We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Middletons York

Show Prices
#24 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Middletons York
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

671 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Middletons York
See the most recent reviews
Showing 662: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here this weekend.The hotel is really nice and the staff are fantastic.There is a gym and small pool but didn't use them.Really close to center about 5mins walk so really convenient.My only down points are the rooms, mainly bathroom needs an upgrade (loose stained tiles above shower) and breakfast is steep.One of our party asked for poached egg...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stinger81
MiddletonsYork, Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank-you for your review we have thoroughly enjoyed reading your comments and we will really enjoy passing them onto our team. Our hotel is under constant refurbishment, being an independent hotel this process can be slower than that of a chain. We will take your feedback on board about breakfast and your room and utilize them in our...

Hertfordshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Welcoming and cosy but slightly rough round the edges. Staff friendly and helpful. It did feel a little expensive for what is offered and at £10 extra for parking and £20 apiece for early check-in and breakfast it becomes quite costly for a snug room and bathroom barely a metre and a half square. That said the bed was huge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bluebeaver71
MiddletonsYork, Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Good Evening, Thank-you for your feedback, we appreciate your comments as we are constantly trying to improve our products and services. We always want our guests to feel like they have received value for money, we will utilize this feedback when putting together our next rate strategies. Should you be returning to York in the future we would be delighted...

London
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Took my son to York for some horrible history and we had a fabulous time. But Middletons set me back £440 for two nights and I was therefore expecting something special. What we got was disappointing. - We arrived 30 minutes before check in and were told we could not get into the room (not that anybody actually checked) so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LondonJuleslondon
MiddletonsYork, Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Good Evening, Thank-you for your feedback, we appreciate your comments as we are constantly trying to improve our products and services. We will take your comments on board regarding the cost of your stay and utilize them when creating our next rate strategies. We are extremely sorry you were also disappointed with breakfast. We will ensure your comments are discussed...

Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Situated close to the centre of York, ten minutes walk from the train station, this hotel is well located for tourist visits. It is quirky being based around a courtyard that would be lovely in the Summer months. The bar area/dining room are cleverly decorated to give the impression of being in a woodshed. The handles and bolts in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thecatsmum4
MiddletonsYork, Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Good Evening, Thank-you for your review we have thoroughly enjoyed reading your comments and we will really enjoy passing them onto our team. We will take your feedback on board regarding your dining experience and use them in our next meeting with our Food and Beverage department to ensure future guests don't feel the same disappointment. Should you be returning...

Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked in for a Thursday to Sat night break, although arriving late the receptionist was friendly and helpful. In fact all during our stay the staff were helpful and answered any questions we had about the Hotel, the hotel amenities and York. Our room had recently been refurbished and was clean, well presented and a good size. Breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NickandLindsey
MiddletonsYork, Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Good Evening, Thank-you for your review we have thoroughly enjoyed reading your comments and we will really enjoy passing them onto our team. We are thrilled you enjoyed our Breakfast and Carvery, Pete our Head Chef will be delighted with your comments. Should you be returning to York we would love to welcome you back to Middletons! Remember to always...

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a nice Hotel in a very central location. My room was nice and clean, had coffee and tea making facilities, robe and slipper and a hair dry. Wall mounted TV and the usual shampoo and conditioner. Book for a one night stay. Arrive quite a bit earlier than expected 9.30 but check in was 2.30. I would have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary T
MiddletonsYork, Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Good Evening, Thank-you for your feedback, we appreciate your comments as we are constantly trying to improve our products and services. We will take your comments on board with regards to your issues and discuss them in our next meeting with our directors. Best Regards, Middletons, York

Folkestone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The warmest welcome, the lovely staff can't do enough to make guests comfortable. Middletons is full of history. Lovely cosy, clean and tasteful rooms, plenty of places to chill. Perfect for a cold winter weekend in the loveliest city there is. Access to a health club is an unexpected extra. Comfortable walking distance from the centre of York, but quiet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stella Q
MiddletonsYork, Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Good Evening, Thank-you for your review we have thoroughly enjoyed reading your comments and we will really enjoy passing them onto our team. York is such a magical city, especially this time of year we are so glad you enjoyed it. Should you be returning to York we would be delighted to welcome you back to Middletons! Remember to always...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed one night here with a group of friends. They stayed for a further night. Three of us shared one of the "cottage rooms" which was extremely spacious with two singles and a double bed. Clean and large ensuite bathroom, and loads of space. Tea / coffee making facilities, complimentary toiletries, extra towels etc. Just a short walk across...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julienorton2016
MiddletonsYork, Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Good Evening, Thank-you for your review we have thoroughly enjoyed reading your comments and we will really enjoy passing them onto our team. We are thrilled you enjoyed The Jazz Night and will inform you when the next one is scheduled. Should you be returning to York we would be delighted to welcome you back to Middletons! Remember to always...

Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here Nov 13-15 and booked an executive double room.. we were allocated room 60.. Wow! Not disappointed it was fabulous a large spacious room with seating area, large double bed,superb bathroom with roll top bath, separate shower.. Very very clean.. Facilities brilliant great gym & small pool It's a quirky hotel love the different parts of the hotel, it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scrammie
MiddletonsYork, Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Good Evening, Thank-you for your review we have thoroughly enjoyed reading your comments and we will really enjoy passing them onto our team. Should you be returning to York we would be delighted to welcome you back to Middletons! Remember to always book direct with us as we offer 10% off accommodation. Best Regards, Middletons, York

Cheshire
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My two children and I stayed in a huge (3 x double beds) and lovely room in the "Terry Memorial House" - a coach house in the grounds of this quirky hotel. Huge bonus points from the younger guests for also being a Pokemon stop! We had a lovely supper in the hotel restaurant - the welcome was warm, service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hotel_Clara
MiddletonsYork, Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Good Evening, Thank-you for your review we have thoroughly enjoyed reading your comments and we will really enjoy passing them onto our team. We are thrilled that your children also enjoyed their time at our hotel. Should you be returning to York we would be delighted to welcome you back to Middletons! Remember to always book direct as we always...

401 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (155)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (74)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (233)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Bedroom (18)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (21)
Viewed
Deluxe Single Room (16)
Viewed
Deluxe Triple Room (20)
Viewed
Other (47)
Viewed
Pool (5)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Small Double Room (16)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 46 in York
847 reviews
0.9 km away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.8 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.5 km away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.6 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Middletons York

Address: Skeldergate, York YO1 6DS, England (Formerly Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: $109 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Middletons York 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Middletons York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Anne Middletons York
Hotel Lady Anne Middletons
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Middletons York staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Middletons York staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 10 is huge.”
 of 5 bubbles Champagnequeen9, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in room 48, ground floor and against the street. The street was quiet and room had secondary glazing”
 of 5 bubbles buttonsmum, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you do not want to hear the noise from the carpark do not have a room at the back on the first floor, especially by the entrance barrier.”
 of 5 bubbles Beeseli, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We were very happy to be on the third floor-quiet- though no lift for luggage”
 of 5 bubbles 774JanC, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to ask for a room away from the road.”
 of 5 bubbles LondonJuleslondon, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay