We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Angel Hotel

Show Prices
#2 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Angel Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

832 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 832: English reviews
Yorkshire
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very good value, but can be chaotic at times. Usual extensive menu. Disappointed in their Fish and Chips. Had Fish and Chips before at Weatherspoons Scarborough, but far superior to the Whitby fayre. Christmas decorations were very welcoming on a cold night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireTaggart
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have stayed in the hotel many times as it is in a great location for Whitby. However, this time we felt ripped off as we paid over £270.00 for two nights in a luxury family room without breakfast! The room was cold, uninviting and shabby when we arrived, so disappointing. There was no telescope as there had been in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 664Anna_F
Angel H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay. Rest assured had you spoken to our 24 hour reception team we would have been more than happy to solve any problems you had. We don't advertise breakfast and only have a room only rate available. It's not often we get a complaint...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Lovely pub. Boisterous staff scraping chairs around tables as they where tidying up. Whilst doing so talking really loud to each other forgetting that customers where close by .No respect for people trying to have a meal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy D
Angel H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are sorry you thought the staff were noisy. We do however have to reset tables and this will often make some noise although I will be sure to let staff know to try and limit this as much as possible. Thanks again for your review.

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed here many times and always enjoy the experience. Check in is really easy. With being a Wetherspoons hotel you have the benefit of popping downstairs to have drink or a bite to eat. We had a luxury room and had a view of the harbour. Tea and coffee was available in the room along with bottles of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pudseysteve
Angel H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great comments, I'm so pleased you enjoyed staying with us once again. I look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best wishes

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was very nice, very clean. But the windows were really high up so we couldn't actually see out of them. But I suppose we didn't spend much time in our room so it didn't really matter. Also - note to switch the air con unit off at night - it kept going off through the night which kept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paulandogs123
Angel H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I'm pleased you were overall very happy with your room, and found it to be very clean- our housekeepers do work extremely hard and will be happy to hear your comments. There are a couple of our rooms where the windows are higher than others, but many are low,...

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came away with friends and it was ok very clean I did think it was pricey as your had to pay extra for breakfast for two night it was £186 and around £13 for breakfast for two, you can stay in a good b&b with breakfast for a lot less then that (and they don't have parking)....I was worried as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katiepursglove
Angel H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am pleased to hear you found your room to be quiet, and enjoyed a good night's sleep during your stay with us. Our housekeepers do work very hard and will appreciate your kind words regarding the cleanliness of our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent 2 nights at the Angel - accommodation is top notch, beds comfy and bedroom design and decoration very nice. Room was a de luxe room facing the harbour. Staff friendly and helpful. Food and drinks as with all Wetherspoons is fantastic value. Will be going back. Hotel has no parking of its own but public car park 2 mins...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
Angel H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. Its great when we know guests have had an enjoyable stay and you found everything to your satisfaction. We hope you visit us again in the New Year. Kind Regards

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Couldn't really get a better location, harbour, bars, restaurants etc within easy walking distance as is coastal walk path. Yes it's a Wetherspoons but much better than you'd expect. Modern comfy rooms. Didn't experience any late night noise etc. No parking but large pay n display car park opposite . You can buy all day passes from the nearby tourist...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gmglcfc
Angel H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great comments, I'm so pleased we exceeded your expectations and you had a great stay. Yes, unfortunately we have no parking ourselves but I'm glad you were able to make use of the nearby long stay. Thanks again

Bottesford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our stay was in a room with a balcony and was wonderful. Great rooms, decor and the most comfortable hotel bed we've ever slept in. The staff were very friendly and helpful, food was great - all in all an excellent weekend - we'll definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1Rache
Angel H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great comments. I'm so pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind Regards

Derby
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed at The Angel Hotel on two separate occasions now and have really enjoyed it both times. The rooms are beautiful and the Hotel is perfectly situated looking out over the Estuary and towards Whitby Abbey. The bar and restaurant are always excellent value and the breakfast is amazing. Can't wait to return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grannylinda
Angel H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to write us such a complimentary review, I am so pleased you chose to come back and stay with us again. I'm glad you enjoyed your time spent in both the hotel and our pub. We look forward to welcoming you again. Best Wishes

220 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (138)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (82)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (70)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
3.1 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,795 reviews
0.3 km away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 km away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
White Horse and Griffin
4.1 km away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
712 reviews
0.3 km away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#12 of 20 in Whitby
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Address: 1 New Quay Road, Whitby YO21 1DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Price Range: $97 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Angel Hotel staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question
Bradford, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Sheffield
3 months ago
Mexborough, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Leeds, United Kingdom
5 months ago

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from The Angel Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pick a different hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles jimblackcats, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for views over the harbour.”
  • Beautiful view of the Abbey from our room.
 of 5 bubbles , 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in room 311, will book a room with a balcony next time so we can enjoy the views”
 of 5 bubbles 902amandae, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 204 and 205 have balcomies with views and are worth the extra cost.”
 of 5 bubbles Jean_Robie_Le_Chat, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 411 & 412 are luxury doubles on the top floor and are really nice rooms with fantastic views.”
 of 5 bubbles FrancesJ501, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay