We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Middletons York

Show Prices
#23 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Middletons York
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

763 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Middletons York
See the most recent reviews
Showing 753: English reviews
rossendale
Reviewed 6 July 2015

The building and gardens are beautiful but management really need to test drive their Afternoon Tea and make staff aware of how it should be served. Very disappointing as this was quite expensive for afternoon tea. We were served in the gardens but we had a few issues. *The bread the sandwiches were made from tasted stale *Halfway through the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank christinemcdo83
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Hi there Christine, I would like to apologise for the issues that you experienced during your afternoon tea! It is not a regular occurrence, and if you could please email bookings@middletonsyork.co.uk with a copy of this review, we would like to get in contact with you direct! Kind regards, Middletons

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 July 2015 via mobile

We booked it very late and in last minute. hotel itself is very gorgeous and historic. It is in town centre and close to all amenities. There is car park for guest that is a massive help. There are few issues that disappointed me. Firstly, upon my check in, there was one in reception and had to find the receptionist...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank albaloo428
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your review! I apologise for the few issues that cropped up during your stay. I will pass them on to management. We hope you'll be back, and that we can make your stay perfect next time! Kind regards, Middletons

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2015

My wife and I have stayed at the Lady Anne Middleton for a number of years however our visit in July 2015 was the first for over a year which was unusual. We have always enjoyed the Hotel and viewed it as an oasis of tranquility, a stones throw from the city centre. We were absolutely blown away with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James A
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Hi there James, Thank you very much for the wonderful review! We are thrilled that the changes we have made have improved the hotel in your mind, it is lovely to have the hard work pay off! We hope you will be back again soon, hopefully with even more improvements in place! Kind regards, Middletons

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2015

We stayed at the Middletons York during Easter with our 1 year old and really liked it there. Walking distance from the raily station and York's sights. There was a route from the hotel directly to the river bank and my son enjoyed feeding the pigieons there. Very easy access to restaurants and plethora of shopping and eating. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dilw0rth
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for the great review, I am sorry the stay was not quite 5 stars! We hope to see you again soon, and hopefully we can make your stay 5/5 next time! Best wishes, Middletons

Reviewed 1 July 2015

Quirky hotel consisting of various attractive buildings and a hotchpotch of rooms. Fast free wifi allowed us to stream with our iPads. Oddly, 2 of their 3 most expensive rooms (executive) are on ground floor if that is your cup of tea but it wasn't ours (people walking by, unable to leave windows open on a stifling hot June day)...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MyConsideredOpinion
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for your review. I am glad you were pleased with your room. Unfortunately, the pond is in the middle of being altered to create an outdoor terrace, so I apologise for the disruption regarding that. I will pass on the comments regarding the picnic tables, as these should be regularly checked! We hope you will...

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2015

This is a diamond of a hotel . It is 5 minutes walk to the city centre. If you want a hotel that has charm and the personal touch this is the hotel for you. The food was splendid but the high point for us was the staff. The lady organising the breakfast was excellent but topped by 'Gino' on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trev l
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Hello Trev, Thanks so much for the great 5/5 review! It's lovely that our staff really improved your stay. We hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, Middletons

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2015

Stayed with friends in a room with 3 single beds right at the top of the hotel, small room but adequate enough for what we needed. TV would not work and room was stuffy (lucky to have hot weather on our weekend away in York) so contacted reception and requested a fan. They came straight away and fixed tv/brought a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lovebirdsplus3
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks very much for the kind review. I am glad the few issues you faced did not impact your stay too much, and I will pass them on to the relevant staff members to make any changes we can to improve. We hope you will come back and have a 5/5 stay! Best wishes, Middletons

Colorado
Reviewed 29 June 2015

We really liked this hotel. The staff were great, the breakfasts were delicious, the rooms were large, and the grounds were beautiful. Very good location, with about a 10 minute’s walk into central York, and a 10 minute walk from the train station. We stayed in the Terry Memorial Houses in the garden, in a family room. Very nice sized...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Owenthomas
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Hi Owen, Thanks for the fabulous review! We hope to see you again in the future! Kind regards, Middletons

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2015

Made to feel welcome from the minute we arrived ! Came on a last minute! Lets go to York for two nights break ,so had only booked the night before ! Hotel is really clean with cosy areas to sit quietly inside and out garden area beautiful you don't feel like your in the centre of the city ! Room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JulieMaria333
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Hi Julie, Thank you very much for the fantastic review, so please to read that you will be back! We look forward to your return, and remember to book direct for the 10% discount! Best wishes, Middletons

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 June 2015 via mobile

We stayed in the little cottage bit of the hotel. The pub part of the restaurant was lovely and the ambiance was perfect- the shabby chic style made it look so pretty and the restaurant part was great for a romantic dinner or a celebration. The food was good- sometimes a bit too small a portion but still tasty. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hannahmay8188
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Hi Hannah, Thank you for your review! I apologise for the issues in your room, and I will ensure housekeeping chase up these issues! We hope you will return and we can improve your opinion! Best wishes, Middletons

439 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (193)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (112)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (233)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Bedroom (18)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (21)
Viewed
Deluxe Single Room (16)
Viewed
Deluxe Triple Room (20)
Viewed
Other (47)
Viewed
Pool (5)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Small Double Room (16)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.7 km away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#13 of 46 in York
973 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
The Churchill Hotel
0.4 km away
Park Inn by Radisson York
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Middletons York

Address: Skeldergate, York YO1 6DS, England (Formerly Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: $127 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Middletons York 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Middletons York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Anne Middletons York
Hotel Lady Anne Middletons
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Middletons York staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Middletons York staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Worth paying for more than the basic double!”
 of 5 bubbles CH797, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Quiet rooms in outer buildings”
 of 5 bubbles Z8247YIdavidl, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Quiet, good location”
 of 5 bubbles patriciahegarty, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were in room 14 it was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles ginand2nic, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ANY of the rooms seemed to be in good locations”
 of 5 bubbles Red_Admiral_R06, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5