We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bay Royal Whitby Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

951 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 950: English reviews
Start your review of Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
 Click to rate
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

we went to Whitby just after Xmas for a well deserved break and were looking forward to it but were very disappointed when we arrived we were told that our rooms weren't ready and we couid'nt check in to our rooms till 3.30 at the earliest .witch we weren't happy about we were told to leave our cases in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank catherine l
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Rooms fine, public areas and corridors urgently in need of upgrading. Frayed carpets, shabby walls, dirty doors and most evening meals inedible with burnt dried up fish and potato croquets and vegetables boiled to death! Items missing from orders and on one occasion a meal missing completely! Bar area pleasant and beautiful views but the 'chef' needs replacing! Stayed at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
West Sussex
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was our second visit to this hotel with Shearings Coach Holidays. From the moment we were picked up in our home town we were looked after so well. Our driver Mike came from Whitby and was so knowledgeable about the area. He couldn't do enough for us, a perfect driver. The hotels location is stunning overlooking Whitby Harbour and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brockval
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

great hotel,nothing was to much trouble,lovely warm seaview room,brilliant waiter Lazlo.Entertainment every night was good,food was good and we had a good holiday.These holidays are fantastic value for money.Whitby is a lovely place .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Have stayed here before although five years ago, the hotel is very old and there is evidence of ongoing refurbishments. Our room was spacious and recently decorated with fantastic views out to sea and the Abbey. Could not fault the cleanliness of the room or bathroom which was also spotless. The windows in both rooms constantly rattling and the wind...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrsw71
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived on February 3rd myself my husband and my sister and her husband on a Shearings 3 night break bed breakfast and evening meal specifying on booking my sister was Gluten Free Diet. We paid extra for a sea view which would have been nice if the windows were clean on the outside also the frames there was alot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnlinda2014
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Having called and tried to request a quiet room due to early start I could not guarantee this due to booking procedures, however on Friday I was promised a quite room, on arrival today I was really impressed with my room 228, sea views and room had been renovated recently, superb bathroom better than some 4star hotels tbh, reception staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stewy123
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the 5* review. I'm pleased to see the room allocated was to your satisfaction. As you mention there are booking procedures but we will always try our very best to meet requests etc. I will be sure to pass your comments to all and especially Becky. Vicki Glen General Manager

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Royal is a lovely hotel .The food was excellent,staff was all very helpful.Taking my mobility scooter was no problem both Roger the driver and the staff couldn't,t do enough for us. On the journey down the driver informed us that the dining room was being refurbished we didn't, know what to expect but this didn't,t cause any upheaval to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gwinnett49
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and the 5* review. I'm delighted to see you enjoyed your stay and didn't experience any interruption due to the on-going refurbishment work. We hope to welcome you back to the Royal soon. Vicki Glen General Manager

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a single seaview room which was charged as an up graded room, what did I get for my better room? The mattress was very poor, collapsed in the middle so a poor nights sleep. The carpet very badly stained in a large area. The bathroom had constant leaking from the shower flooding the floor. The windows old, rattling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patrickbrown585
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry to see you were disappointed during your stay. I wonder if any of the issues you encountered were reported to reception. We do not offer upgrades on our single rooms. I would imagine the supplement paid would have been for the sea view and single supplement. I will investigate the issues mentioned. Vicki Glen General Manager

tywyn
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We went away with Shearings on a five day coach break. We had a wonderful time at the Bay Royal Hotel. The room was very pleasant with really comfortable beds. The food was excellent from breakfast to evening meals, with a choice for breakfast including cereals, yogurts, porridge, fruit juices and full cooked breakfasts and kippers. Toast and jams, marmalade....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank taffylinda
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the 5* review. I'm pleased to see we ticked the box throughout and you enjoyed your stay with us. I'll be sure to pass your comments to both the restaurant and kitchen staff especially Erik. We look forward to welcoming you back the Royal soon. Vicki Glen General Manager

257 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (247)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.9 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,861 reviews
0.6 km away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 km away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
736 reviews
0.4 km away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
434 reviews
0.8 km away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#15 of 20 in Whitby
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking Whitby, with breathtaking views of Whitby Abbey and the sea, the Royal is steeped in intriguing history and heritage. Many of the hotel bedrooms are front facing and have superb views thanks to the hotel’s cliff top position. This is an extremely popular hotel that has many returning customers thanks to its warm and friendly welcome and great hospitality. The entertainments suite offers a great variety of entertainment and guests can also enjoy the marvellous views from the comfortable restaurant and bar. The Royal Hotel is in an ideal location, just a few minutes from the famous harbour and shops. Whitby is a traditional maritime town and with its old cobbled streets, picturesque houses and sandy blue flag beach, it is a great place for a holiday or short break. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Royal Whitby Hotel

Address: West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Price Range: $152 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Royal Whitby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, LateRooms and Travelocity so you can book your Bay Royal Whitby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Royal Whitby Hotel staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Royal Whitby Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You can for a small charge upgrade your room to a sea view, but we didn't, there was no need to.”
 of 5 bubbles Brockval, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We like a low floor near lift .This we got it was a lovely room”
 of 5 bubbles gwinnett49, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Insist on better room if given a poor one !”
 of 5 bubbles patrickbrown585, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the Abbey.”
  • Whitby Abbey
  • Whitby Abbey
 of 5 bubbles taffylinda, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Use lower floors if disabled as the lift is always busy”
 of 5 bubbles 866LindaH866, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5