We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St Giles House Hotel

Save
Share
41-45 St. Giles Street, Norwich NR2 1JR England
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in great prices from these sites
Booking.com
USD 153
View Deal
Agoda.comUSD 153
eDreamsUSD 153
TripadvisorUSD 153
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (152)
Room & Suite (189)
Dining (87)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#13 of 49 hotels in Norwich
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Boutique Hotel with a unique theme, part Edwardian and part Art Deco with a rich history in one of the oldest Streets in Norwich.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Newspaper
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Facial treatments
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Historic Hotel
816Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 415
  • 225
  • 84
  • 42
  • 50
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Mrs P wrote a review Dec. 2020
3 contributions
This Hotel is beautiful on the outside and inside in a perfect location, down the road from the City centre near lots of restaurants! Maybe we were unlucky on the day we went in to ask for a room, the staff were not nice at all, very un -helpful and rude, even lying about room availability but this is before they shut, before they were taken over and the rooms were way too expensive, last year! Not the best hotel and certainly not worth the cost. (Hotel was tired and needed updating) You would be better off staying in the Travelodge city centre (on the bus station), it is in the City and depending on dates can be up to £95 cheaper, we always stay here if we stay the night. And easy to jump on the bus early to go to pretty much anywhere if you want to visit other areas for a day out even though there is enough to do in the best City anywhere, Norwich!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ring up or check rooms before you book, google what rooms look like. Front facing rooms get...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Liza Dunnell, General Manager at St Giles House Hotel
Responded 11 Dec. 2020
Good afternoon mrmZ2339VP, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, however, I must say I am slightly confused. Did you stay with us 11 months ago or did you come in to the hotel to enquire for a room? I am sorry to hear you felt the staff were rude and un-helpful. As you can understand, we are a business and therefore our prices fluctuate all the time to stay in competition with our competitors. If you could kindly get in touch to discuss this matter further, I will be sure to get to the bottom of this and rectify the "issue". Kind regards Liza Dunnell General Manager
Read more
margosussex wrote a review Nov. 2020
Eastbourne, United Kingdom42 contributions30 helpful votes
Had a two night stay here. no problems with check in, room spacious and clean good size bathroom. This hotel is well placed for the shops, restaurants and pub's. parking at rear of hotel which was a bit difficult to find ,it would be helpful if hotel included directions to car park with your booking confirmation. Breakfast staff pleasant bar one young madam, pony tail unusual pink eye shadow and a very abrupt manner I think she got a mention in a previous review, this waitress needs retraining in public relations I hope management read this review and address the problem. I would return and would recommend
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Liza Dunnell, General Manager at St Giles House Hotel
Responded 7 Dec. 2020
Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We take feedback very seriously, this will be shared with all of the team here at St Giles Hotel. Sorry to hear you feel this way regarding the waitress. I will address this immediately and take any action as necessary. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Take care and have a very merry Christmas. Kind regards Liza Dunnell General Manager
Read more
James C M wrote a review Oct. 2020
Maidstone, United Kingdom40 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
We stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights during half term break. On arrival, the receptionist, (Karen) was exceptionally welcoming. In fact, over the course of our stay, she was helpful, friendly, and we felt she couldn't have done more to make our stay really enjoyable. The room itself was clean and comfortable, with a particularly lovely bathroom! Central location was great, and a bonus was the free parking behind the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: No air-con (though not an issue for us as we stayed in October)
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Liza Dunnell, General Manager at St Giles House Hotel
Responded 7 Dec. 2020
Good afternoon James C M, Wow, thank you very much for your very kind words, and for taking the time to leave this review. All feedback good or bad is taken seriously and is shared with all of our team here at St Giles. Karen is an efficient, productive and friendly staff member that plays a crucial part of our team, therefore, thank you again for noticing. We wish you a very merry Christmas. Kind regards Liza Dunnell General Manager
Read more
Andrew M wrote a review Oct. 2020
6 contributions2 helpful votes
Check in was difficult as no reception staff available. Room was spacious a little tired but clean. Very hot bathroom, boiling hot water and no way of controlling temperature throughout our stay. Unusual 1 way system for covid which staff didn’t follow. Very poor mattress in bedroom and road noise and noise from upstairs creaking floor meant a poor nights sleep. On the plus side an excellent position, parking very handy and breakfast was lovely. Decor in bar and restaurant a bit at odds with the front area. Check our with Karen and lovey Ava was a nice end to our stay. Not luxury by any means but fine for a night.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: We were in 17 but wouldn’t want that room again
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Liza Dunnell, General Manager at St Giles House Hotel
Responded 7 Dec. 2020
Hello andrewmB1694HE, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We take feedback very seriously so thank you for sharing yours with us. I would like to apologise for your first impressions to find no staff member at the reception desk upon check-in. I have followed this up and can assure you that this will not happen again. May I ask why the one way system was unusual? I will be sure to share this with the staff. Unfortunately, being located in the city centre, outside noise is something that is out of our control. Could you kindly get in touch so we can discuss this further. Karen is delighted with the mention of Ava and herself, thank you. I look forward to hearing from you. Have a very merry Christmas. Kind regards Liza Dunnell General Manager
Read more
Gingedeb wrote a review Oct. 2020
Colchester, United Kingdom18 contributions19 helpful votes
Staff on arrival were friendly and professional Car park and car park entrance not very nice or welcoming but upstairs to reception and it looks nice. Beautiful old building. Room a nice size big more modern in style furniture and bedding clean, carpets a bit stained and bathroom a little tired but in all a lovely hotel for a night away. Sorry didn’t use spa as we was there to meet family.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Liza Dunnell, General Manager at St Giles House Hotel
Responded 7 Dec. 2020
Good afternoon Gingedeb, We hope you are safe and well. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review, we really do appreciate it. All feedback is taken seriously and will be shared with all the team. Thank you for your kind words, we are glad you had a lovely stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Unfortunately, there is some work taking place in the building next door to us, therefore making our back entrance not so inviting. We are looking forward to when they have finished. You have a great Christmas and all the best for the new year. Kind regards Liza Dunnell General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 137 - USD 188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
st giles hotel, st giles norwich
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaNorfolkNorwich
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about St Giles House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to St Giles House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escape Hunt Norwich (0.4 km), History Mystery (0.4 km), and Bowling House (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at St Giles House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at St Giles House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at St Giles House Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to St Giles House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Saporita Norwich, Cafe Gelato, and Alchemista Coffee Co.
Is St Giles House Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Norwich.
Are any cleaning services offered at St Giles House Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does St Giles House Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to St Giles House Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cryptic Escape (0.7 km), History Mystery (0.4 km), and Norwich Cathedral (0.9 km).
Is St Giles House Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.