We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Discovery Accomodation

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Discovery Accomodation
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

696 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 695: English reviews
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Our second booking at this accommodation was interesting as we received a free upgrade to a 6 sleeper apartment in Newton St which was quite large for 2 people. Arrived to a really hot apartment and had to turn heating down. Lots of space and again possibly the most comfortable double bed in Yorkshire. We enjoyed a 5 minute early...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura E
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed in Discovery Cottage behind the main building on Silver Street. I really liked having a cottage to myself. The place was very nicely done out with very good taste and there was everything you could need. I enjoyed the layout: living room and kitchen downstairs, bedroom on the first floor and bathroom on the top floor. All quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy780
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great accommodation, clean, spacious & located in centre of town. 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen, dining area & lounge was a great surprise but ideal for a large family or group. Breakfast was freshly cooked but sadly disappointing due to quality of ingredients used. A local butcher would sort that quality issue. Breakfast aside highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smiler888
DiscoveryAccomm, Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this review

Dear smiler888, Thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us. I'm pleased you found our accommodation 'Great' We get a lot of positive comments about our breakfast and i'm sorry that it wasn't the same for you. We'll take your comments in to consideration if we choose to make any changes in the future. Regards Discovery Accommodation

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very small double bedroom, not sure about the situation. Towels needed to be clean everyday and milk and tea and coffee topped up, not happy to pay for these added extras as they should have been complimentary.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shalewmik
DiscoveryAccomm, Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this review

Dear shalewmilk, Thanks for taking time to leave a review of your stay. We advertise the dimensions of the rooms. As our offering is self catering, we don't offer room services as standard but can be purchased depending on the level of service you require. We advertise what we include in the rooms as standard. I'm sorry that you didn't...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked for 2 nights in apartment "sand" and we're not disappointed. There is a reception behind which is the breakfast area and this double as a tea/ coffee shop during the day. Beneath the complex of apartments and cottages which make up this mini complex, is a heated pool and sauna, which costs £3 per person for 40 minutes....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christopher F
DiscoveryAccomm, Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this review

Dear Christopher F, Thanks for your 5* review of your recent stay with us. We only open up the cafe during peak season but is open every morning for people to join us for Breakfast! I'm glad that you enjoyed our very reasonably priced private swimming sessions. I'll pass your comments on to the team about your stay and we'll...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived on Friday night at Sea breeze on the Crescent one of several properties owned by this company. The front inner door is a fabulous art deco stained glass delight but on entering I was not sure if I had stumbled on a remake of the film 10 Rillington Place or Rigsby's in Rising Damp. The hall is dimly lit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
DiscoveryAccomm, Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this review

Dear Paul G, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We have recently acquired this building as part of the Discovery portfolio. It is currently undergoing an extensive remodel to bring it in line with our other rooms and apartments. Until renovations are completed, discounted rates have been applied to rooms in the building. Regards...

Southwell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We recently stayed at Discovery's townhouse, after reading poor reviews about some of their accommodations, we were pleasantly surprised. We were allocated room 5 a mini studio in the townhouse. After climbing lots of stairs, we found ourselves in a lovely room on the top floor. It's very clean and modern with a large en- suite bathroom. Had a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank T53D76
DiscoveryAccomm, Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this review

Dear T53D76, Thanks for taking the time to get in touch about your recent stay with us. We're pleased that we exceeded your expectations. A direct rebooking qualifies for 10% discount on 2 nights or more! We'll be happy to welcome you back for a return visit. Kind Regards Discovery Accommodation

Nelson, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked discovery accommodation through booking.com and was not sure what we were getting but we were very happy with what we got. We stayed in the captains rest on silver street just across the road from their head office. We loved it, our own little bedsit throughly recommend

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christine S
DiscoveryAccomm, Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this review

Dear Christine S, Thanks for taking the time to leave a 5* review of your recent stay at Captains Rest. We're very pleased that you 'Loved' your stay and the room. Thank you for your recommendation! Kind Regards Discovery Accommodation

burton on trent
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in Starfish 2, two bedroom apartment in silver street. Clean, comfortable, modern, warm and excellent value for money. Central location. We have previously stayed in Starfish 1 which is a 4 bed 2 bath apartment of the same standard. Will definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank btengineer18
DiscoveryAccomm, Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this review

Dear btengineer18, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay in Starfish Apartments and thought they were 'Excellent value for money' Don't forget that a return visit qualifies for 10% discount on 2 nights or more! Regards Discovery Accommodation

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is our third visit to Discovery accommodation within the past 5 years. It is always a good visit to these excellent apartments. We really love Whitby and staying at the various Discovery apartments has never disappointed. We stayed at Newton 5 this time which is a good location. Only one criticism, the flight of stairs inside the apartment didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian B
DiscoveryAccomm, Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this review

Dear Gillian B, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're so pleased that you return to Discovery Accommodation for your trips to Whitby. We'll certainly take your comments into consideration for any future improvements at Newton but glad that the baby gate was helpful - if even for adults! Thank you for your recommendation...

290 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (290)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (161)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 km away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
947 reviews
0.1 km away
The Granby
The Granby
#114 of 152 in Whitby
89 reviews
0.3 km away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#77 of 152 in Whitby
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#7 of 152 in Whitby
312 reviews
0.2 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#142 of 152 in Whitby
72 reviews
0.3 km away
Sanders Yard
Sanders Yard
#54 of 152 in Whitby
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set at different locations from the popular West Cliff to the glorious Pannett Park, Discovery Accommodation is just 5 - 10 minutes' walk from the sandy Whitby Beach. Our guests have use of an indoor heated swimming pool and infra-red sauna for their own private use at an additional fee. Both very popular so we advise pre-booking these facilities. The bright and airy bedrooms each have a TV, hot drinks facilities and a private bathroom. Some of our rooms feature a fully equipped kitchen and living area, and all have fresh, modern decor. We have a range of properties varying from our popular and modern Town House, to our traditional Discovery Cottage. We look forward to welcoming guests in our stylish lounge office. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Discovery Accomodation

Address: 11 Silver Street, Whitby YO21 3BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Price Range: $81 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Accomodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Discovery Accomodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Accomodation Hotel Whitby
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Discovery Accomodation staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take a heater and some candles”
  • Room carpet
  • Our room
 of 5 bubbles K7722RVpaulg, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Starfish 1 and 2 modern and good location”
 of 5 bubbles btengineer18, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The digilocks were quite loud and with the house being old it could have had better sound insulation, ask for the basement studio”
 of 5 bubbles CK1769, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Chose an accommodation company other than Discovery Accommodation!”
 of 5 bubbles LouiseBest1977, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else to stay”
 of 5 bubbles X8733NSalans, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay