We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel

Show Prices
#25 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

466 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 461: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first experience of staying at an hotel in York for our Valentine Celebration. We found that it was a very beautiful hotel, just refurbished to a very high standard. The room was good the food excellent and the staff helpful, although it was difficult to understand the male receptionist and his poor english. The only dissatisfaction was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
garya224, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Ron, Thank you for completing the review regarding your recent stay with us at our property. I am pleased you had a nice stay overall and had a relaxing valentines break away. All our receptionists have more than adequate levels of spoken and written English and we do employ staff from all nationalities. I am sorry you did...

Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Took my partner to york last Saturday for a last minute night away. Arrived early, left our bag at the hotel (which was later put into our room for us) and explored york easily due to the fantastic location. Later, check in at 2pm was very friendly and as I work for BW, the manager of reception was asking me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NPNE
garya224, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for completing the review regarding your recent stay with us at our property. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location of the hotel convenient for visiting York and found the staff welcoming and friendly during the stay. I am sorry you missed breakfast due to being unwell (I hope...

YORK, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 322susanv
garya224, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel, responded to this review

Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So it was my birthday , and my other half suggested we come to York and explore relax in a nice hotel, I would also recommend the best western to everyone due to our amazing experiences here and our value for money, however I was a tad dissapoineted. We arrived after our 2 hour journey , I checked in asked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonya8093
Gary A, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel, responded to this review

Good evening Sonya, This is a disappointing review to read. I do apologise for any issues you had during the stay. We take all comments seriously so thank you for your view. In regards to parking and beds, we do offer all guests parking At the discounted rate of £8 in the secure car park just two minutes walk from...

Luxembourg
Reviewed 1 week ago

We contacted the hotel after the Hilton we had booked had overbooked and could not accommodate us. Reception staff could not have been more accommodating. They swapped rooms around to ensure we had a nice stay. All stay were very friendly and the bars were clean and tidy. Breakfast was excellent. I've got to say though, that their chef produces...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LachieMhor
Gary A, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel, responded to this review

Good evening, Thank you for completing the review regarding your recent stay with us at our property. I am glad we were able to accommodate you and very pleased to read the review. I'm glad you found the service and good to be of high standard and I will most certainly pass on the comments. Thank you again and hope...

North Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is ideal for visiting York minster and the town attractions. It is a 3 minute walk to the Minster and the Shambles and market areas and is across the street from the Monks Gate of the Town Walls. You have to pay an extra £8 for 24 hours of parking in the public car park next door but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaiandLyn103
Gary A, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel, responded to this review

Good evening, Thank you for completing the review regarding your recent stay with us at our property. Your business is important to us and we value the feedback so we can keep delivering high standards of service and improve the overall experience in the future. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found the staff helpful which is great....

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When we arrived the location of the hotel was great 2 minutes from the centre of town we had to pay for parking as no parking facilities at the hotel the staff were friendly and the overall hotel was good. We were told how to get to our room and had to go through corridors then outside and straight back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kay M
Management response:

Good evening Kay, Thank you for the review regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. Many thanks for...

Stratford-upon-Avon, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Monkbar hotel is a nice clean up todate hotel nice and comfortable and all the staff are very nice,the breakfast we had was a buffet and had a good selection on offer,we would stay again if in York again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucas W
Management response:

Good afternoon Lucas, Thank you for the review regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. I am glad...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

2 night stay for our sightseeing weekend , great location, staff really helpful , car parking 1 minute away and great value . The bar and lounge area were modern clean and comfortable making it a perfect place to relax for pre dinner drinks , I would stay again but I would ask for a different Room as ours was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
garya224, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Richard, Thank you for the review regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. Many thanks for...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed once again and was again very satisfied with the cleanliness and all aspects of the Hotel.All staff were very approachable on the few occasions that we needed to speak to them,especially the front desk. Car parking is a good rate for York .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GYDR
garya224, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for the review regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. Thank you for the...

289 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (129)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (99)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (134)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Double Bedroom (23)
Viewed
King Bedroom (24)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Superior Bedoom (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.7 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
996 reviews
0.7 km away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.8 km away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#32 of 46 in York
1,697 reviews
1.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Following an extensive £3m refurbishment program the Monkbar Hotel has been transformed into a stunning contemporary, boutique hotel 4 star hotel. Now boasting 125 individually designed and decorated rooms, some overlooking our Yorkshire courtyard garden, others overlooking the City Walls and some with a Minster View. As any true destination hotel our restaurant - The Yorkshire Bar and Grill - will not disappoint. A stunning bar and grill concept open for brunch from 8am daily, you will be greeted by staff with a professional yet relaxed approach, who appreciate the importance of great service - and great coffee! During the day you can take your pick from modern tapas-style dishes made with the best of Yorkshire produce or be swept away with an incredible restaurant menu. Armchairs and booths make the bar a perfect place for meeting friends you can simply relax in the bar with a glass of locally distilled Mason's gin and tonic or on sunny days enjoy a bite to eat in the beautiful walled garden. Produce is key, so our Head Chef Ben and the team have chosen incredible local suppliers to create a seasonal menu that will showcase the best of local produce and put The Yorkshire bar and grill firmly on the culinary map. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel

Address: St. Maurices Road, York YO31 7JA, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: $135 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in York
#11 Luxury Hotel in York
#13 Romantic Hotel in York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Portsmouth, United Kingdom

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We where at the rear of the building 2nd floor. Very good.”
 of 5 bubbles 48RonB, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Do not choose room 63”
 of 5 bubbles 209kaym, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 308 was nice. 2 storey up, I think. Quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles webpostie, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one away from main front”
 of 5 bubbles caroleh889, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“on a main road so ask for a room at the rear i would have thought! nothing major though noise wise.”
 of 5 bubbles TimJ935, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5