We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Church Street Hotel

Show Prices
#460 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Church Street Hotel
Church Street Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

407 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 372: English reviews
Start your review of Church Street Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Hi - booked last minute 2 night stay whilst I had 3 days of day treatment at Kings College Hospital (5 mins walk away)(but too far for me to commute) Quirky, immaculately clean, a real find here in Denmark Hill/Camberwell. I had single room with shared bathroom. All I could get last minute. Was dreading the shared bit..but at least...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Location was great for us as my daughter just moved in around the corner - the hotel is quirky and different - in a good way:) The staff are lovely, helpful and friendly - its is a maze of different corridors and staircases but the rooms are well appointed and clean. The Latin American themed hotel is unusual and great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kentcritique
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

When I first checked in, the receptionist made a mistake and made me pay twice the whole price of the stay which I did not get the refund added to my balance yet because it is an international transaction, no breakfast, no kettle or tea in the room only in the communion room, the TV did not work properly. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank inasahmed
hotelmanager2016, Manager at Church Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Inas, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, however, It feels sad and surprising and the meantime to see you disappointed and unhappy with your stay, Upon your arrival, the receptionist took a pre-authorization on your card as part of our normal procedure for checking in, then you paid for the room and thought the receptionist...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

I booked this for my daughter who had a uni interview and was going alone. Staff were really helpful prior to her arrival and even alerted me to the fact that I had mistakenly booked 2 rooms & very kindly did not charge me. If my daughter ends up at this uni then we will be using it quite regularly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wufty
Manchester
Reviewed 7 February 2017

I have been working in London for the past six years, for three of those I have stayed at Church Street Hotel. I have never been disappointed, the staff are wonderful, friendly, kind and helpful. The rooms (and the whole hotel) has great style and idiosychrisy, the beds are comfortable and the rooms well equipped. The honesty bar is a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Booshruth
bath
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Hotel itself is clean. Was disappointing that the Deluxe room was so small. Was woken at 6am with someone running down the stairs. Was kept up late by people walking up and down the stairs, very poor insulation. I appreciate its an old building but it was worse sound proofing than at home in my old house! Im a deep...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ochoBath
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Had a great stay at this quirky hotel in Camberwell. Staff were really helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was small on the top floor but it had everything we needed. The decor is vivid and bright but puts a smile on your face. The honesty bar was a lovely touch open 24 hours a day and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sam B
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

I came across this hotel after being let down on an airbnb place and I am so glad I was!! Cannot say enough nice things, room was gorgeous, large, light, bed was so comfy, bathroom was stunning. Little extras like the sauce and chocolate made it more personal. We just loved our stay and were almost tempted to see if...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jamie_Shorts
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

First impressions of this hotel was how quirky the decor was - a very Mexican feel & the reception staff were really lovely! In fact all of the hotel staff were friendly, polite and smiles! You don't get that in many hotels in London! Check-in - Friendly check in, quick too, took us to our room, showed us where the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Simone O
Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

Nice place, spotlessly clean bathroom and bedroom with good facilities, you don't get DVD/Bly ray or proper air con in many hotels! Honesty bar is brilliant, as is the breakfast with really high quality food on offer, no cheap rubbish. Going back next week

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gary M

277 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (45)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (129)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Habitacion Mambo Rey - Deluxe King En-Suite Room (31)
Viewed
Habitacion Unico - Standard Single En-Suite Room (24)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Chelsea Guest House
#312 of 1,089 in London
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
The Gateway Hotel
The Gateway Hotel
#586 of 1,089 in London
142 reviews
White Lodge Hotel
#409 of 1,089 in London
199 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
#613 of 1,089 in London
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about Church Street Hotel

Address: 29-33 Camberwell Church Street, London SE5 8TR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $114 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Church Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Church Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Street London
Hotel Church Street
Hotel Style:
#149 Business Hotel in London
#240 Romantic Hotel in London
#344 Family Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Church Street Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
North Richland Hills, Texas
over a year ago
Leicester, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Dana Point, California
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Church Street Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Important to note London's noisy but triple glazing at front helps. Ask for room at back for a quieter room or one on higher floors.”
Booshruth, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room which doesn't look in to the main road as there are pubs below and numerous ambulances using that road all night.”
SteveR914, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“very near Maudsley Hospital and IoPPN conferences”
gunas530411, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get aircon rooms away from the open bar....”
angelo65Geneva, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“we had a "superior" room because we knew we wanted air conditioning however, our friends also had air. also, not all rooms are en suite.”
thundering-pause, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5