We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Carlill B&B

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Carlill B&B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Carlill B&B
See the most recent reviews
Showing 123: English reviews
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2015

The rooms are somewhat basic, with no soap, shower gel, shampoo provided. The room we stayed in although spacious was in need of refurbishment / redecoration, The sheets were clean, however the wash hand basin could have been cleaned more thoroughly. The hot water for the early morning shower took ages to come through (more than 10minutes). We were unable... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ruth H
IceMaid1971, Owner at Carlill B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your stay with us wasn't as enjoyable as it could be if you had brought them to our attention whilst you were here we could have tried to rectify them. We trade ourselves as a basic family run seaside B&B and pride ourselves in providing clean, comfortable rooms and a good... More 

West Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2015

When I read the first review prior to my visit I was cautiously optimistic about our future 2 night stay. When we arrived the exterior had a look of needing some refurbishment and that also followed on into the property and certainly our room. I was very disappointed with the room. It was small and very dated if not verging... More 

Helpful?
Thank Superdi
IceMaid1971, Owner at Carlill B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your stay with us wasn't as enjoyable as it could be. We trade ourselves as a basic family run seaside B&B and pride ourselves in providing clean, comfortable rooms and a good breakfast. We only took over the business in May 2105 and we have a schedule of renovations in place... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2015

The location was perfect, views stunning, and most importantly the hosts were welcoming. The room was bright and comfortable and the breakfast was amazing. My husband and I stayed for one night whilst visiting the area. Karina and Rob who run the Carlill look to have a formula that works. The rooms are elegant, the building beautiful and traditional and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthless1977
IceMaid1971, Owner at Carlill B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you had a nice stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Rob and Karina More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2014 via mobile

Congratulations. To the proud new proprietors.Katrina and Rob. Such a wonderful weekend. Me and mine wish you and your family much success. We can't wait to come again. Once again thank u. Absolutely fab. From Linda N eil and Alan Parkin.

Helpful?
Thank Linda N
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had a 2 night stay here in the family room with my husband and 2 small children. The owners were such friendly and warm people and they went out of their way to help and accommodate us. The view from the room was a breath taking view of the sea which I absolutely loved. The room was very large... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarahlouisewragg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here just after getting back from Majorca, with our 4 kids , for the reggatta, and had a great time, the kids enjoyed it more here than Majorca, and we would happily stay here again , simply because of the people running the place, couldn't meet nicer folk, will definitely revisit next year, if available, great

Helpful?
1 Thank m0114
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Me my wife, step-son and nine-month old son booked to stay at the Avalon as a last minute break on the last weekend of August. Charlie was a brilliant host from moving his car to let me park mine on arrival, to allowing us use of his DVDs, big screen and fridge to store our drinks throughout the weekend there.... More 

Helpful?
Thank craig_smithson
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Charlie greeted us warmly on arrival and showed us to our room. A thoroughly lovely genuine man who made sure that we wanted for nothing. We (me, my husband and our 3 1/2 year old) had a brilliant mini break, were very lucky with the weather (1st week in Sept) and had a lovely first holiday away from home as... More 

Helpful?
Thank mickeybee72
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Sorry about this; we do not like to be disparaging, but 'Ugly Duckling' is the nearest we can get to discribing this B&B. The entrance and reception were of reasonable cleanliness but not smart. We were greeted by Charlie, the very friendly owner dressed, un-smart casuall, in shorts and sandals. Not a good first impression. Our room was situated on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank STEPHEN H
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I booked this hotel as it was convenient to where we wanted to be. On the morning of the day we were due to travel up to Whitby we had a phone call from Charles the owner of the Hotel. What a lovely man!. He was ringing to tell us about parking at the hotel and the fact that it... More 

Helpful?
Thank CLAIRE S

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.4 km away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
947 reviews
0.1 km away
Elizabeth House
Elizabeth House
#3 of 42 in Whitby
129 reviews
0.2 km away
Seacrest Guesthouse
Seacrest Guesthouse
#42 of 152 in Whitby
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#23 of 152 in Whitby
533 reviews
1.0 km away
Woodside Villa
Woodside Villa
#85 of 152 in Whitby
89 reviews
0.1 km away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#3 of 152 in Whitby
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Carlill is a family run seaside bed and breakfast. We are ideally located on the West Cliff in Whitby, just a short walk from The Spa Pavilion, beach, whale bones and town. We have a variety of en suite rooms available, some with sea views. All rooms have hospitality trays and TVs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Carlill B&B

Address: 13-14 Royal Crescent | West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Price Range: $68 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Carlill B&B staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Leeds, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Carlill B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“WiFi is poor on the second floor but great in the communal lounge”
 of 5 bubbles anne818, 26 Apr 2016 | Read review
“have rooms on three levels but no lift”
 of 5 bubbles peter4434, 13 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a sea view to help compensate.”
 of 5 bubbles 915rutha, 1 Sep 2015 | Read review
“The sea view rooms have the best view.”
 of 5 bubbles Sarahlouisewragg, 18 Aug 2014 | Read review
“If you want a special room ask for room 18 it is beautiful!”
 of 5 bubbles 579claires, 28 Jul 2013 | Read review
5 of 5