We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Blue Boar

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Blue Boar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

155 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Blue Boar
See the most recent reviews
Showing 154: English reviews
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We booked an over night stay, which was recommended by the bewilderwood website. The room was extremely over priced at £120!!!! We were a family for 4. The room itself was very dated, smelt musty and basic. The evening meal served by the pub, again was basic and greasy. My meal was over cooked and uneatable. The staff were helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Daniela S
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Staff didn't work together, meal came out at different time, including desserts with no spoons when asked told they would bring them over in a minute so had runny ice cream. Sat next to the door where people outside were smoking heavily and children walked through that door to play area. Won't be visiting again any time soon

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Karen F
Lymington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2016

I only visit Norwich a few times each year, and when I do. I usually use The Blue Boar to grab an evening meal. I use it because it's an appropriate place when it comes to catering for a large family group which has s several small children. In the summer months there is a large garden with play park...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank frankart_10
david t, Owner at The Blue Boar, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Blue Boar! I'm so pleased that you approve of some of the changes we have made recently. Sorry there were still some hiccups with your orders and really appreciate your tolerance. I will make sure the staff are made aware of your comments. See you again!

Sutton Coldfield
Reviewed 12 July 2016

This was a lunchtime wake for 45 people. There was a buffet with wonderful food, all of it fresh with some hot nibbles such as battered fish bites, sausages etc. the cakes were beautiful. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Excellent work.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank John1956
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

Been here a few times now for Sunday lunch. Great food for a good price. Always do their best to fit us in even if they're busy. Lovely atmosphere to go for a drink. Children's play area in the big garden too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
david t, Owner at The Blue Boar, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Blue Boar! Look forward to seeing you again soon 😀

Reviewed 18 June 2016

Friendly service from checking in to checking out, Very large family room, 2 double beds, large bathroom with shower over bath. Free wifi and cooked breakfast. Good location for visit to the area. Stairs no lift.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina C
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

A very friendly pub that serves good quality pub food and also has a good choice of local beers . We went in on a Saturday night without booking and there were 8 of us but the staff managed to fit us in . As we get into summer I would recommend booking to avoid disappointment

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian F
david t, Owner at The Blue Boar, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Blue Boar. We hope to see you again soon!

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2016

We went for a quick, good value filling meal and we weren't disappointed. We were made welcome by the staff and attended to efficiently. The menu had plenty of choice and we were surprised by the size of the portions, Neither of us managed to finish the plate full despite trying our best, it was tasty and seemed a shame...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wellyelly
david t, Owner at The Blue Boar, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review; glad you enjoyed your meals and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Blue Boar Inn

Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

Went there with family. We found the food excellent value. I hate going for a meal and you feel that the portions are small and you feel robbed. Well not the case here. We couldn't fault the food and the portions were huge. We are big eaters but couldn't finish the meal. The home made chips and onion rings were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank murphy042014
david t, Owner at The Blue Boar, responded to this review

Dear guests, Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Blue Boar. We have taken the liberty of posing your review on our Facebook page. You must come back & try desserts some time! Kind regards, Blue Boar Inn

Reviewed 31 May 2016

I've been to the Pub/Restaurant several times down the years due to being a local resident, and as such have never needed to stay at the Inn - so can't pass comment on the rooms. This particular visit was for my Father's 60th Birthday Party, and what a fun afternoon/evening. Let me start by commenting on the place itself, The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guysey12
david t, Owner at The Blue Boar, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Blue Boar. We are delighted you had a good time! The staff, named, benefit from your review so they pass on their thanks too! We are also gateful that you you have expanded our vocabulary. Now we all know what an eidetic memory is! Simon better not forget anything...

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.8 km away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.9 km away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
1,066 reviews
3.9 km away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#26 of 50 in Norwich
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
3.7 km away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
189 reviews
3.0 km away
The Lord Rosebery
The Lord Rosebery
#15 of 86 in Norwich
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Blue Boar Inn is situated on the road from Norwich to the Norfolk Broads just 1 mile from the ring road,10 mins drive from the city centre,15 mins from the train station and Norwich International Airport.Sprowston Marriot Hotel and golf course is 10 mins walk away.We have 5 delightful en-suite bedrooms and are rated 4 star by Visit England.Our delicious food is in the main home-cooked and sourced locally.We have 2 bars where it is great to "meet the locals".4 cask ales are on offer plus a good range of lagers and wines.We have a beautiful garden with a great kids play area.There is lots of car parking.We can host functions of up to 100 people. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Blue Boar

Address: 259 Wroxham Road, Norwich NR7 8RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Price Range: $96 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blue Boar 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Blue Boar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Blue Boar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go for rear room as on main road”
 of 5 bubbles deancattermole, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“You must sample their wonderful menu.”
 of 5 bubbles grabbyNorfolkEngland, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Well worth a try.”
 of 5 bubbles 860StephenT860, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay.”
 of 5 bubbles U2688RSdanielas, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“rooms ok have used for years”
 of 5 bubbles jsbond2016, 22 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5