high standard of service we're usually celebrated for. All our waitresses are professional, but human. From what we've been able to gather, your girlfriend was walked away from mid-sentence because the waitress in question had several very heavy plates in her...

623 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (454)
Viewed
Bathroom (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (132)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (170)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (146)
Viewed
Belfrey Suite (41)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (21)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (20)
Viewed
Four Poster Room (24)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 km away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#13 of 46 in York
972 reviews
0.2 km away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#34 of 205 in York
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
0.2 km away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#24 of 205 in York
1,006 reviews
0.3 km away
Judges Court Hotel
Judges Court Hotel
#51 of 205 in York
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Guy Fawkes Inn stands next to York Minster and was the birthplace of the notorious plotter, Guy Fawkes. The Inn offers 4-star rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs and home-cooked, AA Rosette food. Decorate with antique furniture and Italian fabrics, the rooms feature handmade beds, tea/coffee making facilities and bathrooms with complimentary toiletries from H2K of Harrogate. Many rooms have views of York Minster, the city or the courtyard towards the rear of the Inn where Guy Fawkes was born. The Guy Fawkes Inn retains many original features including the timber staircase, gas lighting and real log fires. Dine by candlelight in the Inn's restaurant, which serves traditional pub-food using locally sourced ingredients. The bar stocks a wide range of real ales and a broad selection of wines. The world famous Ghost Walk leaves every night just around the corner. York Theatre Royal and the National Railway Museum are both just a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Guy Fawkes Inn

Address: 25 High Petergate, York YO1 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: $156 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Guy Fawkes Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Guy Fawkes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guy Fawkes York
Guy Fawkes Hotel York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Guy Fawkes Inn staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Guy Fawkes Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I wouldnt bother”
 of 5 bubbles 772hannahw, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't miss the breakfast, it's a fab way to start the day”
 of 5 bubbles samanthaschlein, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“For an early night, pick something other than Guy Fawkes Cotttage”
 of 5 bubbles CUCME74, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Second floor is a bit of a climb, no lift; courtyard rooms are available too”
 of 5 bubbles genghis15, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Cottage deluxe rooms are right beside the beer garden, probably quieter at night than the ones inside the inn dependent on fellow guests”
 of 5 bubbles RB900, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5