We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Opulence Central London

Show Prices
#1,035 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Opulence Central London
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

260 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Opulence Central London
See the most recent reviews
Showing 235: English reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2014

Very disappointed in the hotel, I paid £185 for a double room for my birthday with my girlfriend and it was awful, a strange smell and dated decor and furniture, the bathroom window didn't lock and woken up at 6am by what sounded like a washing machine and hearing other rooms showering and going to the toilet!!! Not value for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ballyleic
Somerset
Reviewed 16 September 2014

Availability in London still terrible so I went against my prejudice and booked with lastminute into the privately owned Opulence Hotel, 5 minutes north of Oxford Street. Not cheap (£135 for one) but a convenient location. One of a row of small hotels in a Regency terrace near Portman Square. The outside looked quite pleasant with a potted olive tree....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ilminstertraveller
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2014

This was one of the worst places I have ever stayed. Tiny, unclean rooms with no air conditioning. Fridge fell to pieces upon opening to see if there were any cold refreshments. I could go on. Not value for money at all.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank dcfchap
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is never a four star hotel it needs the authorities to do a thorough check. I booked this for a present but I was thoroughly embarrassed. Th bedroom was at the very top of the hotel three floors up with no lift and just a box room.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
5Thank DAP4T
ipswich, UK
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I paid £137.70 via Lastminute.com to stay here and it was appalling. I stay in London for work regularly so I know what's available and for what price. You should avoid this hotel at all costs. I was on the top floor (there are a lot of stairs) bedroom which was baking hot (no air conditioning), thick dust on everything...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank supablue
Ireland
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We booked two rooms via a secret hotel deal. One twin and one double. The double (room 4 was not too bad) the twin (awful basement room)was so bad we ended up staying in a double (room 2 I think) Not a great room. Shower had two settings freezing cold + boiling (a scaulding danger that was apparently 'fixed' but...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MyraTaylor
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Do not stay here, wallpaper falling off the walls, rooms are tiny, beds looked dirty, decor simply awful. Needless to stay, we didn't even stay! If you have heavy suitcases, there is no lift either... and lots of stairs.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank JenHopkins87
opulence01, Front Office Manager at Opulence Central London, responded to this review

Dear guest, It is refreshing to note that even guests who claimed they didn't stay feel obliged to comment on the hotel regardless of the input. However, in this particular case after paying for three nights in advance for a standard room, this customer requested to speak to the manager. The night manager at that time was informed that guests...

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We arrived at the opulence and were surprised to be told that we had been upgraded, to the executive room, which was unexpected. The room was a good size, loads of pictures on the rusty red coloured wall paper, big television, four poster bed, big windows that looked out over Gloucester place road. The room was very dark and with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Littlepont
opulence01, Front Office Manager at Opulence Central London, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your comments. We appreciate the décor taste differ (the same Suite has been used for filming three BBC productions), but would like to point out that there was a closet inside the jacuzzi to prevent the water splashing over the bathroom. We would have gladly provided fresh towels and toilet paper, should you have contacted...

Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

The far from Opulent hotel is basic & pays little attention to the finer details. Though it's fairly clean the mould in the fridge, torn wallpaper & basement/dungeon room hardly screams Opulence. Alex Politzi would have a field day. The photos on the website are misleading so I've included some of my own.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Joel M
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The decor looks extraordinarily overdone - lots of pictures, bonsai, tapestries; chandelier and huge mirror, rich burgundy coloured bedspreads and curtains in the bedroom, nicely tiled in the bathroom but the 4 flights of very steep stairs are a killer, the wallpaper is scuffed all the way up from people lugging suitcases up the stairs. Carpet on the stairs has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet L
opulence01, Front Office Manager at Opulence Central London, responded to this review

Dear Janet, Thank you for your feedback. You have booked a room only tariff, which does not include breakfast & wifi, therefore these were not provided free of charge as clearly states on your booking confirmation. Since we have opened nearly 10 years ago we have never changed our breakfast & wifi prices and we believe they are reasonable and...

151 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (148)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#281 of 1,089 in London
128 reviews
Marylebone
St George Hotel
St George Hotel
#679 of 1,089 in London
168 reviews
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#120 of 1,089 in London
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Sumner Hotel
The Sumner Hotel
#140 of 1,089 in London
1,386 reviews
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#411 of 1,089 in London
645 reviews
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#315 of 1,089 in London
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Marylebone

Neighbourhood Profile
Marylebone
Marylebone offers what so many London neighbourhoods cannot: a village feel coupled with urban convenience. Much of its success rests in its location. Wedged between the northeastern corner of Hyde Park and the southern end of Regent's Park and with a number of Tube stations within easy reach, Marylebone is as pedestrian friendly as Central London gets. The bustling shopping mecca of Oxford Street separates it from Soho and Mayfair, exclusive Regent Street marks its border with Fitzrovia, and cosmopolitan Edgware Road serves as its western edge. Within this enviably situated quarter are an array of outstanding restaurants (from Michelin darlings to down and dirty cheeseburgers), an impressive assortment of independently owned shops, and some of the city's quietest and most pleasant nooks, crannies and cobbled lanes.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Opulence Central London

Address: 47 Gloucester Place, London W1U 8JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Price Range: $150 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Opulence Central London 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Opulence Central London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opulence Hotel London
Hotel Style:
#400 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Opulence Central London staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Opulence Central London staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay !”
 of 5 bubbles Lucyluii, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Just avoid the place and find somewhere nicer to stay!”
 of 5 bubbles rdow, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go somewhere else!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles marinabannon, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Just don't”
 of 5 bubbles teljohn54, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“chose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Wibbleoink, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5