We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Wheeldale

TripAdvisorUSD 94*
View Deal
#13 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 94*
USD 94*
USD 94*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Wheeldale
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

350 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Wheeldale
See the most recent reviews
Showing 348: English reviews
holidays
Reviewed 10 March 2016 via mobile

Very good bed and breakfast. We we made very welcome, our room was very clean and well maintained as the rest of the premises were. Excellent breakfast was served. It is close to the town centre and in a quiet area with parking also. I would recommend this B&B if you are staying in this area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aambrosone
PeterColeman, Owner at The Wheeldale, responded to this review

Many thanks for the positive review hope to see you again soon. kind regards Peter and Rebecca

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 February 2016

One night stay , room ok the times for breakfast are ridiculous between 8 am and 9 am. Work all week and get up at 6 so like a lie in on a Sunday. So after a late night with a few drinks the last thing I wanted to do was get up so early for breakfast. Also you have...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dave2517
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Stayed at the wheeldale hotel on the 27th of april paid 90 pounds for a double room the hotel room was very nice how ever the breakfast was 8 oclock till 9 oclock which is absolutely ridiculous if you have worked all week and you go away for the night you don't want to get up at 8 oclock on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shaun C
Reviewed 23 February 2016

I can't comment on the B&B itself as I wasn't able to stay. I did however book a room at a cost of £75, but due to unforeseen circumstances I could no longer stay so I rang to cancel my booking and get a refund (this is 5 weeks prior to when I booked to stay - plenty of advance...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Dan N
PeterColeman, Owner at The Wheeldale, responded to this review

Hello Dan Do you know what a deposit is? If I had known you were going to put this on here you would never of been given anything back at all which I deeply regret giving you any options including letting your friends have the room. Booking deposits are non-refundable so we suggest you take out holiday cancellation insurance which...

Hull
Reviewed 21 February 2016

This one of the best b&bs weve stayed in. We stayed in room 7 which had a large window with fantastic sea views. The room was very clean and well decorated. This is the first hotel we have stayed which has Sky sports and movies. The breakfasts were very tasty with plenty of choice. The hotel is well situated on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2016

A lovely seafront hotel with great facilities and friendly staff. Upon arrival on the 15th Febuary we were shown to our room which was nice and quiet around the back of the building looking a large sports field. The room was very clean and spacious with a lovely jacuzzi bath , large screen tv and Sky. We would of liked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
Reviewed 16 February 2016

The Wheeldale , was a great experience and would have stayed longer had our schedule allowed ,we had the small double on the first floor , Staff friendly,helpful and efficient , room and communal areas spotlessly clean , facilities good quality , Breakfast well presented ,plenty of choice and cooked to perfection .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chris c
Kirkby-in-Ashfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the wheeldale 4/5 feb. Very welcoming and friendly staff at this clean and comfy b&b. Situated above the beach at Whitby. Easy walk into Whitby town - approx 10 minutes. Lovely places to eat at night. Would recommend the fishermans wife - walk down the steps near the whale bones. Breakfast plentiful. Good choice of cereals ,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gromitkim
england
Reviewed 30 January 2016 via mobile

Fantastic view, beautiful winter weather, brisk walk into Whitby. Nice size bathroom, pleasant shower, comfy bed. Pleasant room. A more welcoming reception wouldn't go a miss. Combined with less buttery mushrooms. Plenty of choice for breakfast. Pleasant stay, would have scored higher for a friendlier reception.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank happypeople406
Yorkshire
Reviewed 1 January 2016

We had room 10 which was very good and spacious for our needs. Sea view somewhat restricted due to position of room but not a problem-we knew it was when we booked it.. Woken up around 5am by revellers from the hotel next door, unfortunately. Otherwise the Wheeldale has a peaceful atmosphere, no one to bother us and the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank YorkshireMartinez

98 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.1 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,961 reviews
0.9 km away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,071 reviews
0.0 km away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#16 of 20 in Whitby
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 km away
Saxonville Hotel
Saxonville Hotel
#11 of 20 in Whitby
283 reviews
0.9 km away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#10 of 20 in Whitby
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Wheeldale

Address: 11 North Promenade, Whitby YO21 3JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Price Range: $122 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wheeldale 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Wheeldale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheeldale Hotel Whitby
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#7 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Wheeldale staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Wheeldale staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to get a sea view”
toniam881, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had room 12 a large double room with an attached twin room, on ground floor suitable for a family.”
rodney682, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 9 has a small shower room. Very quiet.”
simonwI2882TQ, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I think the earlier you book helps if you want a sea view.”
cliden, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in room 9”
dorothyb582, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
USD 94* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 94
PricelineUSD 94
Agoda.comUSD 94
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates