We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Travelodge London Central City Road

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Management photos
Travelodge London Central City Road
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,354 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,820: English reviews
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great location and 24hour bar... was perfect for a London visit with my friends. If you don't want to stay in the rooms for long and go adventuring this is the right choice. Perfect for a trip away with friends!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 38marilynf
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for one night on business and whilst the location is central the hotel itself is tired. The room was basic which is fine for the price but it was not particularly clean, the bed was rock solid and uncomfortable and the shower water was cold both in the evening and morning. If you are looking for a central...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
Uk
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have stayed in this hotel several times before. The prices are very reasonable for London. The location is ideal, a short walk from Old Street tube station. It has plenty of restaurants within walking distance although booking is advisable on Friday & Saturdays evenings (especially if visiting during the festive season). This hotel has a late bar which is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UkBritAbroad
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Don't get me wrong, i know it's only a cheap hotel. The room was clean, and big enough, unfortunately no USB connectivity to the TV so I was stuck watching freeview on the evenings i was in the hotel. Since my last stay the food has gone way downhill, only one dish of a very select few took my fancy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grey H
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central City Road, responded to this review

Please allow us to thank you for providing your feedback with us at our London Central City Road Travelodge. We are so pleased to learn the hotel was an ideal location to suit your needs, however we're sorry to learn of the issues that impacted your stay, please rest assured your comments have been passed to the hotel. We appreciate...

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Right I got a room clean tidy and fine at reasonable rate. Checked in at electronic desk and had no interaction with staff and didn't use cafe because I know travelodge breakfast is always poor. If you are after reasonable rooms at cheap prices for London then this is just the job. If you are after fancy dining you need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terramouth
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

An excellent stay. Very easy access to nearby underground station. Clean simple and comfortable throughout with no problems at all. Friendly professional reception and bar staff. Option to take reasonably priced breakfast. Good late snack menu available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lennydp70
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A few silly but unavoidable issues tarnished our stay. We don't expect 5 star at Travelodge but with it being a 'simple' place to stay there should be no issues, but we unfortunately had a few! A great shame that bedding, cleanliness, quality and service impacted on a two day stay, especially at £175 per night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PJ1812
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central City Road, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our London Central City Road Travelodge. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. We have passed...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was big and comfortable. We were on a quiet floor (ask for a business floor room on an upper floor). I've stayed here regularly and the rooms do vary some are huge and others quite small.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alisonmA3544HL
Sutton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We used to regularly stay in Travelodges. They were cheap and cheerful and we often made use of their £19 a night offers, and occasionally got a room for £15. We didn't mind a basic no-frills hotel because we often used it simply as a place to sleep. They then went downhill and became cheap and nasty. Leaking showers, mould...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 4ChordsNoNet
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central City Road, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to learn of your experience and in such instances we would suggest to let our bar cafe staff know. The team would then resolve this for you with the kitchen team and offer a resolution. In any case we would like to thank you and sincerely apologise. We do hope to be...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Heater did not work, room was cold and the windows didn't shut properly either. No one to help at reception even after waiting 10 minutes and pressing the 'ring for attention ' bell and when I did find someone, nothing got done. Overall a bad experience and not coming back here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rg24444

285 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (274)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot
Spitalfields
Tune Hotel - London, Liverpool Street
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#285 of 1,078 in London
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#384 of 1,078 in London
579 reviews
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#603 of 1,078 in London
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Shoreditch

Neighbourhood Profile
Shoreditch
The western front of the edgy East End, Shoreditch is a perennially trendy haven for anything “street” – be it art, food, or fashion. With its handful of well connected transportation links dotting its perimeter, along with an ever increasing variety of shops, hotels, bars, and restaurants, it's easy to explore this trend-conscious and youth-oriented neighbourhood. There's a lingering post-industrial grit about Shoreditch, but because it shares a border with “The City” financial district, the influence from its upscale neighbour can result in fascinating outcomes.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central City Road

Address: 1-23 City Road, London EC1Y 1AG, England (Formerly Travelodge London Central Moorgate)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch
Price Range: $120 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Central City Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 348
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Travelodge London Central City Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Central Moorgate Hotel London
Travelodge Hotel City Road
Travelodge Hotel London
Travel Lodge London
London Travel Lodge
London Travelodge
Hotel Style:
#306 Family Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge London Central City Road staff and other travellers.
78 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (78)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge London Central City Road staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms overlooking the road enable you to watch the world go by but avoid rooms above the nightclub.”
 of 5 bubbles UkBritAbroad, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“again i recommend and inward facing room, not street facing)”
 of 5 bubbles 594greyh, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't go there, if you have too, go to floor 7”
 of 5 bubbles Hobins4, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Book a different hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles FamilyW400, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Roomsa not facing City Road will be quieter.”
  • Bathtub with shower.
  • Room on entering.
  • City Road view.
  • Comfortable bed.
  • Storage unit, fan.
  • Desk, TV, Tea/Coffee
 of 5 bubbles C6631CHmartinw, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay