We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Railway Tavern

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Railway Tavern
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 87: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Fantastic friendly pub good beer. Great food , friendly staff & locals entertainment Friday and Sunday with two bob ray where anyone and everyone can get up and sing. Always a lovely atmosphere. Perfect location to stay and take in London with great transport links

Helpful?
Thank sticksy53
Janet D, Owner at The Railway Tavern, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking time to review our establishment. More 

Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2016

The rooms were very good, comfortable, good shower. The pub is a typical London east end but the staff were lovely and the tasty breakfast. Location is perfect. I was there for a conference at the aquatic centre and it was a 10 minute walk tops. Excellent shopping and restaurants 5 minutes walk at the Westfield shopping centre.

Helpful?
Thank Alison B
Janet D, Owner at The Railway Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you Alison for taking time to review our establishment We fully appreciate your input we will pass on your comments to our staff Janet and Thomas Dooner More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Nice little find... clean, tidy, friendly locals ... good for a quick drink & to watch the England match. Stopped off for a quick bit... decent pub grub... better than the prices in Westfield Shopping Centre & a place to sit down & chill out.

Helpful?
Thank Cherry609
Janet D, Owner at The Railway Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to review us we are most appreciative Thomas and Janet Dooner More 

Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Very close to the great olympic park, we enjoyed a traditional british place with it's wonderful hospitality. Landlord/ landlady make you feel like family. Breakfast as all the other food offered is great. Wineprice for a place like london incredible: 9.95 for a bottle of pinot grigio. The staff always friendly and the rooms nice and comfortable. Allways a good... More 

Helpful?
Thank fuchsmann2016
Janet D, Owner at The Railway Tavern, responded to this review

Hi many thanks for taking the time to review our Hotel We appreciate all our reviews and the time that it takes guests to write. Many thanks and we hope to see you back again soon Janet & Thomas More 

Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night for Ride London. Got NO sleep whatsoever with the horrendous road noise. Pulled mattress into bathroom as was less noisy there. Imagine having to sleep in a bathroom! Would NEVER call this a "hotel". It is an eastend pub with lodgings. Carpet was dirty and room was soooo hot. No fan. Smelly thingy in room - don't... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacinta M
Janet D, Owner at The Railway Tavern, responded to this review

Hi Jacinta you have already published your review on Booking.com because you were unhappy with their response in offering you a discount of 10% and now you have gone ahead with your threat of publishing your version of events in a review. I will answer you how I answered you on the original email and that is honest and truthful.... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
664 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

The Railway Tavern is just across the road from Liverpool Street Station. I had time to spare before catching a taxi to nearby Shoreditch to meet up with my daughters for Friday evening drinks and dinner last week. This is also a hotel and the pub was buzzing just after 5 pm before the weekend. Quite a queue to get... More 

Helpful?
Thank AshleyAzavedo
Janet D, Owner at The Railway Tavern, responded to this review

Hi, many thanks for your review and comments please check our web page as we are not opposite Liverpool St station we are near Stratford station so I am not too sure if you have the right place. Janet More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2016

came here on the 7th august with friends to watch the westham match... as this is one of the pubs closest to our new stadium.... we were not drunk and we were no trouble.... plenty of westham fans were in there buying lots of drinks.... the staff were rude, arrogant and obnoxious.... when west ham scored... in typical football fan... More 

Helpful?
Thank Toni S
Janet D, Owner at The Railway Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for this review and comments; we take all the comments seriously and try to answer any matters that cause concern in a polite and truthful manner. The 'stupid nasty barmaid' that you refer to was me, the owner and proprietor. I have been in this establishment for 50 years with my family and Husband and I am well... More 

Level Contributor
267 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed overnight at The Railway Tavern before undertaking the Prudential Ride London sportive the following morning ( to avoid having to cycle any further than necessary..!) In that respect alone it was great and only about 5 minutes from the start. It's not the most salubrious of places but the room whilst basic was clean and comfortable. The staff were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nos6
Janet D, Owner at The Railway Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this review and I will give Pat a copy of this. Many thanks Janet More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed here while going to vfest. The owners were welcoming and the facilities were perfect. The bed was comfortable and I slept well with no problems. If I had to recommend for another couple to stay there I would with no hesitation.

Helpful?
Thank David G
Janet D, Owner at The Railway Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for this glowing review, we look forward to next years V Fest xx More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here on a Saturday night recently. Two couples and a two year old. It was our first stay,, but won't be our last. It is very quiet, basic but very adequate rooms. The staff are fantastic and really go above and beyond to help you. Very reasonably priced and a great location for Westfield Stratford and the Olympic... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cazzarandall
Janet D, Owner at The Railway Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review we really do appreciate the time that people take to give us a review. Many thanks More 

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Ibis London Stratford
Ibis London Stratford
#475 of 1,078 in London
733 reviews
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford
Travelodge London Stratford
#375 of 1,078 in London
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Epsilon Hotel
#568 of 1,078 in London
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Railway Tavern Hotel is a small family run establishment, with friendly staff and a welcoming smile every time. We pride ourselves on making each guest feel special, we try to please everyone who stays with us and hope that they will return. Our Hotel was up until 6 years ago our family home, but with the prospect of the Olympics coming to our door we converted to a 9 bedroom hotel with all room offering en-suite facilities. We are ideally situated for easy access to The Excel exhibition centre, Canary Wharf, City Of London, Westfield Shopping Centre and have excellent transport links with all London Airports, City being 20 minutes away. We offer free wifi, parking and a full English breakfast to all our guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Railway Tavern

Address: 131 Angel Lane | Stratford, London E15 1DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $180 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Railway Tavern 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Railway Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Railway Tavern staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Railway Tavern staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The only thing I didn't like about The Railway Tavern Hotel is the fact that having discovered it I was only there for 1 night.”
 of 5 bubbles brianj512, 26 Sep 2015 | Read review
“We had room 1 which had no view but was quiet and only up one flight of stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles 84wendyb, 14 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Not room 7!”
 of 5 bubbles WiltshireDruid, 28 May 2015 | Read review
“Great location”
 of 5 bubbles 76ian, 24 May 2015 | Read review
“We had Room 1 which was quiet, but I imagine all rooms would be similar.”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisLin1747063, 14 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay