We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Cleveland

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

569 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 399: English reviews
Farum, Denmark
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice hotel with nice rooms, good service and location - BUT...first night we got a room in the basement with the only window facing a small yard where the aircon/heating system for the entire hotels is placed. That meant that the window could not open, and the heatingsystem provided a constant, vibrating noice. Next night we were moved to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MetteCB
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Firstly if you need things such as a Bar/Breakfast Room/Restaurant then this isn't the place for you. With the kitchenette facilities it's perhaps best considered a small serviced apartment type offering rather than a Hotel. Either way for us it was ideal with a little one, no more than a 5-10 minute stroll to the tube, good sized room for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sealey44
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Selected this hotel based on location, price and reviews. Our rate included breakfast, which was a typical start of breads, cereal, fruit and cheese. I did see some reviews indicating the size of the rooms being small. We had one of the suites which was quite large for London. We did have stairs to climb to our room. We could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TankerT
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It is hard to call this a hotel because it does not have the facilities normally associated with a hotel. There is no dining room and no one to help with your luggage. There was no soap holder in the shower and washers were not provided. The room was very small, even after complaining and being moved it was still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TassieRetired
Marcin_Jagodzinski, Sales Manager at The Cleveland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you to hear did not like your stay with us. Our standard rooms have 14 to 17 square meters which is still above average in London (our Executive Studios, our bigger doubles, offer significantly more space). Unfortunately this is how it works in this busy city, therefore we would suggest to double...

Malmo, Sweden
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a small hotel just above Bayswater road and Hyde Park not far from Paddington station. A perfect location for shopping Oxford/Picadilly or Notting Hill, or exploring any part of London by bus or underground. Busstop close by gets you everywhere (best way to see London) - or underground at Lancaster Gate (where you can purchase Oyster card). I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MalinOR123
Marcin_Jagodzinski, Sales Manager at The Cleveland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy you liked your stay with us and liked the location as well. In regard to breakfast, indeed we have no breakfast room. That is why we arranged the kitchenettes in all the rooms. We also recommend trying some of the nice places around, the cafe under number 19 mentioned above being an...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 31 October 2016

The Cleveland is very conveniently located, near Paddington station (with direct connections to Heathrow and to Cornwall and Devon), Queensway, Lancaster Gate and Bayswater tube stations. It is a short walk to Hyde Park and to Queensway with its many eating places, shops, Sainsbury and Tesco, etc. The room and bathroom are clean, well maintained and brightly lit. Coffee and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abletree
Marcin_Jagodzinski, Sales Manager at The Cleveland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy you liked our location and the state and facilities of the room. We are also glad you found the kitchenette useful. We are looking forward to see you again on future occasions. Kind regards,

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 31 October 2016

This hotel was ok…I did not think it was worth the money we paid for it and the front desk staff was not very helpful. The location is fine. The room was ok, pretty plain. There was a hair dryer and the internet was fine. I would not stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AZHeel
Marcin_Jagodzinski, Sales Manager at The Cleveland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that the room and the room met your needs. we are sorry that you found the staff unhelpful, it must have been some sort of misunderstanding as we pay a lot attention to customer service. We hope that you will find more suitable accommodation for you next time you will come to...

Yorkshire
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Booked the Deluxe and Luxury suites for 6 of us, location of the hotel is a quiet suburb but easily reached by various tube stations (Paddington, Bayswater, Lancaster Gate). Room locations compared to lift location are a bit hard going if uncomfortable with walking up or down a flight of stairs, all rooms except a few on the ground floor...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jinxiii
Marcin_Jagodzinski, Sales Manager at The Cleveland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you liked your stay with us and the location of the hotel. Thank you for your comments about our staff and the cleanliness of the rooms, these are the things we pay the most attention to. In regard to the lift, it was the only way to install it in this...

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Was excited for our first trip to London, but disappointed with our hotel room. We booked well in advance and had helpful communication with the staff ahead of time (asked for some advice because we were arriving on Boxing Day). The staff was lovely, the building is gorgeous, and the place was clean, but we were given a basement room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa T
Marcin_Jagodzinski, Sales Manager at The Cleveland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were not happy with your room. I you do decide to stay with us again, please contac tus upon making the reservation ans ask for a higher floor and we will alloccate you accordingly or inform if it is not possible. Thank you for your kind word about our staff....

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 October 2016

We had a 3-night, 4 day stay here in September 2016. This hotel is within walking distance of Paddington Station, about 8 mins, which is very handy when getting around London. The hotel is in a quiet street and was comfortable and clean, with the rooms a bit on the small size. The only disappointment was that when we booked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
Marcin_Jagodzinski, Sales Manager at The Cleveland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you had a nice stay and you enjoyed the area and found our rooms comfortable and clean. We are sorry we did not manage to keep the rooms next to each other. This comes from the fact that it was indeed busy, as you said, and also we are small...

345 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (143)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (43)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (160)
Viewed
Executive Deluxe Suite (29)
Viewed
Executive Studio Suite (29)
Viewed
Luxury Studio Suite (31)
Viewed
Standard Studio Suite (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#64 of 1,077 in London
3,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#207 of 1,077 in London
612 reviews
Hotel The Caesar
#302 of 1,077 in London
1,711 reviews
Parkwood at Marble Arch
#22 of 556 in London
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Cleveland Hotel is an independent hotel in Bayswater combining the services of a boutique hotel with all the comfort and amenities of serviced apartments. Ideally located on a tranquil and leafy garden square away from the hustle and bustle of London the hotel is just a short walk to London's famous Hyde Park on Bayswater Road and Paddington Station offering excellent transport links to Heathrow Airport and London's lively West End. The Cleveland Hotel has retained all of its beautiful Georgian period features, yet each one of our 30 contemporary studio rooms have been beautifully refurbished with the contemporary traveler in mind. Every room is fully equipped with modern kitchenettes, AC, LED TVs, free Wi-Fi and our friendly, multilingual staff, are on hand 24 hours per day offering you all the services of a boutique hotel. We offer our guests complete flexibility, comfort and security making us an ideal choice regardless of whether you are traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cleveland

Address: 39 - 40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $147 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cleveland 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your The Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleveland Hotel London
Cleveland Square London
Hotel Cleveland Square
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cleveland staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Cleveland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had room 17, which was great. It was one of the suites.”
 of 5 bubbles TankerT, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for an upper floor”
 of 5 bubbles melissatD3066NA, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in room 11 behind reception. There wasn't a view, but it didn't face a street so there was no noise at night.”
 of 5 bubbles emilyr834, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Good location for pubs and Bayswater and nottinghill”
 of 5 bubbles Doug1959, 11 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are quiet located on a dead end street.”
 of 5 bubbles MaryAdrienne, 30 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay