We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

581 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park
See the most recent reviews
Showing 388: English reviews
Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

We came to our hotel room at 10pm after the Jack the Ripper Tour. As we entered our room, we heard noises, and we found a man, possibly homeless, in our bathroom. We later found out that he had taken a shower in our room, and was using our towels. This man did NOT have a key for our room,...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank AD5446433567
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Reviewed 22 December 2016

We've got quite a spacious room, It was clean and tidy. The best thing about this hotel is the location. Near to museums and attractions, easily can be access by tube. After a tiring day, you can just have a good rest at the lobby, with coffee and indoor activities. Just ask from the receptionist, they are quite helpful. Will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zakwan H
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely feedback!! :) Especially the one concerning the team :) We are happy to read and know that you enjoyed the hotel and your stay with us ! :). We hope to see you and welcome you again in one of our MEININGER hotels around Europe!! Your MEININGER TEAM :)

Reviewed 13 November 2016

The hotel staff were wonderful. Very helpful and polite. When we arrived the lift was not working but it was fixed the next day. The rooms were comfortable but very cold. I was not happy to see hand stains on the walls :/ The couch was also dirty. I liked the beds and had a great sleep while there. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edda R
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely feedback!! :) Especially the one concerning the team! We are happy to read and know that you enjoyed the hotel and your stay with us ! :). We hope to see you and welcome you again in one of our MEININGER hotels around Europe!! Your MEININGER TEAM :)

Folsom, California
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights (not consecutive). Booked the same dorm room each time and was given 2 very different standards of room. One 12 person dorm was spacious, clean, looked to be newly renovated with 2 brand new clean ensuite bathrooms. Each bunk had its own light and outlet. I was very pleased and wanted to extend my stay....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lauren B
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely feedback!! :) Especially the one concerning the team! Concerning your second stay, you paid for a basicDorm. Wich they are in the 6th floor. The only difference is the that the bathroom are outside the rooms, in the corridor. I'm sorry that you didnt like it. I hope that it wasnt...

Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

I like to stay here when visiting London because of its convenience and location. It has always been good except for this last time. I spent 6 nights and everyone was friendly and helpful, but the last day after having checked out I returned for my bag and wanted to check/send some emails and make bookings for my next destination...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Barelle
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Hostel is very close to the Victoria and Albert Museum as well as two tube stations. It's quite nice as it accommodates families, backpackers, and couples under one roof. I just wish dorms had a little more privacy between beds. Other than that I do believe is a great find in the middle of Kensington and Chelsea.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gabyrd80
San Diego, California
Reviewed 6 October 2016

I stayed in an 8 bed female dorm. The room was too small for this many people but each bed had its own lamp and electrical outlet, which is a plus. The staff downstairs were helpful, but the bathroom should have been cleaned more often, we were always running out of toilet paper and needing to ask for more. If...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lawlsiellie
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Excellent location, clean rooms with modern bathrooms. Royal Albert Hall and Hyde Park is minutes walk away, brilliant if you need to stay somewhere after a gig. Very reasonably priced and the staff was friendly and helpful. There's a all you can eat breakfast option, which is a bonus on Sunday morning when most places open quite late but you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karolina K
manila
Reviewed 30 September 2016

The pictures are far from the actual thing. Mixed dorms? Seriously? The place needs an overhaul on the cleaning and housekeeping department. You will not get a peacefuI night's sleep because of the noise from the street - police cars, ambulances ride by EVERY HOUR with sirens that are LOUD enough to wake the ENTIRE neighborhood. I repeat: not worth...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank travelogue823
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Meininger Hotel London Hyde Park and for taking the time to share this feedback with us! We are disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with you stay! Unfortunately, due to our central location, we are subjected to the noise of the city and although we have soundproofed the whole building to achieve...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2016

most of the accomodation is ok, but small, it is the location, that sells it. The old purple rooms are dated with caravan type showers. Most are clean and tidy. Some guests have inconsiderate noise concerns when they arrive at 2 or 3 in the morning, sharing beds and assuming they are in a private room, so waking others. Unfortunately...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank yyyy12345
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Meininger Hotel London Hyde Park and for taking the time to share this feedback with us. We feel sorry for the inconvenience caused by the behaviour of our staff in your case. Though, we would like to investigate this further, this is definitely not the standart of service we are aiming for. We are...

120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (101)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:33
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#17 of 837 in London
1,121 reviews
South Kensington
YHA London Earl's Court
YHA London Earl's Court
#60 of 837 in London
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
London Bridge
Safestay London Hostel at Elephant & Castle
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#43 of 837 in London
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in South Kensington

Neighbourhood Profile
South Kensington
With its ivied mews, row upon row of Poppins-esque white washed mansions, and placid garden squares, it's easy to see the charms of South Kensington. And with superb access to Hyde Park, Holland Park and Kensington Gardens, as well as the largely child-friendly and mostly free Museum Quarter (not to mention more major attractions like Royal Albert Hall) such charms are easy to make the most of. As welcoming and cosmopolitan as it is reserved and residential, South Kensington is always a hit with visitors.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The MEININGER Hotel is located centrally and even the Queen has visited it. Starting in South Kensington near Hyde Park it's easy to explore this European metropolis. And if you're staying in: there is a large terrace on the first floor for table tennis tournaments. Gorgeous! Lobby, hotel bar and bistro, a gaming area and seminar rooms - MEININGER offers more than just low-cost accommodation. Welcome to London! ... more   less 

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park

Address: Baden-Powell House 65-67 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Price Range: $54 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Southampton, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Bury
over a year ago
Llanelli, Wales, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 412 has four beds, private bathroom, and overlooks outdoor game area”
860amyk, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“close to museums”
828eddar, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't book basic”
  • showers all had varying degrees of mould
  • showers all had varying degrees of mould
  • showers all had varying degrees of mould
yyyy12345, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The best room is for me is 603”
thepugbossd, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Top rooms are quieter and the hostel has an elevator.”
srirangac2016, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5