We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Magnolia Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Magnolia Guest House
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"}}
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 127: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a lovely stay at the Magnolia. The room was comfortable and well looked after and nothing was too much trouble for us. Breakfast was cooked well and there was a very relaxed atmosphere. Will deffinetly recommend and revisit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deborah T
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Lets get the negative points out the way first. The shower was extremely small (having said that I'm rather on the large size !) Also as per a previous review, the bathroom could do with a little brush-up. We stayed on the top floor in room 5 I believe, Wifi connection was not brilliant, but it was fine in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
Ian W, Owner at Magnolia Guest House, responded to this review

Richard, sorry about size of shower - I need to be careful here not to be disrespectful but it is a standard size and nobody has complained about the size in over 7 years. Glad that you enjoyed some of the other aspects of your stay. Take care

Leyland, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Very good location and fortunate to find a parking space more or less outside as the town was very busy due to it being school holidays. Ian was an excellent and very friendly host who gave good recommendations of places to visit and eat in the town. We were in room 5 as we were a family of 2 adults,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leekmuncher7474
Ian W, Owner at Magnolia Guest House, responded to this review

Sorry you were disappointed with your room. We do not intend to 'modernise' our building as we are proud of being custodians of a gorgeous early Victorian property with many original features. With respect, it sounds like you are probably better off staying in a modern clinical white box hotel. It really is a matter of choice. The room you...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Excellent location of Magnolia Guest House just a 5 min walk to beach and town centre. Very friendly owner who was really nice to our dog. Rooms are quite large and comfortable, it could do with a bit of updating but if you don't that this is a great place to stay. We would stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 111joanne
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

Friendly reception Stayed in room 4 Tired decor in our room Comfy bed and TV Wifi didn't connect on our floor (2nd) The shower had a bad case of black mould! Needed a good scrub with a toothbrush and some bleach!! The sink also could do with a major clean around the taps and plug hole!! The breakfast was good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lout8
Ian W, Owner at Magnolia Guest House, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and found the room to be below standard. The shower in question has been subject to a recent leak that has created the discolouring that you mention. The leak is now corrected, however I have not had the opportunity to complete the appropriate cleansing action. This will be completed...

Reviewed 28 June 2016

My boyfriend and I booked a relaxing long weekend away (before baby arrives) to Whitby. The Magnolia guest house was in a fantastic location, dog friendly, free parking on the road outside and about 5 mins walk from the beach. Ian the owner was so welcoming and really made us feel at home. The breakfast was really good too, fresh...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Victoria C
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2016

just returned from a weekend break in Whitby,and what a really nice guest house we found.the room was large and very clean,with en suit bath room .the breakfast was very good with several options from a full English to a bacon sandwich nothing was to much trouble for the owner Ian.the beach is literally a 3 to 4 minuets walk...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank philip m
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend and took our dog. The owner was really friendly and even cooked a sausage both mornings for our dog. The breakfast was lovely and set us up for walking. Nice position within easy walking distance to everything. The only fault was the room was very tired, definitely needs redecorating and the bathroom shower needs resealing as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jacquie N
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

This guest house if very good value for money and the staff are very friendly (ian) 👍👍the guest house is very central to everything no more than a 10 min walk from everything. The rooms are very clean and warm breakfast was full English and was lovely overall if you want to visit whitby with your doggy then this is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank knelthorpe
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Great dog friendly b&b. Ian, the owner is so friendly and a fantastic host! Rooms were clean and comfortable, and the b&b was in a great location - very close to the beach, pubs and centre of Whibty. Breakfast the next morning was lovely - included cereals, toast, juice tea & coffee, and a choice of an English breakfast, bacon...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank _00JR00_

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.4 km away
Saxonville Hotel
Saxonville Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
260 reviews
0.2 km away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
#14 of 20 in Whitby
928 reviews
0.5 km away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#72 of 152 in Whitby
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Blencathra Guest House
Blencathra Guest House
#77 of 152 in Whitby
79 reviews
0.1 km away
Number 5
Number 5
#51 of 152 in Whitby
154 reviews
0.1 km away
Wentworth Guest House
Wentworth Guest House
#112 of 152 in Whitby
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Magnolia Guest House

Address: 16 Abbey Terrace, Whitby YO21 3HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Number of rooms: 4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Magnolia Guest House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Magnolia Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms overlooking the front have a better view”
 of 5 bubbles J2737IZrichards, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The top floors don't pick up wi-fi as good as lower floors.”
 of 5 bubbles 111joanne, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Higher rooms provide more peaceful stay”
 of 5 bubbles _00JR00_, 1 May 2016 | Read review
“Lower ground floor room if possible”
 of 5 bubbles NCS62, 4 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Talk to Ian”
 of 5 bubbles MikeR548, 23 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5