We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Haven Guest House

    Enter dates to see best deals
    Check In Check Out
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    More options
    View Deals
    We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
    1 room 2 adults 0 children
    View Deals
    Close 
    {"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
    Add Photo Write a Review

    486 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    Showing 486: English reviews
    Start your review of Haven Guest House
     Click to rate
    Castleford, England, United Kingdom
    Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    Lovely room with 4 poster bed and views of the harbour. The breakfast was continental which suited us ( not really a breakfast person). The house was very quiet and relaxing. There is a hairdryer to use and some toiletries, which was nice. The walk to the main front was a few minute walk down some steps. Pubs and eateries...

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank Steve G
    Barnsley, United Kingdom
    Reviewed 7 January 2017

    Fantastic guest house in a great location. The first thing we noticed from the outside appearance very well presented, the whole of the place was spotless. Our room was very comfortable with a great sea view. There was a tray with with many options for hot drinks with biscuits, and even a bottle of water . The owner was very...

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank sunbed_11
    Stanley
    Reviewed 5 January 2017

    Very clean and friendly place to stay, we enjoyed the new continental breakfast menu. good choice of meats and cheeses. bagels toast and porridge were also available. The rooms were very clean warm and comfortable. Towels were very fluffy and soft. toiletries and hair dryer were available. tea coffee, fruit teas were available in the room topped up daily. Yes...

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank Julie W
    London, United Kingdom
    Reviewed 8 December 2016

    After a difficult year, a wonderful home away from homes lost. Stevie is my hostess with the mostess and nothing is too much trouble. So much more than a bed and breakfast, it's your place of rest when nowhere else can be.

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank Aliya A
    Barnsley, United Kingdom
    Reviewed 1 December 2016

    Excellent as always. Stevie has changed the breakfast from full English to continental. We found it to be a welcome change. A wide variety of items, hams, cheeses, boiled eggs, croissants, yogurt. You could order porridge, toast or toasted bagels. There was still a choice of cereals and in the warmer months fruit and yogurt will be back on. We...

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank Karen R
    Preston, England, United Kingdom
    Reviewed 30 November 2016

    Lovely clean and friendly landlady who ensures your stay is comfortable . Good breakfast Easy to walk into the town centre, very central . Plenty of lovely places to eat such as the magpie fish restraunt , and rusty shears who do a fantastic selection of gins to drink . And a sharing cheese platter with lovely Yorkshire cheeses .

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
     Report
    Helpful?
    1Thank Sue A
    Preston
    Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

    We booked for two nights in November to stay at the haven guest house after a recommendation of the friendly staff and excellent breakfast on offer from a family member. The guest house and rooms are nicely furnished and the guest house is in an ideal location. We were disappointed with the continental breakfast provided although on trip advisor &...

     Report
    Helpful?
    3Thank Philip H
    eastcres, Owner at Haven Guest House, responded to this review

    First I would like to say to you that we did put on our website that from the 19 of November it will be a continental breakfast, but maybe you have not seen it or you had booked earlier in the year when we were still serving the English breakfast. You say the bread was hard, I did not serve...

    Bradford, United Kingdom
    Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

    Turned up in whitby for an overnight stay following an operation on Monday.. Found the haven! Beautiful views. Stevie the landlady had a bad few days but was warm and welcoming when we turned up. Beautiful room .lovely view. And lovely continental breakfast. Stevie took the time to sit and chat with us both and what a lovely chat we...

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank pettym499
    Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

    Stopped at the Haven for four days after getting engaged what a wonderfull choice it was spotlessly clean and Two wonderfull hosts can't praise the haven enough. Made our engagement complete will certainly be back

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank Steve R
    eastcres, Owner at Haven Guest House, responded to this review

    Hope the weeding will be soon in 2017 have a wonderful life together. See you for the Honeymoon yeaaaaah.... x

    Sheffield, United Kingdom
    Reviewed 16 November 2016

    what a fantastic place to stay !! rooms are beautiful and clean as is all of the hotel the hosts are friendly and welcoming and as for the breakfast ! well its all freshly cooked and delicious, the hotel is situated near the whale bones with fantastic views i would recommend this hotel to anyone

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank dawnie460

    51 photos of this hotel

    Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

    Viewed
    All Traveller Photos (43)
    Viewed
    Room/Suite (8)
    Viewed
    View from Room (10)
    Viewed
    Dining (3)
    Viewed
    Other (22)

    Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

    Viewed
    All Management Photos (8)
    Viewed
    Room/Suite (6)
    Viewed
    Hotel & Grounds (1)
    Viewed
    Other (1)
    Check In Check Out
    Hotels you might also like...
    Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
    0.2 km away
    The Belfry Whitby
    The Belfry Whitby
    #2 of 152 in Whitby
    244 reviews
    0.2 km away
    The Riviera Guest House
    The Riviera Guest House
    #20 of 152 in Whitby
    554 reviews
    0.1 km away
    The Esplanade Hotel
    The Esplanade Hotel
    #122 of 152 in Whitby
    78 reviews
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    0.2 km away
    Ellies Guesthouse
    Ellies Guesthouse
    #19 of 152 in Whitby
    237 reviews
    0.2 km away
    Rosslyn House
    Rosslyn House
    #6 of 152 in Whitby
    314 reviews
    0.2 km away
    Seacrest Guesthouse
    Seacrest Guesthouse
    #38 of 152 in Whitby
    267 reviews
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices

    Amenities

    Official Description (provided by the hotel)
    Small luxury guest house on the west cliff at Whitby, managed by the owners Chris & Stevie Connell. Close to all amenities. King size fourposter beds & sea views, all rooms ensuite, Memory foam mattresses on some beds, WiFi available, welcome trays and flat screen TVs in every room, full English breakfast included. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our guest house. ... more   less 

    Additional Information about Haven Guest House

    Address: 4 East Crescent, Whitby YO21 3HD, England
    Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
    Price Range: $49 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    Number of rooms: 8
    Also Known As:
    Haven Guest House Hotel Whitby
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
    Claim Your Listing

    Questions & Answers

    Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Haven Guest House staff and other travellers.
    1 question
    Ask a question

    See all questions (1)

    Questions? Get answers from Haven Guest House staff and past guests.
    Posting guidelines
    Typical questions asked:
    • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
    • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
    • At what time does the pool open each day?

    See which rooms travellers prefer

    “For my person preference I wouldn't go for the four poster next time.”
     of 5 bubbles 655steveg, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
    “Sea view rooms”
     of 5 bubbles sunbed_11, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
    “Front rooms have a sea view”
     of 5 bubbles kjsrwhiteman, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
    “Rooms on the upper levels have limited wifi access, great for escape.”
     of 5 bubbles , 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
    “Room very warm so turned off the radiator .. not a problem for most people . Lovely clean and tea making facility . Great views of the sea front from the window .”
     of 5 bubbles 211SueA, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
    5 of 5